We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,523)
Filter reviews
1,523 results
Traveler rating
250
526
425
155
167
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
250
526
425
155
167
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnightclub downstairsfree breakfastbed dormprivate bathroomyouth hostelthe red light districtyogurtcentral stationbasementheinekennightlifeleidsepleindamtram
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 1,523 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Unfortunately we stayed here before an early train commute and slept all of thirty minutes.. our room smelled like smoke because we haves the courtyard where everyone smoked and the previous reviews about the loud alarmed doors is correct. You really hear everything and every door that opens. If we were going to be up super late partying and could sleep in though it wouldn’t have been as terrible.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Meg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thanks for your review, Meg!
The door system is simply a safety precaution, if closed properly, there is no sound. For noise complaints, pop by the front desk so a staff member can sort it out and you can get some sleep- if you're a very light sleeper, we also give out earplugs at the front desk! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 March 2018

great place with amazing and kind stuff, near centre, where you can have breakfast in the morning and great party time at night! and decor and posters inside are great too! :) p.s. they have funny way announcing happy hour in hostel's bar :D

Stayed: November 2017
Thank 704Mica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thanks!
Keep us in mind for your next Amsterdam trip, happy hour awaits! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 March 2018

Rooms and bathroom were clean and beds were new, the bar was very good with a great atmosphere, food was served to which tasted good. Staff were nice and the reception offered loads of local knowledge

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Amber B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thanks for your review, Amber!
There's always more to see and do in Amsterdam, so come visit us again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

I arrived there on February 18th and from airport i got off to Rijkmuseum station. It's a bit tricky to find the hostel from the station. The location is actually good because it's in the center area. But i think they should put the name of the hotel plank bigger haha.

Room was okay (as shown in the pics i attached). They gave us respective lockers that we can lock. There are electric sockets near the bed but only the bottom ones. The upper bed ones, if you need to charge your phone then u have to put your phone in the lower bed (whom ever bed's they are).

Funny thing is there are no stairs to climb the upper bed. So if you're small, you'll be in trouble climbing up (ask lower bed instead). They don't provide toiletries but they provide a towel which a bit weird in my opinion. Some people get big towel, some get so small it looks like a bathroom door mat.

Anyways the bathroom itself is clean, not too spacious and since the floor is even in shower area and sink/toilet area, it can get flooded when u take a shower. But hot water running hard and good. There's a heater in the room. Wifi is on everywhere.

Some of the comments said the breakfast is just regular okay. But for me they are a champion breakfast for the price you pay. You'll get unlimited breads, fruits, yogurt, roll pancakes, tea, coffee, juices, smoke beef/pork/chicken , grilled tomatoes. Seriously it's unlimited. You can take again and again untill you're full.

The staffs are quite friendly. Speak good english. And dining/breakfast area transform into a bar at night.

Basically i love this hostel. I would stay there again and it's definitely recommended.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled with friends
Thank angelous_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thanks for your review, Angelous!
We're in the process of replacing all beds with new ones that have ladders, making it easy to hop into bed. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope you'll be back to visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 February 2018 via mobile

We said in the hostel for two night. I was abit worried due to the negative comments I read online, but the hostel wasn't as bad I expected it to be IF given the decent rooms. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was okay/clean but the shower they could work on that. In terms of free breakfast just the basic ( toast, hot beverage and cereal) not English breakfast. Overall it's a good hostel to spend a few days.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled with friends
1  Thank 12Vana4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Thanks for your review!
We're happy to hear that we've managed to exceed your expectations. We're revamping some of the hostel's facilities, including the bathrooms, so we hope to show them off during your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews