We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous tour....do it!!”

Lisbon Chill-Out Free Tour
Ranked #22 of 577 Tours in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are just a group of local friends who love to show you around and,tell you about the local funny stories,legends and myths,show the genuine culture.We also talk about our history and culture,but keep your mind open to listen the nonofficial stories, and we don't take you to the main touristic attractions.To keep it genuine and pure,we work on a tips-only bases,earning no commissions or any other support,working solely for what our travelers think we are worth. Please check all the info. and details on our page. We don't accept groups LOOK OUT!! VERY IMPORTANT!! We are independent and not a big company, and we try to transmit the real Portuguese feeling and culture for this reason we can’t use a big red umbrella. 14/03/2016 another company, without any kind of moral/ethical values decided to start their tours on our meeting point and at the same time as we do, they aim to take you from our tour to theirs Make sure you find the right authentic local guide using a Silverbag with a yello tram sign, and join us on the best free walking tour The Lisbon Chill Out Original Free Tour
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We are walking tour geeks. We take a walking tour everywhere we travel. Last week in Lisbon, we had taken two other walks (with another company) and they were very good. But this, on our last full day in Lisbon 4/4/18 we showed up for the Chill-Out Free Tour. Nonu and Darota were our guides and from their introductions, we knew we were in for something special. The unique element that Chill-Out adds is the individual experience and perspective of the guide. This is not about dates and kings and a history class but rather it’s about what it’s like to live in this incredible city. It’s part travelogue, sociology, history, politics and urban development....all delivered with humor and honest love for this place. Do yourself a favor and walk with Chill-Out.

Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuno P, guia at Lisbon Chill-Out Free Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Olá Bruce J,
thank you for your kind words, brings me great satisfaction to know we add something special to your visit of our city.
Kings and dates anyone memorizes, we tell a 3000 year long story, full of history, politics, mysteries and love and surprises.
Thank you for choosing the locals and like always,
boas viagens,
nuno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"free walking"
in 112 reviews
"local perspective"
in 51 reviews
"three hours"
in 110 reviews
"guide miguel"
in 33 reviews
"his passion"
in 56 reviews
"beautiful city"
in 85 reviews
"meeting point"
in 44 reviews
"great guide"
in 85 reviews
"interesting stories"
in 32 reviews
"portuguese history"
in 56 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 47 reviews
"bairro alto"
in 54 reviews
"rafa"
in 479 reviews
"neighborhoods"
in 188 reviews
"insight"
in 171 reviews
"poetry"
in 71 reviews
"trainee"
in 34 reviews
Filter

22 - 26 of 4,280 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We took this tour yesterday. Our tour guide were Ana&Dorotha. We enjoyed the 3 hour tour thoroughly. They spoke about the history, culture, food, suggestions of restaurant. They were patient enough to answer our questions. I truly believe a trip to Lisbon would not be all that CHILL without this tour.

Thank ShoGag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana T, Tour guide at Lisbon Chill-Out Free Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello!

Obrigada for your review. We are very happy to know we made your trip to our city a better and more chilled experience! We do our best to adapt the tour to everyone that joins us, so we are always ready to hear your interests and questions and answer them all. The more questions we get, the more information we can share.

Muito obrigada and safe travels!

Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a tour with Ana and her colleague who was just learning the "trade" but still did a fantastic job.
Both of them had a great way of packing info into little stories that you really keep in mind.
The three hours we spent on the tour through almost the whole old town felt like one.
From history to architecture to general way of life annectotes this tour had everything.
They also answered all of our questions thouroughly.
I can reccomend this tour to everyone.

Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana T, Tour guide at Lisbon Chill-Out Free Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Olá Max,

Thank you very much for leaving your review. We are both very glad to know that you enjoyed getting to know Lisbon with us. It's important for us to explain the history of the city, but also the every day life, details that only the locals know about. And of course, we like to personalize the tour, so we are more than happy to answer all questions!

Muito obrigada.
Safe travels.

Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a really interesting morning with Miguel. This friendly and proud-to-be-Portuguese guide gives you not only some historic insights in Lisbon but gives you the best spots to take pictures, good tips on restaurants and books, makes you taste delicious Ginjha in Alfama, … and all of this with a lot of respect for the people living in Lisbon. He is a real Lisbonner himself too. You find the yellow guides on the Camoes square, (its not the people with the red umbrellas, but the ones with the funny yellow bags.)

Thank Ankeverstuyft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiguelEstevesPinto, Tour Guide at Lisbon Chill-Out Free Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Ankeverstuyft,

Such a kind and interesting review, thank you very much!

It is really important for us to show our proud-to-be-Portuguese feeling during a long, detailed a thorough tour, never forgetting the impact of turism and indeed with a lot of respect for the people living in Lisbon.

And yes, to have that you really have to go with the ones with the funny yellow bags, not the people with the red umbrellas, as you point out so wisely!

Best regards

Miguel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Locals are touring you around for 3 and a half hour, helping you discover the city in a different way than just the landmarks that are indicated in the guides and you can find yourself.

Great and complete, if you want to have a first overview of the city, do it and you will definitely have all cards in hands to make your stay the best you will ever have !

We had Nuno on sunday the 1st of April who was funny, well cultured, clear and really organised.
If you read us, thank you Nuno !

Yves-Marie and Justine from France

Thank Yves-Marie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuno P, guia at Lisbon Chill-Out Free Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Olá Yves-Marie O,
no. thank you! for such a honest review.
Now a days we have lots of options about artificial flavoured tours in the city we love, but there is something only a local can share: the love about Lisboa.
Thank you for choosing the locals and like always,
boas viagens,
nuno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lisbon Chill-Out Free Tour also viewed

 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Lisbon Chill-Out Free Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing