We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prime position on harbour.........”
Review of Beerhouse

Beerhouse
Ranked #153 of 688 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

...............and a magnet for tourists, but you get the impression the tourist's euros are appreciated rather than taken for granted!

Stopped for a 'quick' drink, but ended up having quite a few and probably stayed about 2 hours!

Originally sat outside where there was a nice outlook over the small harbour full of boats, (the other side featured a large harbour full of ships!) however had to move inside when there was a shower of heavy rain.

Although it was busy inside the staff were quick to make a table available to accomodate us and a German couple from Leipzig who we'd struck up a conversation with, despite the fact the man spoke no English at all and the lady had very, very, very, limited!
Having said that, her understanding of English was much better than my German, which extends to not much more than 'zwei Bier bitte' and 'Danke'!!

Anyway, somehow between us all we managed to converse and have a laugh or two while enjoying the hospitality at this bar/restaurant.

Beerhouse offers its own beer, brewed on the premises, which coincidentally is brewed according to the German Beer Purity Law of 1516, with only natural ingredients and no added chemicals, and it really is very good.

I can't really comment on the restaurant side of the business as we just ordered a couple of excellent portions of chips as a snack to keep us going until dinner, but there were plenty of others apparently enjoying their meals.

The real highlight here though is the service, which is friendly, professional and quick - in fact it almost seemed like the waitress just left the table with the order, turned to go the bar and turned immediately back already with the drinks!!!

Combine that with the beer, the friendly attitude of all the staff we met, the general atmosphere inside and location outside and this place is well worth a visit!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bluemingoodbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beerhousemadeira, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Beerhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear customer,
Thank you for taking the time to share your BeerHouse experience.
Feedback from our customers is always very important. We were pleased to know that your visit was memorable and that our services were appreciated.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon in our restaurant.
Best regards,
BeerHouse Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (843)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 843 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Located on a pier at the Funchal harbor, this restaurant features draft beers but also has excellent food. Native scabbardfish prepared traditionally with grilled banana and accompanied by a very nice vegetable salad, was delicious. Service was warm and friendly. Both indoor and outdoor seating are available. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Duxburygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beerhousemadeira, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Beerhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Customer,
We were very grateful for your visit and that the BeerHouse experience has lived up to your expectations.
We are waiting for a new visit.
Best regards,
BeerHouse Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After having dinner in the town Center we were walking along the promenade and popped into this restaurant for desert.
I had a crepe and my husband had a traditional Madeiran apple cake. The crepe was okay with an artificial chocolate sauce but the hubby said the apple cake was very tasty!
I imagine this restaurant would be good fun for large groups of people.

Thank sophieebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beerhousemadeira, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Beerhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear customer,
Thank you for taking the time to share your BeerHouse experience.
Feedback from our customers is always very important. We were pleased to know that your visit was memorable and that our services were appreciated.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon in our restaurant.
Best regards,
BeerHouse Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a dinner in this restaurant during our family trip to Madeira.
The location is great, right on the harbor with great view and indoor/outdoor tables.
The food was very good, in particular the meat skewer (espetada) which was absolutely fantastic! More on a normal side was the grilled swordfish.
Excellent local beer and top service: recommended.

Thank drquery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beerhousemadeira, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Beerhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Customer,
Thank you for taking the time to share your Beerhouse experience.
Feedback from our customers is always very important.
We were pleased to know that you had a good experience with our services.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon in our restaurant.
Best regards,
Beerhouse Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Popped in here just to escape a shower and ended up staying for a few drinks. Good prices and nice beer

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beerhousemadeira, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Beerhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear customer,
Thanks in advance for your comment and we're glad you liked it!
We hope to welcome you back soon!
Kind regards,
BeerHouse Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beerhouse also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to Beerhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing