We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delicious & typical Dutch snack”
Review of Bagels & Beans

Bagels & Beans
Ranked #165 of 4,664 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Description: Near the museums the place to be. we serve fresh and healthy food for a fair price
Reviewed 4 August 2017

When in Amsterdam, you will soon see that the bagels are all around. However, not all of them are worth trying. If you want to have a tasty and memorable experience of the Dutch bagel, just come here - they have great variety of bagels, made of all kinds of flour, with all several different kinds of cheese creams and great sandwich-like combinations! You can also choose between salty and sweet ones. Besides, their staff is super polite and they serve great coffee! If you see the sigh Bagels&Beans just come in and try it!

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HezlVederfild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,598)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 247 of 1,598 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

We stopped here for a quick snack while biking Amsterdam. We have very expensive Brompton folding bicycles so we ordered and chose a table outside. Before our food arrived we were told we couldn't have our folded up bikes near the table, we needed to put them around side of the building. Crazy...keeping them near is one reason why we purchased this type of bike! They are too expensive to put out of sight with all the cheap beat up bikes most people ride around Amsterdam. We should have just left but we did wait for the begals since we were hungry. The food was good, not outstanding but good.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank AdventureUnlimited01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BagelsBeansAmsterdam, Eigenaar at Bagels & Beans, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Dear Sirs, we sorry however we are so strickt in our bike policy because the gouverment will give us a penalty for not empty the street in front off the restaurant. People with strollers or wheelchairs also need to be able to be on the street. Luckly you enjoyed the food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

We don't normally go out for food like bagels, but this was fab! Something different to eat, with plenty of choice. Very vegetarian-friendly, but several meaty options! Chicken chutney bagel was fantastic, a little messy to eat but that's to be expected. Juices are fresh and delicious, thought they would be thin and runny, but thicker, more like a smoothie! Fed five people for €50, all having a bagel and drink. Excellent spot for a quick meal watching the world go by.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank cerobeans_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BagelsBeansAmsterdam, Eigenaar at Bagels & Beans, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Thank you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

I've been here for a brunch and well, the food is very nice, all fresh and checked. The portion is not very big, but still is enough. Waiters kind and friendly, pleasant location. I would recommend it.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank T5581LFannac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

The bagels themselves were good! There were lots of options and fillings available. The ingredients were fresh but I felt the portions were a bit small.

The seating is very close together so it's a little awkward to move about.

The staff were also not very patient with us, they seemed annoyed when we asked about the menu.

I also asked for something on the menu- but they told me they don't do it anymore.. they could cross it off/ print new menus?
They just seemed annoyed from the moment we sat down.

We asked for milk twice and it didn't come for ages.

The food was good, but for the price I'd expect it to be a bit more welcoming and to get a little more enthusiasm for the business, especially when what we read seemed like such an interesting concept.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Crishowells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bagels & Beans also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Bagels & Beans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing