We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht(Amsterdam)
Free cancellation until 07/26
Book now, pay at stay
US$339
US$326
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$382/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Swissotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)
US$198
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$231/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$225
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$200/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$167
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$161/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
XO Hotels Couture(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$80
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$291
US$164
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$202/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$89
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$109/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 07/26
US$897
US$836
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$492
US$356
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,467)
Filter reviews
1,467 results
Traveler rating
240
510
406
148
163
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
240
510
406
148
163
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbudget hostelnightclub downstairsfree breakfastbed dormprivate bathroomthe red light districtyogurtvan gogh museumcentral stationtram stopbasementheinekenleidsepleinnightlifedam
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 1,467 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Unfortunately we stayed here before an early train commute and slept all of thirty minutes.. our room smelled like smoke because we haves the courtyard where everyone smoked and the previous reviews about the loud alarmed doors is correct. You really hear everything and every door that opens. If we were going to be up super late partying and could sleep in though it wouldn’t have been as terrible.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Meg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thanks for your review, Meg!
The door system is simply a safety precaution, if closed properly, there is no sound. For noise complaints, pop by the front desk so a staff member can sort it out and you can get some sleep- if you're a very light sleeper, we also give out earplugs at the front desk! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 March 2018

great place with amazing and kind stuff, near centre, where you can have breakfast in the morning and great party time at night! and decor and posters inside are great too! :) p.s. they have funny way announcing happy hour in hostel's bar :D

Stayed: November 2017
Thank 704Mica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thanks!
Keep us in mind for your next Amsterdam trip, happy hour awaits! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

I went here with my class for a school trip. When we first arrived the entire room smelled like a mix of sewer and chlorine. The smell never went away and we had to have our window open at all times. The doors were so incredibly loud, and if anyone on the same floor came home late the entire floor woke up. The doors had a weird alarm set on to them so if you held on to the handle for more than 2 seconds it went off - loudly. Our sheets as well had weird brownish spots on them and at first we didn’t care until a few nights later when we discovered a mouse - the spots were mouse drops. We went to the reception and they didn’t seem too bothered with this disgusting issue. When I showed them a picture of my sheets they looked at me and said: we don’t ever change those kind of sheets. We had apparently been sleeping on dirty sheets for multiple nights. We did receive new sheets however these had spots on them too (hopefully not mouse droppings as well!!!). As well the bathroom was dirty - it looked as if it had never been cleaned and was rusty all over - our water tap could never fully close so a dripping noise was present at all times. When you were to take a shower the water went all over the floor because there wasn’t anything to help stop the water.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
2  Thank denrejsendefradk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thanks for your review!
We provide every guest with fresh sheets, towels and bedding. These are kept in your locker, neatly folded for you to put on your bed. If you noticed these spots after a few days, it seems unlikely that they were already stained. That being said, thank you for letting a staff member know about this issue, and we hope that it was solved quickly as soon as it was brought to their attention. Our staff cleans all rooms, bathrooms and common areas daily, we're sorry to not have met your expectations. We hope that you and your classmates had a fun time in Amsterdam!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 March 2018

Rooms and bathroom were clean and beds were new, the bar was very good with a great atmosphere, food was served to which tasted good. Staff were nice and the reception offered loads of local knowledge

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Amber B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thanks for your review, Amber!
There's always more to see and do in Amsterdam, so come visit us again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

I arrived there on February 18th and from airport i got off to Rijkmuseum station. It's a bit tricky to find the hostel from the station. The location is actually good because it's in the center area. But i think they should put the name of the hotel plank bigger haha.

Room was okay (as shown in the pics i attached). They gave us respective lockers that we can lock. There are electric sockets near the bed but only the bottom ones. The upper bed ones, if you need to charge your phone then u have to put your phone in the lower bed (whom ever bed's they are).

Funny thing is there are no stairs to climb the upper bed. So if you're small, you'll be in trouble climbing up (ask lower bed instead). They don't provide toiletries but they provide a towel which a bit weird in my opinion. Some people get big towel, some get so small it looks like a bathroom door mat.

Anyways the bathroom itself is clean, not too spacious and since the floor is even in shower area and sink/toilet area, it can get flooded when u take a shower. But hot water running hard and good. There's a heater in the room. Wifi is on everywhere.

Some of the comments said the breakfast is just regular okay. But for me they are a champion breakfast for the price you pay. You'll get unlimited breads, fruits, yogurt, roll pancakes, tea, coffee, juices, smoke beef/pork/chicken , grilled tomatoes. Seriously it's unlimited. You can take again and again untill you're full.

The staffs are quite friendly. Speak good english. And dining/breakfast area transform into a bar at night.

Basically i love this hostel. I would stay there again and it's definitely recommended.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled with friends
Thank angelous_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thanks for your review, Angelous!
We're in the process of replacing all beds with new ones that have ladders, making it easy to hop into bed. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope you'll be back to visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews