We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and staff.”

Restaurante A Muralha
Ranked #138 of 688 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: New administration since August 2017. We have a renovated environment, staff and dishes. Fish of the day, black swordfish, tuna, typical meat kebab and much more ... Visit us :)
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely location and relaxed atmosphere, great food and competitive prices. Attentive and friendly staff.

Thank 1view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImbativelMagia, Gerente de relações públicas at Restaurante A Muralha, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your comment! Come back always! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed a lovely here. It was the only restaurant where the staff did not bother you if you want to read the menu outside - that is always a bonus for me!
The restaurant is surrounded by windows so it is perfect for people watching and seeing the sun set across the port.
My husband had the steak with ham and cheese and he would hugely recommend it!

Thank sophieebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImbativelMagia, Gerente de relações públicas at Restaurante A Muralha, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your comment! Come back always! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Staying at the hotel next door in old Funchal, we popped into this restaurant for a simple meal at the end of a busy day. Can’t fault the food or the choice of menu, friendly, knowledgeable staff and nice food at a very good price. The table we had was within the conservatory area; sheltered from the wind but with a good opportunity to ‘people watch’ There are so many restaurants in this part of the busy old town and we think that all seem to be of a good standard with fierce competition for ‘punters’.

Thank Manon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImbativelMagia, Gerente de relações públicas at Restaurante A Muralha, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your comment! Come back always! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was another not planned Restaurant that our group decide to try... motivated by the nice gentleman that was in the street inviting persons to try a pre-defined menu...
The food was quite OK... but then...
The Staff in the room was not OK... closed faces almost like they got not happy with more clients (e.g. more work oh no!!!)... while explaining the several choices also really not ok (e.g. it was like they were asked to build a entire house)...
The bill was presented with lots of mistakes on it... more portions than the ones our group took (drink and plates)... and it was only after the third review the bill was fixed.
Good luck if you try this one! Maybe is a good one for lunch time... but for 9pm is not OK (at least, it was not ok for our group)
Note: our group was adults with two children's only!!! not a teenager group nor a noisy one! And we were invited by the Staff, rather than we asked a favor... now imagine if we have asked something special

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Domingos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A friendly staight for tourist restaurant in the old town. Have eaten there on previous visits and never been let down. Friendly staff and prompt service

Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImbativelMagia, Gerente de relações públicas at Restaurante A Muralha, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your comment. Check back often! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante A Muralha also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to Restaurante A Muralha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing