We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,218)
Filter reviews
1,218 results
Traveler rating
483
499
160
47
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
483
499
160
47
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews van gogh museum quiet street louis vuitton great location museum district superior room high end shopping tree lined street major museums designer shops lovely hotel tram stop boutique hotel two blocks airport bus concert hall minute walk
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 1,218 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2018

We chose this hotel primarily for location: extremely close to the Rijksmuseum, Museumplein and the tram/bus stop. It's located in a street of elegant houses and is very quiet at night. It is far enough away from the stag parties and noise of central Amsterdam to afford a good night's sleep, yet easy to get back to the centre either on foot or by tram.

Check-in and out was simple and rapid, and all of the staff we encountered during our stay were wonderfully helpful, friendly, polite and obliging: we can't praise them enough.

The free WiFi always had a good signal (a real bonus; in some hotels it is patchy and weak).

Our room was very pleasant and kept spotlessly clean. The complimentary toiletries were of a good quality, the towels soft and fluffy, and what luxury to have a choice of pillows! The aircon was especially welcome in one of the hottest summers for a very long time.

The minibar was extremely well stocked, but still with sufficient space for our own purchases from the Albert Heijn supermarket around the corner on Museumplein.

If you're looking for somewhere close by to eat and drink, The Aran Irish Bar just across the canal (opposite the entrance to the Holland Casino) serves plentiful, good food at very reasonable prices, and the Hard Rock Cafe is just a few steps further on.

When we return to Amsterdam we will definitely stay here again, and are happy to recommend this hotel to anybody.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pennies-from-Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanLuykenAmsterdam, Public Relations Manager at Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear guest,


Thank you for such a positive review! This is what we are doing it for, making your stay a 5 out of 5. We are glad that, even though it was very hot in our city, our good airconditioning kept it pleasant for you.

We can't wait to see you back at our Jan-Luyken.


With kindest regards,

Hotel management and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 July 2018

Perfect location within walking distance of museums, Vondelpark, canal rides, upscale shopping, public transportation and good restaurants. The staff were very helpful and the front desk had tickets to purchase for various attractions.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank beenawhile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanLuykenAmsterdam, Public Relations Manager at Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear guest,


Thank you for your lovely review. We would love to see you back again when you visit Amsterdam again, at our majestic Jan-Luyken.


With kindest regards,

Hotel management and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

One of the best hotels in Amsterdam! They had superb amenities, lovely staff - amazing rooms with balconies. We were very pleased and moments away from Vondelpark - use the hotel bikes to get there and pack a picnic. Lovely shopping and museums around the corner, safe neighbourhood and lovely staff! We will be back!!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank manisha22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanLuykenAmsterdam, Public Relations Manager at Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear guest,


Thank your for staying with us, and thank you so much for your wonderful review! We're always doing our best to give you the most pleasant experience possible. We can't wait to see you back at our lovely hotel.


With kindest regards,

Reservation manager
Sjoerd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 July 2018

Beautiful, peaceful hotel in the heart of the Museum area. Five minutes walking distance to the Van Gough museum and other museums. Excellent staff, hotel and location. Plenty of places to go, see and do. Transport is not a problem.

Room tip: If you have a problem with baths check if there is walk in shower available. The hotel does have stairs to some of the rooms.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank billandliz2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanLuykenAmsterdam, Reservation Manager at Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear GUest,

Thank you very much for leaving a review regarding your recent stay with us this is really much appreciated.

We are happy to see you experienced the hotel staff as excellent. and that the location suited all you wished for.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in the near future.

With the kindest regards,
Hotel Management & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 July 2018

We stayed at the Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken Hotel,5 minute walk from the Rijksmuseum and Van Gough Museum. Close to shopping and light rail. The room is smallish but very adequate.The staff were friendly and we would definitely go back there.There are also half floors here so if you don't want to carry luggage up or down a flight of about 10 steps, make sure you let the hotel know you want a room on the floor that the elevator stops on.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanLuykenAmsterdam, Reservation Manager at Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing such a nice review with you lovely words regarding our location and hotel staff we are all very much looking forward to your next visit with the Bilderberg hotel Jan-Luyken.

With the kindest regards,
Hotel Management & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews