We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
NH Amsterdam Centre(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/27
Book now, pay at stay
US$93
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
XO Hotels Couture(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$125/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$290
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Swissotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)
US$196
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$232/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$207
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$203/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$165
US$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$141/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$489
US$328
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$890
US$776
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (781)
Filter reviews
781 results
Traveler rating
343
248
111
50
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
343
248
111
50
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful parksplit levelduplex roombooked a standard roomcity centrelovely hotelbuilding workwould recommend this hotel to anyonea wonderful staymin walkstayed for nightsmetro stationpublic transportcomfy beddam squareoosterparkrenovation
Filter
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 781 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

it was really amazing hotel, the staff was so cool and the area of hotel was wonderful. the Arena hotel is beside the oost park, and the entrance was through the park. it was three minutes walking to the tram station, that you can access all the Amsterdam attractions

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank behzad y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozgur E, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Behzad Y,

What a way tho begin our day! Thank you very very much for this empowering, lovely review, much much appreciated. We are very happy with it and hope to meet you next time too,

Kind regards,

Ozgur Eylen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Well located and easy to reach hotel, in a lovely park. Nice concept, with the chapel refurbished and a mix of old and new pieces throughout the hotel. Nice looking restaurant (we didn’t eat there through) overlooking the park.

The staff was kind, responsive and helpful.

The first room we got was with a nice new bathroom with shower, and large bed in the open mezzanine. It was nicely decorated, but was lacking in the details (paint chipping a bit, air flow making noises) but globally lovely. Unfortunately it had a buzzing noise coming and going from the Bathroom that woke us up a few time. In the morning management was quick to propose to check was it was, and eventually change us to a new room. They were very nice and responsive. On the evening we were moved to another bigger room, with a different decoration and a bath.

The second room was larger, with a bathroom with a large bath. Same structure, different decoration. That one must have been an older aisle of the hotel as the paint was clearly chipping in the bathroom with humidity, the fridge was leaking water... On the second morning, our towels were just thrown/stack up wet (not folded) on the rack, and the bed was barely done. No tea were put back for us to have the next evening/morning.

While it is a lovely setting and nice concept, the hotel is very much lacking in detail and need some renovation.
Staff is very nice though !

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Emmanuelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozgur E, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Emmanuelle C,

Thank you very much for your kind words and great feedback, which shows us that we are on the right path! We are renovating the old rooms, we are busy with painting and also with the minibars! I am so sorry that we troubled you with small but annoying details, next time you are here, we will be changed and much better, I promise!

Kind regards,

Ozgur Eylen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Loved Hotel Arena from the second I saw it walking through the park. Old gothic feel and beautiful naturally lit rooms. Had a couple of issues with the key cards (stopped working), the cleaner (walking in whilst 'do not disturb' sign was on), ordering drinks (asked for milk 3 times) and requesting more pillows (never came) but overall was good. Ladies at reception were some of the best in the business and always extremely happy to help.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jack P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozgur E, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Jack P.

Thank you very much for your kind words and feedback, we should have done better when it comes to service I see, small mistakes that makes the stay less valuable that it should be...Apologies but I take it with me,.

Kind regards,

Ozgur Eylen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Find other if you don t want to live the situations below;

- Waiting in the lobby for the not ready room.
(It was 14.00 and two times they said 1 hour later so we waited 2 hours finally we left and came back at night.)

- Dealing with unhappy and unprofsesional Supervisors or managers in the Front Desk.
(While trying to get my room their behaviour was not professional. This is not hospitality. Also they could not use their PMS efficiently.)

- Walking is not a choice but geting lost with the many connections to city center is.
(Get ready to change the tram 2 or 3 times)

- Dirtiest rooms that you will have.
(As a housekeeping manager I can cleary say that stay away !)

- Poorest bathroom and room amenities that will make u shocked.
(NO WATER, no bottled bathrooms amenities, just one tiny pillow on the bed etc.)

- Getting cold beacuse of the poor heating system.
(Even tough it was in the hi level and set to 30, te room was cold)

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank Ralph84Istanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozgur E, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Ralph84Istanbul,

How painful to read your comments, pity to be judged by a professional house keeping manager...
Our check-in is at 15 o'clock, PMS says you just checked in before 15 o'clock?
We use to get great reviews about our teams and supervisors I am so sorry that we let you down there as well.
By walk you should be in 20 minutes in the city centre at least you are not willing to..( i can understand that - but we are not saying that we are a city centre hotel anyway, sorry that you have missed that when you booked I assume! )
In the Netherlands city water is one of the cleanest of the world and we all drink that, that's why we don't have bottles but glasses, less plastic is always better we thought, if you still want a bottle, you should/could have ask us, we would have done with love.
We score 8 by cleanliness but if you say that we were totally unacceptable and you are a professional, i just can thank you and bring this to my people!
We have air-co's up until 30 degrees...more than that is not possible indeed, we could have bring extra heaters to the room if you have let us know...

All in all, one star out five breaks my heart and especially because we have let you go down, as another professional, I only can say now sorry and will work on it NOW, i hope you will find a better fitting hotel next time for you while we are learning from our mistakes by your stay! I sincerely apologize...

Kind regards, greetings to Istanbul

Ozgur Eylen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Perfect Hotel! Situated just outside of the city, with trams into the city regularly and only a 5 min journey into the heart of the city. With its beautiful views looking over the park it is peaceful and tranquil. The staff are so helpful and polite from the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out, nothing was an issue. The reception staff were always smiling , they recommended places to go and showed us on a map and how to get there. If you want a place to stay that is close to the city but without the hustle and bustle this is the place to stay, amazing hotel with amazing staff.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Teenyteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozgur E, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Teenyteen,

What a wonderful start to our week and day, thank you very much for that, glad that you had a good stay, enjoyed the hotel, staff and the services and we of course hope to meet you next time too,

Kind regards,

Ozgur Eylen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews