We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Costa de Caparica
from US$175.03
More Info
from US$21.29
More Info
from US$112.39
More Info
from US$112.39
More Info
Reviews (539)
Filter reviews
539 results
Traveler rating
247
203
62
20
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
247
203
62
20
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews by foot sardines waves ferry metro portuguese
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 539 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2020

We stayed in Costa de Caparica for 4 days. I'm not sure if we had too high expectations but it was a disappointment. The beach itself was wonderful. It was clean, and swimming among the waves was loads of fun. But along the beach, every fifty meter or so, there were restaurants that I can only describe as large boxes. They really are an eyesore, just as the large charmless hotels are just off the beach. The town itself is even less charming. It's very centralized in the sense that restaurants and shops are on a couple of streets. Most of the restaurants were fast food joints, and a lot of the others weren't even Portuguese. Those that were had very little choice. The atmosphere in town was hectic rather than laid-back. It's a shame because this town has so much potential.

Date of experience: September 2020
1  Thank rob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 March 2020 via mobile

Amazing place, Airbnb walking distan CD e from the beach, you can do everything by foot or take the bus and the subway and soon you'll be in Lisbon
Perfect for some holidays, the beach is very clean and dog friendly

Date of experience: March 2020
1  Thank Gabi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 March 2020 via mobile

Lisbon is great, my friend lives there so it made it easy to get around as she knew all the places to go & how to get there, it really helped that she had learned the language as I found that Portuguese is quite hard to understand ( sounded more like Russian to me)!
The best tip is to get a transport pass which you can use for the trams, buses, ferry and trains/metro. Taxis are cheap but Uber are even cheaper - from the airport to Costa de Caparica it was between 16 & 20 euros depending on traffic over the bridge.
The beach is lovely, will lots of surf shops and restaurants. The temperature was good, even though the Portuguese think it is cold, it was a pleasant 17 in the day, falling to 8-14 at night which would be great back home.
There are lots of pastelerias with amazing cakes, sandwiches and croissants, my favourite were the brioche croissants or freshly made sandwiches with sweet potato crisps. Go explore Lisbon, it's amazing sites, lively market & food halls, the sardine shops and museums. Would definitely return as there is plenty to do both sides of the river. Wear comfy shoes as you will do a lot of walking and some of the streets are quite steep especially if you head up to the castle walls area.

Date of experience: March 2020
2  Thank MancJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 March 2020

This beach is just 10 min by car from Almada. it is a beautiful place to spend an afternoon walking by the ocean, watch the sunset, swim or eat seafood. The point that the river meets the ocean is incredible

Date of experience: February 2020
2  Thank NorthStar40149
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 December 2019 via mobile

This was one amazing experience to tour Lisbon & the Costa area beachfront, with the surrounding towns as well that we got to visit. Very rich history to learn about the Portuguese culture. I would definitely visit again

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank mosibudishibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews