We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Oitavos
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Equador(Cascais)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (768)
Filter reviews
768 results
Traveler rating
402
209
94
30
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
402
209
94
30
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courserooms are hugemodern hotelpremium loftgolf hotelsushi baroitavos dunesinfinity poolgreat golfspa areaamazing hotelbreakfast buffet iscommon areasfive star hotelquinta da marinhahot foodsea view
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 768 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

I have stayed in several hotels in the area, Oitavos is a clear winner.

The breakfast selection is very small, but fantastic: fresh sweet mango, local ham and cheese, fresh bread and juices.

The hotel is a short walk from the shore, so one can take strolls around and listen to the waves. Some mornings we could hear the waves from the room.

The property itself is very spacious, in May we barely noticed people around, except breakfast.

The blue color in the room on the pictures seemed like my favorite color, in reality it is a bit darker, but still the room is beautiful and very spacious (at least that, because otherwise the glass toilet would be a complete disaster, however, plus points for bidet in the toilet).

It is also a 30 min drive to Lisbon or Sintra. And a short walk to the fish restaurants on the shore.

I am writing this and thinking I am doing a very wrong thing, as it was sold out now and I am writing this from a neighbor hotel, which is nowhere close in experience from the oitavos. Will definitely come back there one again. But please, please, leave a spot for me :)))

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sinaida C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 November 2017

We loved the room, big terrace with sofa and sea/golf view. Big bed, loads of space, 2 x TVs, sofa, dressing table, glass shower (and glass toilet - why!?!). Layout and all hotel fittings are decent quality and contemporary - loved the high ceilings and space - everywhere.

But they let themselves down....

We booked, off season, 3 nights in a Premier Loft room with breakfast for €134 / night. Great deal and we were fortunate enough to get 20 deg weather throughout. We took our breakfast in the room on one of the days and were charged the full amount of €32 even though we clearly didn't have breakfast downstairs - it took the General Manager to sort it out. So - readers - watch out for this "policy".

Highlights
- big shout-out for Madelena on reception who was professional and helpful every time we spoke to her.
- the space and quiet afforded by a huge hotel that was practically empty as it was off season
- the location - just outside Cascais - as long as you have a car very easy to find and to get about.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the Oitavos for 7 nights during our golf vacation. I reviewed the golf course separately.

Upon arriving at the hotel, there was no one to be seen to help with our bags. As we checked in, the front desk person said it was available but they charge €3 for this. Okay...very odd. Also everything elde costs separately (€7 for a pull trolley on the course. I was also looking forward to this amazing spa but then heard it costs something like €25 for the day per person, we didnt even bother!). We were also not told anything about the hotels amenities (breakfast room, what restaurants were open, the pool etc). Off we went to our room, which was on the 3rd floor with views of the ocean. The design of the hotel as well as the room was nice but I think you either like it or hate it. The glass toilet walls and door was a little odd and doesnt really leave any room for privacy. Room and hotel are both veey clean.

The restaurants (only 1 was open when we were at the hotel) were ok. The ypsilon was only menu available both at the clubhouse and in the hotel. Food was good but service was pretty much all over the place. It seemed like the waiters hated their jobs and we often had to go order our food and pick up our own drinks at the pool terrace. We were also told very rudely by a waiter at the clubhouse that we cannot put tips on the room (ok so this defeats the purpose of not having to carry cash around!). On a few occasions we received a bill from someone else and also at check out we had items that were not ordered by us, so check your bill carefully!

Breakfast was good with lots of fruit options and sausages cheese amd sweets. Again, service totally all over the place. We were asked only on 3rd morning if we want eggs and they have a nespresso machine that initially didnt work and then there was no water in there. The normal coffee they serve isnt good.

Overall, the hotel itself is nice enough and we liked the location as well. The amenities were also good but the poor and at times unfriendly service drops the level of this otherwise solid resort considerably!

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank windvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 7 nights at the end of October. Stunning modern hotel around 5 minutes from the beach. Spectacular Y-shaped design with spacious modern rooms and huge floor to ceiling window fronts and sea view from every room. There is a nice golf course near by, Oitavos Dunes.

The service in this hotel however is just poor in every respect. Starting from our arrival when a grumpy receptionist checked us in w/o asking if we need help with the luggage (they do offer this for 3 EUR...) to the check-out when we were confronted with an incredibly chaotic invoice that contained services/items we did not consume. One day we sat on the terrace to have a drink but after a 15 min wait I had to find the waiter myself (who claimed at 12:10 the bar would only open at 12:00...). Pretty much every time when we drank/ate something here, the invoice was wrong. Should not be too difficult to put 4 beers correctly on an invoice?!? Be ready to pay extra for everything, starting from 2 EUR for a teabag at the the room to EUR 25 for the SPA access.

Too bad that they can't seem to get their service levels aligned to the standard of the hotel...

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Timmie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 October 2017

we were on a golfing trip and were recommended this hotel as it had golf on tap. The hotel is trying to be trendy.So the good points very friendly reception and a good breakfast service in a very corporate room....But sadly no “hub/heart to the hotel as there one long corridor has what looks like a pop up bar and a pop up sushi bar ......and that is it.
The rooms are great but we had a key issue with two of the group not getting into the room for 45 minutes as maintenance very slowly tried to figure out how to get in it. And that is part of the problem it is so long and thin it takes ages for room service. The hotel had a big marketing campaign for a new VW car so the internal part was a building site and there we 300/400 people floating about so we were pretty well ignored ......apart from at the bar where a double gin and tonic was €28 euros ! Probably the most expensive I have ever ordered and no negotiation downwards and a miserable barman who refused to serve after midnight. The golf course is apparently top 20 in Europe .....sorry someone is fibbing it’s average at best with good starting and finishing holes and a paddock in the middle holes. Not in good condition with scrubland having piles of chopped up rubbish not carried away. The tees were poorly looked after and the bunkers were poor. Nice club house and lunch. So hotel are you a boutique hotel or are you a corporate hotel for big promotions or are you a golfing hotel ? With a double g and t at €28 not sure you are doing anyone any favours.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
4  Thank tasty1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews