We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic vegan meal and wonderful service”

No Tacho Cozinha Portuguesa
Ranked #1 of 482 Restaurants in Coimbra
Restaurant details
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I saw on TA that no Tacho had a vegan option so gave it a try. It is a small menu so only one vegan option, but oh my word was it good! The restaurant specialises in meat and fish so great if you are dining in a group of mixed dietary requirements.

The staff are friendly and knowledgeable. A waitress speaks fluent English so was able to explain the option clearly. Just make sure you are clear you are vegan as the vegetarian option comes with cheese!

There was a slight mix up with my food, but with communication and something complimentary to nibble on while I waited, it was no problem.

The chef came to speak to me to explain how to make the meal and apologise for the mix up (which wasn't a big deal at all so a very nice touch!) and he spoke to the other diners too about their meal.

The restaurant was almost full, so I'd recommend booking if you can or at least being prepared to wait a little while as it's a small venue.

Overall, excellent hospitality and lovely food. I would definitely recommend!

1  Thank EstherH90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had to book to get a table, but were able to the next day. Service and food were both excellent and the goat in particular was out of this world.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcos F, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at No Tacho Cozinha Portuguesa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Allan. We want to show quality service in an unique way and we're glad you enjyed it. We hope you come back again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

We’d tried to dine here the night before but couldn’t get in following our meal you could see why. Excellent food served. Rib eye steak was superb as was the vegetarian risotto dish. Good range of wines by the glass in addition to a good wine list. Highly recommended, but do remember to book!

1  Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcos F, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at No Tacho Cozinha Portuguesa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Thanks Nigel
It is always better to make a reservation but we're glad you were able to get a spot.
Come back anytime and you will certainly enjoy the meal again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

We came across no Tacho while strolling aroung Coimbra and learned that the place needed reservations so we booked for the next night. It proved a great choice! The restaurant is small and cozy with very pleasant and unintruding staff. The meals we chose from the chef's menu for the current month were delicious! Towards the end of the dinner the chef greeted all the guests individually and chatted with us about the meal providing additional details about the prep process and ingredients!

2  Thank ttqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcos F, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at No Tacho Cozinha Portuguesa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Thanks for the review!
You did good by making a reservation and we're really happy that you enjoeyed your meal!
we hope you come back again for another great meal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 July 2018 via mobile

Visited Coimbra overnight touring through Portugal from Australia. TripAdvisor great reviews is how we came across No Tacho.
The restaurant is small, seating about 25 I would estimate. It has a very warm and uncluttered ambience.
The menu has a very well thought out and strategic offering catering to meat and seafood lovers at very reasonable
prices. For me, my wife and son we considered our dinner experience to be exceptional value. The couple serving the tables
were very friendly but not imposing. We shared a mixed meat cheese platter for starters which was very very good.
For mains we had the Cod, the Boar and the Beef fillet all cooked and presented perfectly to our tastes.
We had the pleasure of meeting chef Cesar when he left his kitchen to introduce himself to each table, which is something
You rarely see. He happily answered all our questions concerning his menu and how he prepares his dishes. You always try to learn
why and how they can cook a piece of beef to look and taste so much better than we can. We complimented him on the wonderful dishes
We enjoyed and he complimented the owners for providing him with the quality ingredients he had to work with which he said made his
Job much easier. The dinner was a wonderful experience and would highly recommend.

1  Thank tonypsmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcos F, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at No Tacho Cozinha Portuguesa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Thanks a lot for the review Tony!
We always try to give a full experience to everyone that comes to our restaurant and it's incredibly pleasing to see someone so happy with the time they spent here.
If we want the best we must provide the best, and that goes for the quality of the ingredientes to our chef as well.
We hope you come back again for another amazing time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed No Tacho Cozinha Portuguesa also viewed

Coimbra, Coimbra District
Coimbra, Coimbra District
 
Coimbra, Coimbra District
 
Coimbra, Coimbra District
Coimbra, Coimbra District
 

Been to No Tacho Cozinha Portuguesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing