We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,382)
Filter reviews
1,382 results
Traveler rating
391
563
286
94
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
391
563
286
94
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews basketball hoop great location van gogh museum tram stop quirky hotel breakfast room rooms are small steep stairs small lift hard boiled eggs amsterdam sign minute walk major museums quiet street double bed cold meats central station
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 1,382 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

The novel look and feel of this hotel meant that our children felt this was the best hotel they'd ever stayed at. The room was fun and quirky and had all the necessary elements for a comfortable stay. Comfortable beds, TV, space and a clean functional bathroom. The hotel bar was a pleasant place to go after dinner, with games, magazines and a good selection of snacks and drinks. Unfortunately the heatwave made sleeping a little difficult for two out of three nights as there was no air conditioning in the rooms and the fans were too noisy to keep on all night. Once the temperature dropped on night three, to a more normal August temperature, all was fine. We found breakfast disappointing and even ate out one day as the choice wasn't great. Overall a fun hotel in a great location. We felt safe travelling with children and have had a brilliant mini break. Some better quality fans may be a good investment for the summer months (especially given the numbers of people who have complained about the heat in their rooms) and more choice for breakfast would make this a five star review.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Suzi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telka K, Manager at Max Brown Hotel Museum Square, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear Suzi,

Thank you for taking the time to write us your GREAT feedback! We are happy to hear that you call us your best hotel you ever''d staeyed at! Good to hear that you enjoyed our bar with all our funny games and you relaxed after a busy day in the city centre!

We hope to welcome you back in the wintertime to enjoy the city again!

Kind regards,

Telka Knapen
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 August 2018

They say that it's the people who make a place special and this truly is the case with this hotel. Originally my boyfriend and I stayed in December 2017, we were immediately wowed by the fantastic location, small but perfectly formed rooms and beautiful views across Amsterdam. The bed's are also so comfortable!! I got two of the best nights sleep I'd had in ages.

But what struck us the most, was the kindest and generosity of the staff. All of our questions were answered, we were recommended a fantastic restaurant and a table booked for us. When we stumbled home one evening, we ended up at the lovely hotel bar. Not only is the cocktail, beer and wine selection good. But we had fantastic conversation and a lot of laughs with the two bar staff Raisa and Max. They could not do enough for us and we really appreciated their kindness.

We returned to Amsterdam last weekend and unfortunately could not stay at this hotel. But we popped in for a drink to find Max and Raisa still doing an absolutely brilliant job. It was so lovely to catch up with them and despite us not being guests at the hotel, they treated us amazingly well. If the powers that be read this, they both deserve a raise and lots of praise! Such amazing customer service! We also met a lovely new employee called Daniella, who was equally as welcoming and knowledgeable despite recently being employed there.

We will remember Amsterdam, not just for the beautiful city and the vibrant nightlife. But for the staff at Max Brown who truly made our experience so so special.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank natty96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telka K, Manager at Max Brown Hotel Museum Square, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear Nathalie,

Thank you for taking the time to write us your GREAT feedback! We are happy to hear that you came back to our hotel after you holiday with you boyfriend! A good night rest is the best for all those busy days right?

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your night at the bar with Raisa & Max, so happy to have you here back with us and hopefully, we can welcome you here back for some great nights at Max Brown!

Take care & we will share this review with the team!

Kind regards,

Telka Knapen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Very disappointing and very expensive for what it was. Booked a room for one adult and 2 teenage children. One double bed that was ok and one additional bed suitable for a 3 year old. Absolutely tiny shower room. Could hardly move. No air conditioning in the room, just one small completely useless fan. We were on the top floor of the building in 37 degrees heat. On the second day I asked for an additional fan. I was told all the spare ones had been given out. They were out of water too!! On the 3rd night they came up with two more useless fans and three complimentary bottles of water. The hotel was in a good location but that's all I can say about it.

Room tip: I was offered a bigger room for additional money for the last night. No thanks, I've already paid too much.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank janefg2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telka K, General Manager at Max Brown Hotel Museum Square, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this feedback in regards of your stay.

It is unfortunate to read that your experience with the hotel was not as you had expected. The hotel is located in authentic Amsterdam town houses, therefore the rooms are still in its original size. We mention the sizes of the room on all of our booking websites, so that our guest will not be surprised by the actual space.

You have clearly stayed with us during the unseasonably hot weather Amsterdam has experienced. Normally the Amsterdam summers are short-lived but this doesn't reduce the impact it clearly had on your stay and for which we can only apologise for. We have tried to make your stay more convenient during the unseasnable hot weather by keeping contact multiple times. It is unfortunate that you still felt let down by our service.

However, I am glad to read that the location was suitable for your stay. I do hope that you explored Amsterdam to the fullest and that our city gave a nice memory.

With kind regards,

Telka Knapen - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

The room was small but, being on the top floor, the view from the bed out of the roof window over the rooftops of Amsterdam was beautiful.
This place is a bit of a find with a great location for the Van Gogh Museum and the Rijksmuseum was wonderful. Small but with everything you need.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank IanSeph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telka K, Manager at Max Brown Hotel Museum Square, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us your feedback! We are happy to hear that you also enjoyed the rooftop view from our 4th floor rooms. We are on a perfect location for all the museums and other good restaurants.

Hope to welcome you back at Max Brown

Warm regards,

Telka Knapen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

Book this hotel. More like Hostel. OK. Americans
Understand if here in summer the place has no AC
The staff on hand very nice. Brought my Mom for 82 birthday a lot of stairs and no AC. If I had known would never book. They put 2 small fans in. Lol. With all the noise can’t hear my mom talk. I rarely write reviews or like to be negative. But I want u to be Warned

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Chas-Murphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews