We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Bicycle Hotel(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sarphati Hotel(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Arcade Hotel(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Victorie(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Sir Albert Hotel(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,706)
Filter reviews
2,706 results
Traveler rating
1,810
638
164
59
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,810
638
164
59
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsciel bleuserre restaurantteppanyaki restaurantmichelin starred restaurantshealth clubpillow menuexecutive floorcorner roomturn down servicede pijpcity centretop floorfive star hoteljunior suitebeautiful hotelrooftop barnespresso machine
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 2,706 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is an all-round high end hotel, you sense it in every detail. Service is top notch, rooms are in great shape and very clean, and they provide every kind of service you can imagine (all types of pillows, food, breakfast, drycleaning, etc). Of course this comes with a price, but it's worth it. There's a nice bar and restaurant on the 23rd.

Only reason I gave 4 stars out of 5 is because I applied for the "upgraded view" room, which was probably the same room but a few floors higher. The view was not very good though because you're mainly looking over a flat roof of a big gym. They were nice enough to take this price off though.

Room Tip: If you're asking for a "view upgrade", make sure you're not located on the North side.
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank GuidoKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just stayed here, the hotel is a bit outside the main tourist area but we had no problems getting around. The rooms are fine although slightly dated with their beige colour schemes, large bathrooms and lots of toiletries provided, the beds let them down though as they were so hard, we both ended with bad backs.

The health club is nice but (despite being a parent) I wish they would set times where children are not allowed as you couldn't relax due to noise and boys dive bombing the pool. Also no idea why they insist the sauna and steam room is naked (mixed), not everyone is comfortable with nudity and the rule was not adhered to so made it very awkward, also kids running in and out didn't help, the ladies have their own sauna so why make the mixed sauna naked?

Overall though I'd stay again.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank spendleb48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOkuraAmsterdam, General Manager at Hotel Okura Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear guest,

First of all thank you for sharing your concerns regarding your recent stay at Hotel Okura Amsterdam. Feedback of our guests enables us to further improve our products and services.

It is great to hear that you would stay again with us in the future. However, your feedback regarding the modernity of the room and the Nagomi Health is really valuable. It is unfortunate to read that you ended with bad back due to the bed. This is not what we want to deliver to our guests and therefore I would like to express my sincerest apologies. The comments about the room and the bed will be shared with the involved departments to further improve this.

Concerning the Nagomi Health; on our website and when entering the Nagomi Health, there is mentioned that all guests should enter the sauna without bathing clothes. However, guests can ignore this rule, which is hard to check for the staff involved. I am very sorry that you felt uncomfortable by this incident. I will definitely forward your concerns to the involved team members, so they are aware of this problem and that we can prevent this from happening in the future.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Assuring you of our best care and attention I remain,

Emmy J. Stoel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very good hotel, rooms are nice and decent sized. The whole hotel is very fresh. Stayed for a business trip and conference. The meeting rooms was well suited for our purpose. Had 2 meals at the restaurant, both were exceptional good.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled on business
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This location of the Okura family of hotels includes many of the wonderful Japanese hotel experiences - cleanliness, professionally polite and friendly service, wonderful food in several different venues. Spa was very good. Will definitely stay there again. The only drawback is the location. Within tram distance from Central Station and the Museum Quarter, but not a convenient walk to either.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank medaugh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Okura can be reached from central station with Tram 24 (leaving from stand B), get out at the Ferdinand Bolstraat and walk still about 400 meters. They also offer parking on site. It is located in the fashionable De Pijp neighbourhood with many eateries and shops and the famous Albert Cuyp street market nearby.

The Okura Hotel offers great value for money - it is one of the more affordable five star hotels in Amsterdam, still with very pleasant staff, top notch rooms, gorgeous views, and a great spa and pool. I booked a regular room for less than 200 Euros and was given one on a corner on the 9th floor, affording tremendous views.

Most strikingly, Okura has no less than FOUR Michelin-recognized restaurants on board! Pretty unique to have one two-starred, two-one starred and a Bib-gourmand restaurant in one hotel!! We ate at the Bib-gourmand one, Restaurant Serre, and the 60 Euros All-in Four Course menu with wine, water and coffee) was outstanding. Also many restaurants in walking distance, ao. the famous Loetje steak restaurant.

The pool and sauna are included with the room rate and very pleasant and luxurious. There is also a separate spa called Nagomi where treatments can be done against a fee.

Okura has a co-operation with Viking cruises so touringcars with tourists are dropped there ... this did not give any inconvenience for me as a regular guest though.

Room Tip: A regular (lowest rate) room is already very good
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Hermes_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews