We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of De Lindenhof

De Lindenhof
Ranked #1 of 34 Restaurants in Giethoorn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian, Dutch
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 24 July 2018 via mobile

Hard to use more words than just saying it was outstanding. The kitchen is simply top, very creative, but leaving the products with their natural taste. Excellent wine, friendly and attentive service. An evening worth the price!

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank GKonovalenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2018

We spent two nights at De Lindenhof and had a chance to experience chef Martin's genius for 4 meals. His breakfast was well balanced and creative. His dinner experiences were absolutely amazing! The second night we decided to go for his signature 12 course meal. Throughout the day he asked us what we would like to see in the menu and unsurprisingly our requests were fulfilled. I don't think there was a single dish that we ate that I would not describe as amazing. And to top everything both nights he served 2 different sets of canapes to kick things off. A massive thank you to Martin and his team. You were incredible!

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gutzaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 August 2017

We stayed over the weekend en thoroughly enjoyed both the restaurant and the overnight stay. Staff is very friendly and the food really is excellent without being "over the top" in the sense of weird, far-fetched cooking adventures. Staff is friendly and wines are reasonably priced. Even breakfast is a six course meal. Try and see their own herbs garden - Martin really is passionate about quality. The rooms are nicely designed and airconditioned. Located near Giethoorn which, although touristy, is worth visiting. Alternatively rent the hotel's sloop (we didn't do this, so cannot comment on it).

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank smit_luydert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 April 2017 via mobile

Cozy, friendly, super attentive staff and exquisite, divine food!!!
Our dinner at De Lindenhof finally happened after we decided to spend the weekend in Giethoorn to celebrate our wedding anniversary. For starters it was lovely to be received by the door by Marjan, the hostess and owner and the young and very pleasant waiter. The surprises begun with the "amuses", which are normally limited to 1 or max 3 at the other restaurants. But instead we had 3 rounds of amazing amuses, every one so different from each other and every one so carefully elaborated with unimaginable wonderful combinations. Really hard to name one that could have been better. I still can't forget a delightful smoked amuse which is brought to the table on a closed glass tray with smoke in it. How brilliant is that?! This was definitely my favorite one. Then the delightful coquilles, the hazelnut soup and the red mullet... my mouth is watering already, the freshness, all those flavors! Then it was time for the main, the lamb (and I must confess, I was not a huge fan due to my previous experiences) just to prove to me that yes, it can be delicious. For the first time I ate it and wished to have some extra. It was more than perfect, beautifully rose, extra tender and tasted so good with a tasteful elegant jus making it even better. We were in heaven. But it was not yet over, we still had dessert coming, and when told that it would be a trio, I expected a nicely presented long dish with thee tiny portions, as usual. To our surprise each one was brought separately, in decent portions and very carefully mounted so that the various flavors could be properly appreciated. Again you could taste the freshness of the ingredients in every bite. The first one already won us, their signature dessert the tzatziki ice, wow, how could one have such a brilliant idea?! We could already leave completely beyond satisfied at this point, but there were two more to come yet, so we enjoyed the beautiful mango passion fruit one in the sequence. But as they know what they do the best was saved for the last. A wonderful homemade vanilla beans ice, with crunchy nuts, green beans and beautiful homemade caramel sauce.
And on top of it all, the price-quality value is very good!
On our way out, while congratulating Marjan for the sublime experience she surprisingly invited us to the kitchen so that we could personally tell Martin about our fantastic experience, which honestly was our best at stars restaurants. What a welcoming couple.

This was, with no doubt, the perfect choice to celebrate our wedding anniversary!

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank AnneLouiseG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 January 2017

We stayed in Giethoorn and planned to take in De Lindenhof, the whole experience was very good each course built on the last each dish somehow a little better than the last. Great cheese plate, the lady serving the cheese was not very attentive to her job. Good food, nice atmosphere value for money.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank givpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Lindenhof also viewed

Giethoorn, Overijssel Province
Giethoorn, Overijssel Province
 
Giethoorn, Overijssel Province
Giethoorn, Overijssel Province
 
Giethoorn, Overijssel Province
Giethoorn, Overijssel Province
 

Been to De Lindenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing