We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (290)
Filter reviews
290 results
Traveler rating
236
47
7
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
236
47
7
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no lift handwritten note the ground floor boutique hotel small hotel canal house the study overlooking the canal malin goetz stairs are steep upper rooms sweet dreams couple who run reception closes chain hotels train station nespresso machine
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 290 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2018

On the brink of the canal surrounding the inner city, Mary K. is a townhouse overlooking the canal, this is the place to have base in Utrecht, if you wish to be just a couple of hundred meters from the main street, and the hustle of the city center.
Mary K. is outstanding in every way. Keywords are: Urban, laidback, unusual.
In one word, Mary K. hotel has a great personality, a rare property that I, for one, appreciate.

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, Manager at Mary K Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Thank you so much David, for your outstanding review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

I’ve been staying at the Mary K for over 5 years when I stay in Utrecht and when they have a room. Book early as it’s very popular for very good reasons. Great individually styled rooms with good facilities. Beds comfortable. The couple who run the property are always welcoming and really make you want to come back. Staff (who operate more like an extended family) only add to the experience with their commitment to make your stay perfect. I travel lots and only wish there was a Mary K in all my destinations.

The historic part of Utrecht is a beautiful small city, with intertwined canals, memorable architecture, plenty of great places to eat, to relax over a drink and to sip a good coffee. It is a vibrant university city and if you are lucky enough to find the time to visit I’d strongly recommend the Mary K as a base to explore and enjoy. If you are there on business it’s still the best place to stay.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled on business
Thank chris n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryKHotel, Owner at Mary K Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Hi Chris, thank you so much for your kind words! It's guests like yourself that make our work so much fun:) Hope to see you again soon-ish! Warm regards Marijke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 April 2018

The staff is very friendly, attentive and very willing to answer questions and provide information to enhance our stay. The hotel is very clean. We stayed in a lovely garden room on the first floor. The breakfasts were excellent.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
Thank CMR-LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, Manager at Mary K Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Thank you so much for your excellent review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 April 2018

Like so many others, we had a great time at the Mary K Hotel for the one night we stayed in Utrecht. We were on the ground floor in the Greenhouse, which opens onto a small terrace and garden. It was a bit too cold and wet to take advantage of that during our stay, but would be lovely in summer. It was less than a mile from the train station; we took a taxi rather than drag our suitcases, but it’s also close to the Neude bus stop which we used to get to our sightseeing. The room and bathroom were spacious, and the bed was very comfortable. We had ordered the Mary K big breakfast, and it was huge! Juice, coffee, eggs, a basket of large white and brown rolls and croissants, homemade jam, and delicious yogurt and granola. If I go again I’ll ask if breakfast comes in a smaller size… I also really appreciated their environmental awareness - locally sourced foods when possible, repurposed furniture, art from local artists decorating the rooms.

Room Tip: We wanted to avoid steps [which are very steep] so we got the ground floor room The Greenhouse.
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kathleen_Reston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, Manager at Mary K Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Thank you so much for your great and detailed review! And indeed, breakfast comes in several sizes, on our website you can see the menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 April 2018

Great boutique hotel in the center of Utrecht, but far away from noise, traffic etc, but in the surrounding area are plenty of restaurants. Try C'est Ca & Brass. Very good.
Our room in the hotel was well equipped with huge bath, great walk in shower, coffee machine, mini bar.
Breakfast is made to order by John or Nils, and is fresh and delicious. If you have difficulty with mobility you would want a ground floor room, as the stairs in this lovely old building are very steep indeed, and no lift.
Highly recommended and we plan to return next time we are in the city.

Room Tip: Master bedroom overlooks the canal
  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiverMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, Manager at Mary K Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Thank you so much for your great and detailed review!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews