We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
martin h
Wayne, Pennsylvania

ok

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Mar 23, 2024
Needs a renovation. Bathrooms have been but not the rest of the room. Service very nice. Breakfast disappointing. Even though we paid in advance, we went out the second day. Fun to stay in the castle but lots of steps. free parking outside the city gates but you need to call for help with luggage. Very easy though ...
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
₱10,782
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₱10,782
0.3 km from Pousada Castelo Óbidos
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱3,971
  • Booking.com
0.4 km from Pousada Castelo Óbidos
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱4,026
  • Booking.com
0.3 km from Pousada Castelo Óbidos
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱10,699
  • Priceline
8.6 km from Pousada Castelo Óbidos
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱10,885
  • Booking.com
4.2 km from Pousada Castelo Óbidos
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱5,680
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Pousada Castelo Óbidos
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Marriott Hotels
₱14,500
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₱13,641
  • Booking.com
11.7 km from Pousada Castelo Óbidos
Free Wifi
Free parking
Piscina exterior
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱4,688
  • Expedia.com
    ₱5,361
1.1 km from Pousada Castelo Óbidos
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lote 350
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱8,542
  • Booking.com
7.9 km from Pousada Castelo Óbidos
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱5,162
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Pousada Castelo Óbidos
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Obidos
Reviews (938)
Filter reviews
938 results
Traveler rating
534
218
100
55
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
534
218
100
55
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews castle room medieval castle one night unique experience castle experience reception area mobility issues modern amenities rooms are small breakfast and dinner hotel restaurant common areas cobblestone streets beautiful town your luggage old city cherry liquor
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 938 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2024 via mobile

I stayed one night at the Pousada Castelo Obidos with my wife and adult son. It was a unique experience to stay in a castle that was built before Europeans settled in Canada. Since it is located in a preserved medieval town, there is a very special feeling to the place. The rooms were nice with interesting views onto the castle courtyard. The staff were excellent and the included buffet breakfast was awesome. The pousada abuts the town walls which are accessible if you have no fear of heights! We did not have dinner in the hotel but there are many restaurants in the town and just outside the walls. The interior of the pousada is like a museum, with antique furniture, etc. It was a memorable experience.

Room tip: In general, there is no parking inside the town walls and the streets are steep and paved with stones, as in many parts of Portugal. So travel light and wear good shoes.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank gurmag73
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pedro GASPAR, Guest Services / Front Office at Pousada Castelo Obidos, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2024

Dear Mr. Gurmag73

On behalf of our entire team at Pousada Castelo Óbidos, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. Your opinion is crucial for us to continue improving our service and anticipate our Guests' needs.

It was a real pleasure for us to have you as our Guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again at Pousada Castelo Óbidos.

Best regards,
The Team at Pousada Castelo Óbidos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2024

Never stay here. As a traveler for 40 years, I have never had such a poor experience. Shower didn’t work, locks would stick and service was exceptionally bad. Unhelpful and unhappy people. I would give it 0 stars if I could. Avoid avoid avoid.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Cyndy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pedro GASPAR, Guest Services / Front Office at Pousada Castelo Obidos, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2024

Dear Cyndyr2013

We would like to thank you for giving us your honest opinion on your stay. Unfortunately, we did not satisfy your expectations.

We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused. We have taken note of all the issues mentioned so that improvements can be made in the short-term.

We appreciate that you chose Pousada Castelo Óbidos for your stay.
We hope you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate our high service standards and regain your trust during your next visit.

Kind regards,

Pousada do Castelo de Óbidos Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2024 via mobile

We couldn’t pass up the opportunity to stay in a castle and it really delivered with great views, food, and ambiance. You also get exclusive access to the top of the castle. We enjoyed a dinner at the castle which was a great experience. Waiters spoke perfect English and gave some great recommendations.

I would recommend packing light as the castle is probably a half mile from the recommended parking and the town is all cobblestoned.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Cruiser49216894193
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pedro GASPAR, Guest Services / Front Office at Pousada Castelo Obidos, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2024

Dear Mr. Matthew N,

On behalf of our entire team at Pousada Castelo Óbidos, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. Your opinion is crucial for us to continue improving our service and anticipate our Guests' needs.

It was a real pleasure for us to have you as our Guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again at Pousada Castelo Óbidos.

Best regards,
The Team at Pousada Castelo Óbidos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2024

We splurged on a tower room in the castle for one night on our honeymoon and adored our stay here. It was so unique and unlike anywhere else I've ever stayed, including other castle hotels in Europe. If you're a history nerd like my husband and I are, you should absolutely splash out for one of the castle rooms, especially if you can snag a tower suite. Our room was in its own tower and included a small modern bathroom downstairs and a stunning four-poster bed upstairs. The lodgings were smaller than Americans might expect, but reasonable for a European hotel, especially one IN A CASTLE that dates to the 8th century. The bed was comfortable, and despite it being fairly cold the night we stayed here, the room was warm and cozy (we loved being able to draw the curtains around our bed like we were royalty!). We appreciated the personalized note about the history of the person our suite was named after and the local ginja (sour cherry liqueur) and chocolate cups left out for us.

We had dinner (not included) and breakfast (included) at the castle hotel restaurant and loved both meals. Dinner was reasonably priced for a hotel restaurant (entrees were between 20-30 euros) and offered some truly delicious options featuring ingredients like local apples and cheeses. Our dessert was a poached pear based on a 14th-century Óbidos recipe, which was not only delicious but special and unique. Service was friendly and knowledgeable. A nearby couple seemed a little upset about the speed, but Portuguese restaurants expect that you will linger over your meals, so we knew to expect slower service than Americans might find common in the States. We had zero issues with the staff and found everyone very courteous and helpful.

We loved exploring the castle grounds and walking the walls in the morning, enjoying the stunning views of the surrounding countryside and the little village within the castle walls. We were there on Dia de Reis (Kings' Day), the last day of Advent, and got to see a small parade through the village. We also found several wonderful local shops with hand-crafted art and goods. Avoid the souvenir shops all selling the same tchotchkes and go to shops like Loja do Lagar, where we met owner Maria selling beautiful handmade pottery, bags, and jewelry handmade by herself, her son, and her son's girlfriend. About an hour later, Maria surprised us by leaning out of a second-floor window to say hello -- she had popped back to her house for lunch and had recognized us in the street. We loved getting to meet some local people and enjoyed rambling through the picturesque streets.

A few things to note: Óbidos is NOT a very accessible area. There are cobbled streets, narrow passages, and tons of stairs, including many without safety railings. But...you're staying in a castle with 1200+ years of history. You're not going to find a lot of the amenities you would in modern luxury hotels. The stairs in our tower room were narrow and difficult for us (in our late 30s), but absolutely worth it. How often do you get a view from your room overlooking a centuries-old castle and village?! Or the chance to stay in a room with stone walls several feet thick and arrow-slit windows?! My best advice is to drive, park for free behind the bakery recommended by the hotel (Arcus, in the town just below the castle walls), and take just enough luggage for your stay at the hotel. We brought only our backpacks and small wheeled carryons up the hill with us and were very grateful that we hadn't tried to lug our massive suitcases up. I'm genuinely not sure we could have gotten them up the suite stairs!

Room tip: Don't take your big suitcases if you can avoid it! A backpack and/or small wheeled bag will be more than enough to manage on the hills.
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank drmeganj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pedro GASPAR, Guest Services / Front Office at Pousada Castelo Obidos, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2024

Dear Mrs. Megan C,

On behalf of our entire team at Pousada Castelo Óbidos, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. Your opinion is crucial for us to continue improving our service and anticipate our Guests' needs.

It was a real pleasure for us to have you as our Guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again at Pousada Castelo Óbidos.

Best regards,
The Team at Pousada Castelo Óbidos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2024

Our bathroom was beyond nasty. Mold was growing on the walls, the ceiling, and the tub/shower. Our room smelled so bad that we kept our window open all night. With no heat in the bathroom, it was beyond cold as well.
This is rated as a four star hotel. We rated it exceptionally sad.
We booked 3 nights, stayed one and could not leave fast enough.
The mold and mildew are a health hazard. Anyone with asthma or any pulmonary issues should avoid this place.
Old castle with outside stone steps, no railing and dark at night. Rain made them a nightmare.
Seniors should avoid this place.

Room tip: Seniors and anyone with mobility issues should avoid this place.
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank vamanos44
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pedro GASPAR, Guest Services / Front Office at Pousada Castelo Obidos, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2024

Dear vamanos44,

We would like to thank you for giving us your honest opinion on your stay. Unfortunately, we did not satisfy your expectations.

We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused. We have taken note of all the issues mentioned so that improvements can be made in the short-term.

We appreciate that you chose Pousada Castelo Óbidos for your stay. We hope you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate our high service standards and regain your trust during your next visit.

Kind regards,

Pousada do Castelo de Óbidos Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews