We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Praca do Comercio (Terreiro do Paco)
from US$24.00
More Info
from US$24.00
More Info
from US$33.89
More Info
from US$21.60
More Info
Reviews (16,619)
Filter reviews
16,619 results
Traveler rating
9,045
6,098
1,268
134
74
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
9,045
6,098
1,268
134
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful square beer museum rua augusta open square big square street performers king jose triumphal arch lots of shops tagus river royal palace nice walk sunny day city praca archway tourists
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 16,619 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2021

Tthe square represents the great Portugal history with the statue of the former king of Portugal Dom Jose at its center.
the views over the Tagus river as well as the hills is also impressive.
Many restaurants available at the square as well as the touristic office.

Date of experience: April 2021
2  Thank Pietrovina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 April 2021

I love this place, everything is happening there. And with beautiful weather in January, you can’t ask for more. Beautiful architecture and the plaza is so spacious and I felt amazing, free... so many people and yet you have somehow your privacy. There is a nice Lisboa museum next to it also and I enjoyed visiting it.

Date of experience: March 2021
1  Thank castrofernande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 February 2021 via mobile

This beautiful and impressive square lies at the very heart of Lisbon...surrounded by history here...the waterfront and promenade on one side, a giant arch at the other, and a big statue in the middle, it's a sight to behold!

Date of experience: February 2021
2  Thank belgianguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 February 2021

There are ministries like finance and justice nearby this square. Tagus River empties near here. But this place is ruined by people of questionable motivation harassing tourists.

Date of experience: January 2021
1  Thank Ga_Pri0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 January 2021

We loved Lisbon and we had 5 days here but even if you only have a day in Lisbon, then this is a beautiful, open waterfront square that you don't want to miss. It is an excellent place to start exploring Lisbon because the Tourist Information centre is here and trams run past here constantly.
You enter via a gleaming white triumphal arch. The old royal palace and arcaded walkway wraps around three sides of the plaza. The fourth side opens up to the harbour, where we sat to watch the sun set across the water.
Taking centre stage is the 14 m tall statue of King José I (1750 – 1777). He sits upright, on his horse and is wearing the emperor's mantle although most of my attention was taken with his rather spectacular feathered hat. I was also intrigued that he appears to be riding over a nest of vipers with snakes are writhing around the horse’s legs. Are they symbolic enemies? Around the base, there’s more mayhem. Limestone angels cavort with a baby elephant, a man is being trampled by an elephant and another is about to be come to serious harm underneath a rearing horse.
Historically, this where the royal palace stood for over two centuries until the devastating 1755 Earthquake and tsunami which completely destroyed the palace and along with it, much of Lisbon. Jose I was already king then and the royal family quickly packed their bags and ran to Belem for safety.
There is a lot to do and see here:
∗ Rua Augusta Arch and the viewing platform at the top
∗ Watch the sunset over the harbour – just beautiful
∗ Wines of Portugal Tasting Centre – see separate review
∗ Tourist Information Centre
∗ The trams run alongside the square so it’s a good, central jump on/off point
∗ Café Martinho da Arcada, which has been here serving poets novelists since 1782
∗ Lisboa Story Centre museum

Date of experience: March 2020
10  Thank Mairwen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews