We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Europe 2016”
Review of Lowlands Tours

Lowlands Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$244.48*
and up
Amsterdam Walking Discovery Tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Lowlands Tours is offering private guided tours in Amsterdam and the Netherlands since 2004. Tours are offered in English, German, Portuguese and Dutch. The tours last for 2 - 8 hours and are done by bus, bike, public transport, on foot or by boat. Tours include visits of cities, towns, countryside and museums.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

It was a wonderful experience having Roland as our tour guide. He is super kind and answers all the questions. I highly recommend Lowlands Tours!

Thank Clariss M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rolandsimons, Eigenaar at Lowlands Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2016

Dear Clariss,

Thank you so much for your great review. It was a big pleasure having you here. Enjoy the rest of your Europe trip. Best regards, merry Christmas and see you again!!!

Roland Simons
Lowlandstours.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"fantastic tour"
in 2 reviews
"private tour"
in 2 reviews
"interests"
in 2 reviews
"rijksmuseum"
in 4 reviews
"netherlands"
in 2 reviews
Filter

12 - 16 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2016

We could not have been in better hands. Roland Simons was the perfect guide in every possible way. We could not have wished for a more pleasant and professional guide.He made our visit so enjoyable, and even suggested stellar restaurants for us too. Bravo Roland. You are a gem. Bravo "Lowland Tours".

Thank travelsla10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rolandsimons, Owner at Lowlands Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

It was a pleasure to show you around on this beautiful day and I am very happy that you all appreciated the visit to the Rijksmuseum, the tram rides and the restaurants which I suggested. You really felt like a local at the end of the day, right?

Thank you so much for the great review and I look forward to see you back here in Amsterdam!

Roland Simons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 July 2016

We spent a delightful day with Roland and would highly recommend him! He planned an itinerary just for us and had obviously "done his homework" before meeting us because he shared some interesting details that tied in with email conversations we had prior to coming. He was a font of information about the places we went which included Delft, Scheveningen, and Den Haag. He also gave us great tips about what else we could do on our own in Amsterdam and where to eat, including a place to eat pannenkoeken for lunch! By the time we parted at the end of the day, he felt like a long-time friend and we invited him to visit us if he ever came to our area of the world!

Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rolandsimons, Owner at Lowlands Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2016

Dear Claire and Paul,

Thank you so much for the wonderful day and review.

It was a great pleasure to show you Delft, the Hague and Scheveningen. And absolutely, I had the same feeling I had some long-time friends visiting. It worked out really well doing everything by public transport.

Hopefully you are having a great time river cruising with your family. Did everything work out fine, also with the luggage store? Enjoy Germany, Austria and also your extension in the east of Hungary.

And after your Grand European trip, I hope you are going to see a lot of beaches 'to dip your toes in'.

Warm regards from Amsterdam,
Roland Simons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Roland was an exceptional guide for a tour of the Rijksmuseum. Even before the tour, he was professional, easy to communicate with, flexible, friendly and unflappable. He bent over backwards to make our visit easy and enjoyable. He tailored the tour to our interests. And he was extremely knowledgeable about the artworks. He went above and beyond, by giving a bit of a tour of Amsterdam as we rode the tram together to the museum. He was great, and we would highly recommend using his services.

Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rolandsimons, Eigenaar at Lowlands Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2016

Dear Cathy,

Thank you so much for the great review.

It was a pleasure to show you around on this beautiful day and I am very happy that you appreciated the visit to the Rijksmuseum and the tramrides. Hopefully you had a comfortable journey back to Connecticut the day after our tour. Meanwhile the temperature is back into the fourties and we are preparing for a cold edition of the King's Birthday!

Best regards to your travel companions and hopefully see you again one day in the Netherlands!

Roland Simons
Lowlandstours.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2016

We first met Roland Simons in 2015 when he led a short Amsterdam city walk tour as part of a river cruise package. It was quick, but fun because Roland made us feel like good friends who finally had come to visit him and the place he loves so much. When we decided to go back this year to Amsterdam, the first thing we did was to make sure we could get Roland for an entire day. He customized a tour for us that took us through half of the districts in Amsterdam. The man is a walking Wikipedia of Amsterdam and everything in it and around it. Yet he never seemed to be reciting a speech he had given hundreds of times.
He interspersed anecdotes of his childhood in Amsterdam in his stories about the foibles and glories of the Dutch, gave us peeks into Amsterdam's high culture and low culture and rich "insider" facts not found in the guide books. At the end, he gave us time and money saving tips on where to eat and how to avoid the crowds in places like the Van Gogh museum.

Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rolandsimons, Owner at Lowlands Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2016

Dear Dennis, Diane, Ralph and Betty,

Thank you so much for your great review.

For me it felt exactly the same way, being with old friends while discovering Amsterdam as a walking tour. And the same with the tour we did in the van Loon mansion with the apple pie and coffee. Meanwhile the tulips have started to bloom in the gardens of the van Loon mansion.

Hopefully you had another lovely river cruise and enjoyed a few relaxing days in Paris before heading back home.

I look forward to read your travel adventures in your journals.

Fe and I have a good reason to visit the US again as I still have been unable to find the jersey from the Chicago Cubs…

All the best and Fe and I hope that we will meet again somewhere in the near future.

Roland Simons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lowlands Tours also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Lowlands Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing