We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Element Amsterdam
Nearby Hotels
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Room Mate Aitana(Amsterdam)
US$204
US$196
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel The Exchange(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$211
US$179
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
citizenM Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
XO Hotels Couture(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$153
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$153
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$225
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$167
US$144
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$141
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Volkshotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (840)
Filter reviews
840 results
Traveler rating
518
260
47
8
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
518
260
47
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheavenly bedzuid train stationmini kitchenpots and panssmall kitchenettebusiness districtgreat hotelcity centrekitchen arealong stayminute walkpublic transportationnespresso machinerooms are spacioushome away from homemodern hoteltram stop
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 840 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a nice hotel located just 10min walk from the train/tram station. It offers free shuttle bus to the station Mon-Sat however we walked and tried to absorb the local neighbourhood vibe, it’s quiet and very nice area. Uber to the city cost around €10-20 depending on the time, bare in mind Amsterdam is a city with dense bike population so cars are not that “welcome” resulting many “peak time” for uber. We like this hotel in the quiet neighbourhood and a small mall with a decent size supermarket attached next to it, so you can always cook your own food in the kitchen in your room or simply dine in a variety choice of restaurants downstairs. Check-in and out was quick with nice hotel receptionist, breakfast was decent, it’s European breakfast to be fair so don’t expect hot food except the boil eggs and toast but it’s ok honestly. Housekeeping is extremely bad, we found empty tissue box and dirty dusty floor when we first check in around 4:30pm, I was wondering why the housekeeper still working on the other rooms while we were getting to our room after check in, we finally know why the next day! We head out early the next day to the city and return back at 5:00pm only to find our room still not make up yet!!! We call the reception and her reply was the hotel was fully occupied that day and might take longer than expected (never in my life staying at so many hotels during peak season experience this), so we went down to the supermarket to get food for dinner to give the room for housekeeper to clean, after returning after 30min, what a shock! The bed looks like it was done in a hurry, emptied tissue box not yet replaced, dirty cups not clean still in the sink, floor remind dusty and dirty, coffee capsules not refill, lucky new towels were replaced. The next day we came back around 5 and room still not make up, we didn’t bother to ask and head straight to supermarket again, slight improvement this time, only because I ripped the tissue box open along with emptied toilet paper roll on the toilet countertop, left the dirty cups and plates on the kitchen counter table all visually obvious for the housekeeper to see, they were finally replaced and clean. Coffee capsule finally replace but yet the bedding and the floor remind same standard. I’m not sure if the hotel is understaff in the housekeeping department (I only see 1 person working on my floor) or the staff was untrained. If the housekeeping standard rise up tremendously and bottle water is offer everyday I would give it a 5 stars given its price and location.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
Thank Ar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMElementAdam, General Manager at Element Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Ar N:

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about the Element Hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your compliments on our room and our staff. Thank you so much for your feedback about Housekeeping what you experienced is not to our standards. You may email me to suzanne.dezwaan@elementamsterdamhotel.com so you can further inform me about you Housekeeping experience. This would be very helpful for us. Ar N, we would be very grateful to welcome you back on your next trip to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Suzanne de Zwaan

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My stay there with an expected due to a change with the hotel that I was originally book. The accommodations were wonderful I love the clean leanness and the decorations in the room everyone was so friendly and helpful and even helped us get basic touch. We were able to take the bikes and ride around and although it’s closer to the university we were able to ride the bikes to the metro and take the metro downtown. They have a washer and dryer on the property, so we were able to do our laundry while staying there.I love this place looking forward to staying there again

Room Tip: They are really big on recycling only one small trash in the bathroom. Don’t be lazy - haul your trash yourself to the discreetly placed bins in the lobby
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lawanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMElementAdam, General Manager at Element Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Lawanda A,

Waw! First, thank very much for rating us with a 10! We couldn't have described it better ourselves. Also thank you so much for elaborating on your stay and describing your experience with us. We are very excited to find out that you enjoyed your stay. We try to make everyone's stay memorable and I think we have succeeded. Lawanda A, we would be happy to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,

Suzanne de Zwaan

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very enjoyable stay in Amsterdam except for the extremely cold weather. The Hotel was very good and the rooms well appointed and fairly spacious. The staff were very friendly and helpful on all occasions, very professional.
The hotel restaurant and bar was fine and the food very good.
The public transport is good and reasonably priced, 17 euros for 3 day pass on buses,trams,metro & ferry. The hotel is approximately 10 mins. from the tram stop and 20 mins. tram ride to the centre of Amsterdam and trams run every 10 to 15 mins.

Room Tip: Only experience of one room and that was great
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank elizabethavenue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMElementAdam, General Manager at Element Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Elizabethavenue,

Thank you very much for your extensive and amazing feedback with useful information regarding your stay with us. We are very excited to find out that you enjoyed your stay. Also thank you for your compliments on our staff, rooms and breakfast offerings. The location is indeed very convenient and easily accessible via public transportation or by bike as well. Elizabethavenue, thank you for choosing us on your next trip to Amsterdam! We would be happy to welcome you back!

Warm regards,

Suzanne de Zwaan

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I spent a week at this hotel we booked a total of 7 rooms for a show at the Rai, the hotel is well located and has a good vide to it, the rooms are clean and roomy giving you a place to work and relax.
I look forward to staying again in 2 years at the next conference, the only thing I would change would be an update to the breakfast allowing for more options such as fish in addition to meat.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brucegurfein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMElementAdam, General Manager at Element Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Brucegurfein,

Great to read you enjoyed your stay with us here in Amsterdam. Your comments about the room, location are fantastic, thank you very much.We try to make everyone’s stay memorable and I think we have succeeded. Brucegurfein, we would be very grateful to welcome you back on your next trip to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Suzanne de Zwaan

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

SPG 75+ Platinum. Stayed at this property overnight for a business trip. The hotel is located in a shopping mall and is very clean, trendy, and convenient. If you are looking to stay here for a longer stay it is comfortable as well due to the fact that it has a kitchen with all the necessities. Being located in the mall was convenient because you could pop into stores/restaurants as you needed. You should just know that this hotel is not located where the action is but can get there quickly via taxi or public transportation.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMElementAdam, General Manager at Element Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Bill B,
Thank you very much for your extensive and amazing feedback with useful information regarding your stay with us. We are very excited to find out that you enjoyed your stay. The location is indeed very convenient and easily accessible via public transportation or by bike as well. Bill B, thank you for choosing us on your next trip to Amsterdam! We would be happy to welcome you back!

Warm regards,

Suzanne de Zwaan

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews