We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Quinta da Abelheira(Ponta Delgada)
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$231/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sao Miguel Park Hotel(Ponta Delgada)
Free cancellation until 08/04
Book now, pay at stay
US$213
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
US$182
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$224/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Talisman(Ponta Delgada)
Free cancellation until 07/29
US$147
US$132
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Azor Hotel(Ponta Delgada)
US$421
US$383
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Out Of The Blue(Ponta Delgada)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Marina Lounge Hostel(Ponta Delgada)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Azorean Urban Lodge(Ponta Delgada)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveler rating
69
115
17
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
115
17
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschlorine levelssmall chest of drawersoutdoor poolone way systemper dayclose to the hotelfamily vacationminute walksmall kitchenfresh fruit saladself cateringboiled eggsthird floorhousekeeping staffstayed here for a weekcoffee machinefree wifi
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2018

Like some other recent reviewers, we came to the Antillia for a week on a really cheap deal. For us the good points of the hotel outweighed the bad points. It was clean and well-maintained throughout and staff were always friendly and helpful. Our room was not large but it was comfortable. Parking was available free, but a little tight when there were a lot of clients at the gym on the same site. Breakfast was a mixed bag: an excellent fresh fruit salad every day and good selection of breads and cakes etc, but machine coffee, limited cold savouries and cooked food that usually was also almost cold. We ate in one evening and concluded that it would be better if the hotel didn't even try to serve evening meals at this time of year, although the Mozambique Prawns were lovely.
The location of the hotel is good for walking to the harbour and other restaurants etc, although the narrow pavements and busy roads close to the hotel take some of the pleasure away.

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Dierama13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
car0linar0drigues, Gestor de Relações Públicas at Antillia Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear Dierama
We really appreciate the time you took to let us know your opinion about your stay in the Hotel Antillia. Your opinion is very important to us.
We are very happy to see that you pointed out most of our services and that you enjoyed them. The location is very good to move around the city and the parking is always available to park the car.
But we are also sad to hear that the food was not as you expected. Usually, the clients enjoy the food the restaurant serves, so if you give us a new chance and come to visit again we will try to make our best to make your stay the perfect stay.
We hope to see you again in your next visit to the island.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 March 2018

The hotel and the location was good. To be honest we had a good deal.
Clean and comfortable rooms. Friendly staff. The spa part is basic, ok.

My only complain is the breakfast was a bit poor! The worst thing was, the waiter kept putting the boiled eggs -still shells on- with the cooked sausages. I know it is a small thing but it was l8ke that nearly all week. Breakfast choices were poor. Tea and coffee was horrible. There wasn’t even a toasted toast the bread there was already going stale.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank AlevS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
car0linar0drigues, Gestor de Relações Públicas at Antillia Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Dear guest,
Thank you for staying with us.
We appreciate your comment, it’s always a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay in Antillia.
We’re sorry to hear our breakfast service did not meet your expectations, we’ll check with our staff in order to ensure our quality service is present at all times.
We hope we have the pleasure to see you again in our hotel.
All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 February 2018

To be honest we got a fantastic deal to the Azores, one of those 'it sounds too good to be true' types, so it does feel slightly disingenuous to be critical of the Antillia but, good deal apart, it also feels important to judge the hotel on the same grounds as all the other establishments we visited whilst on holiday.

The hotel is very well located, about five minutes walk from the sea front and ten minutes from the city centre. Rua do Peru is a very long street, don't give up. It is also narrow, if hiring a car, a smallish one is ideal. We had found the hotel on Google Street View before leaving the UK and also asked Reception for directions which, if you are arriving in the dark, are really helpful.

The hotel is a modern, eighties style, angular concrete design, but fitted into a plot which sits behind the frontage of traditional street houses. Thus, from the street, you only see a tunnel which leads to the front of the building (tunnel is short, wide enough for one car only, one way system in operation with the back entrance, and well lit at night). We thought this a responsible piece of planning.

There is a car park and parking spaces for a modest number of cars. The hotel's gym is clearly popular with locals and space becomes critical at various points of the day. We were staying in January when occupancy was low and most guests didn't appear to have hire cars. I imagine in the high season, parking might become a real problem and you could end up having to end up using one of the public car parks down the street.

Check in was easy, the Receptionist spoke very good English and was exceptionally cheerful bearing in mind the late hour. We were allocated a one bedroomed apartment on the third floor, an upgrade from the twin/double room in our holiday deal.

The apartment opened onto a large hallway with built in wardrobe and small chest of drawers. There was an inhouse safe within this wardrobe, but a weekly charge was required for a padlock. Ironing board and iron also provided. The hallway was panelled in warm wood and was a welcoming and light space.

From the hallway you could access the bathroom (over bath shower) the bedroom and the kitchen/diner/lounge.

The Bedroom had sliding double glazed doors onto the double width balcony, twin beds pushed together (rather firm, but we prefer firm), stand for a suitcase, dressing table with mirror over and armchair. A TV was on the wall opposite the bed. We added to our single pillows with pillows stored in the lounge and were comfortable enough.

The lounge space had two single sofa beds arranged in an 'L' shape, occasional table and cupboard for storage and to support the TV . A small dining table and four chairs in the kitchen area, which consisted of sink, double ring hob, kettle and microwave combi oven.

We did self cater on a couple of evenings, but this by necessity had to be modest as the only cooking equipment provided were two small saucepans and a frying pan. There was cutlery and crockery for four, a ladle, a spatula, a chopping knife, a corkscrew (Portuguese wine always has a cork) a plastic 'wooden' spoon and, bizarrely, a hand held blender.

There was a small table and four chairs on the balcony, with a hanging line at one end. Temperatures were sufficient even in January to dry swimming costumes on it.

We appreciated the space, but actually ended up sitting in the bedroom more often than the lounge, the sofas being more beds than sofas and not comfortable for lounging on. I do think that with four people in the apartment, it would be overly 'cosy' and those sleeping in the lounge would struggle to find space for the back cushions froym the sofas overnight.

The water in the apartment took a long time to run 'hot' and, even once at maximum temperature, there was no need to add any cold. As we had come to the Azores with the intention of doing a lot of walking, we naturally wanted to come back to the apartment at the end of the day and sink into a hot bath. The only way we could achieve that was by boiling kettles and saucepans. Tourists coming for the Whale Watching would, I am sure, have similar needs.

The swimming pool and spa were closed for repair, understandable that this should take place at this time of year (January/February), although disappointing. We were offered the opportunity to go and use the pool at a neighbouring hotel, but we didn't fancy the walk in the winter whilst potentially wet, so didn't use those facilities.

Breakfast was served in the dining room on the first floor. In high season, it's location next to the outdoor swimming pool, with full length windows on that side, would make it a pleasant environment.

We found the breakfasts disappointing. A modest selection of cold meats and cheese. Fruit salad each morning, with a small plate of fresh pineapple. A few cereals, breads and cake. As numbers of guests rose towards the middle of the week, a toaster appeared.

A coffee machine dispensed reasonable coffee, but about a third of it froth. There were two serving dishes with hot items - bacon, sausage, baked beans (sometimes) and eggs (scrambled, fried and hard boiled - again sometimes). Each serving dish had only one burner underneath and these frequently went out, leaving the dishes cold and the bacon and sausage congealing. We did point out the expired burner to staff, who re-lit them. This, of course, raised all sorts of issues of food hygiene, so we stopped having hot items. As we were walking each day, we didn't want to risk funny tummies out in the countryside.

By the end of the week, we opted to go to nearby cafe for breakfast.

A huge shout out to the housekeeping staff who did a fantastic job. Obviously the hotel was at low occupancy, but they managed to finish our apartment early each morning, to a very high standard. When they realised that we were doing an element of self-catering, they kindly left us some washing up liquid and sponge and changed the tea towel daily.

Whilst we thought the hotel good value for money for the deal we paid, looking at 'normal' prices, we would not consider returning.

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FiftyFifty5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
car0linar0drigues, Gestor de Relações Públicas at Antillia Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. It is without a doubt a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our services.
We’re sorry to hear our breakfast service did not meet your expectations.
Our team works hard to ensure our guests find their stay valuable in every way from services to amenities and accommodations.
Your comments will be used to guide our efforts in improving these areas that you mentioned above in your comment. Your opinion is important to us.
We hope we have the pleasure to see you again in our hotel.
Greetings from Hotel,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 February 2018

We stayed here for a week and really enjoyed the hotel. We were upgraded to a suite and had a sea view.

The hotel is spotlessly clean in all areas.

We ate in the restaurant twice and the food was very good with lovely service. Breakfast was included in the price and was also good. Prices in the bar are reasonable.

It is a short walk into town for restaurants and attractions.The parking is limited though we always found a space. The entrance is a bit tricky though.

We would happily stay again.

Stayed: January 2018
1  Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
car0linar0drigues, Gestor de Relações Públicas at Antillia Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear Liz,
We appreciate your kind comments. It is always very gratifying for us to receive a maximum evaluation from our clients.
We are happy to hear that you liked our breakfast service and our restaurant, we give our best to ensure a quality experience to our guests.
Your opinion it’s very important to us, who have done everything to continuously improve the quality of our services.
We hope to see you very soon in Antillia.
We wish you all the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 January 2018

We had a room on the sixth floor with a good view from the spacious balcony facing south-east towards the harbour. The maids came in every day and kept it spotlessly clean. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.
There was an amazing TV in the room. At first we thought it was a mirror, but it was one of the hi-tech mirror TVs! There were a good number of channels with a few in english.
Our deal included breakfast, for which there was a good choice of cereals, delicious juices, fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, nice breads, bacon, sausages, beans, eggs, etc. The only thing we did not like very much was the coffee; whether you had espresso, normal with water and milk or just with milk, you ended up with about 4cm of froth. It would have been nice to have an espresso or americano.
The restaurant itself was well appointed and looked out over the outdoor pool, as did the bar alongside. The restaurant did evening meals, but not a big choice. We ate there one evening and had a good well presented meal with a nice bottle of wine.
There is a fair sized car park in the basement. We found a space there each evening but I reckon in the high season it could be a problem. All the streets in the old town are narrow and many are one-way.
Most things are available within a 10 or 15 minute walk, the nearest good restaurants being about 10 minutes walk away. During the day there is a minibus service round the town, 0.50c per trip. This is good for visiting the further away spots like the fort and palace gardens.
The indoor pool, whirlpool, and gym are available free to guests.

Room Tip: Higher floors have best views
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
car0linar0drigues, Gestor de Relações Públicas at Antillia Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear Chris,
Thank you for choosing Antillia to enjoy the island.
It is with great pleasure that we register your evaluation. We are glad you enjoyed some of the little details such as our choice of TVs. We like to surprise and over achieve our guest’s expectations.
Your compliments on our staff as well as on common spaces and services available in the hotel are very encouraging.
Our team works hard to ensure our guests find their stay valuable in every way from services to amenities and accommodations
We loved having you here and we hope to see you soon.
All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews