We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (773)
Filter reviews
773 results
Traveler rating
424
314
27
2
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
424
314
27
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsapartment hotelminute walkliving roomone bedroom apartmentdining tablea small kitchen areasoap dispensercity centrecoffee machinesecure parkingscrambled eggs and bacongent dampoortbreakfast was includedenglish channelsdampoort stationcomfortable bedsleave the car
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 773 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2018

Stayed for business, had a nice sized room with a little kitchen and living area separate from the bedroom. The daily breakfast was quite good and had a nice variety of hot food and cold/continental breakfast type items.

Room Tip: Don't miss the breakfast!
  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pelirroja01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 June 2018

I was in Ghent for basically two days. Upon checking in, the desk staff was fantastic about recommendations including spots to see street art. This was a nice adder because the days were so long and everything closes at 5 pm. The hotel restaurant was fine for dinner and the breakfast was good.

I’m not sure I’d walk from the train station again alone, the street the hotel is located on is a bit rough for the first section. I did this without directions so the hotel can likely provide better guidance.

I was unfortunately located across the hallway from a group of lightly supervised American kids who were not interested in the noise level they generated. The hotel manager helped but since there is no one on site at night there was no one to ring when the kids continuously made too much noise or banged their doors closed while carrying on full volume conversations. The manager had offered to move me earlier but I was frankly too tired to do so, a situation not improved by being kept up all night. Be aware that without staff onsite you are on your own until morning.

Stayed: June 2018, traveled solo
1  Thank Okopie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparthotelCastelnou, Guest Relations Manager at Aparthotel Castelnou, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Thank you for your feedback after spending two days in Ghent. It was our pleasure welcoming you and giving you recommendations according to your interests.

The walk from Gent Dampoort to the hotel covers a part of the ringroad, which might not be the most pleasant stroll because of the traffic and lack in sightseeing. The second part of the route is much more quiet and takes you past some fine 19th century mansions.
As an alternative you could choose to take a bus, several bus lines run between the station and the hotel.

We are sorry that you experienced inconvenience from other guests. I would like to add that there is always someone present in the hotel in case of emergency. He/or she can be reached through phone or by pushing the emergency button next to the front door.

We'd be happy to welcome you should you wish to visit Gent again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Great room, very comfortable, with really helpful staff, the food was really good as I had a evening meal here and it was worthy of a higher end restaurant. 10-15 min still into the city center which is pleasant along the canals.
All in all a delightful experience of which I will use the hotel again.

Stayed: June 2018, traveled with friends
Thank FarAway599726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparthotelCastelnou, Guest Relations Manager at Aparthotel Castelnou, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Thank you for your stay with us and your kind words. We're most pleased that you enjoyed your room and your evening meal in restaurant Dali. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 June 2018

Our room (303 -at the streetside) was clean and quite spacious: a sitting area/ kitchen , a twin bedroom (with a door to the living area) and an ensuite bathroom, all in an up-to-date interior.
Bathroom had a soap dispenser but no extra toiletries.
We asked for an extra bed in the livingroom beforehand and this seemed no problem.
TV with a large choice of international channels in their original language.
Lift , so no dragging with your luggage.
Parking place within the hotel premises.Very cheap -only 10 € per day and handy-with the historic centre at approx. 10 minutes walking at slow pace.
Breakfast (from 7-10 am) was excellent: ample choice, tasteful and good coffee.
The lady at the reception (Helena) is very friendly and helpful.
Checking out hour till 12 is also a bonus!

What could be improved?
The living area has no screen curtains (the bedroom does).With a primary school at the opposite this would be better.
Also, our expresso machine didn't seem to work (or perhaps we did something wrong).Just some coffee powder sachets alongside the expresso pads for people not used to working with an expresso machine would solve the problem since there also is a water cooker.
We'll definetely stay here again!

Room Tip: Room 303 (3rd floor) at the front: spacious, clean and street-sound proof.
  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nadia16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparthotelCastelnou, Guest Relations Manager at Aparthotel Castelnou, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Dear Nadia,

Thank you for your kind review, we're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in room 303 and I'm glad we could be of help with the extra bed. The information brochure in the room contains a brief user manual for the kitchen utensils but we'd be happy to show you how to work the espresso machine should you come to visit us again.
We've decided on providing a combo soap/shampoo through a soap dispenser instead of offering small toiletries because we believe it to be better for the environment and more convenient for our long-staying guests.
I'm pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast coffee - especially since we recently switched to coffee machines with fresh beans.

We'd love to welcome you again some day.

Kind regards,
Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

Just returned from a 4 night stay. Staff friendly and super efficient. Hotel clean and well kept. Rooms comfortable and spacious. Mattress so comfy I only wished I could have brought it home.
Breakfast continental but also with scrambled eggs and bacon.
It is at least 15 mins walk to town but a scenic route along the canal.
I particularly liked how the hotel charges the same price for beer etc as bars in town. Nice to be able to sit in the hotel courtyard after a long day and not feel you had to go elsewhere if on a tight budget.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and we will definitely be returning.
Thanks to all the hardworking staff.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank WitneyHamblins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparthotelCastelnou, Guest Relations Manager at Aparthotel Castelnou, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Dear Mrs. Hamblins,

What a pleasure reading your review, we're thrilled that you enjoyed the comfort and cleanliness of your room and that you had a pleasant experience with the staff. I'd be happy to give you the details of the company where we bought the mattress!
We hope to welcome you again in the future (with equally good weather so you can enjoy a drink on the terrace).

Kind regards,
Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews