We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Longnor Wood Holiday Park
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel(Biggin-by-Hartington)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveler rating
242
33
6
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
242
33
6
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tublongnor woodon arrivalrelaxing breaklocal pubwinking manmaple lodgedecking arealovely touchsat navwalk in wardrobelog cabintouring caravandog washan adultdog walking fieldwashing up liquid
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 287 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed in many lodges around the UK. We chose Longnor as some friends had recommended it to us.
The hot tub roof is only just big enough to cover the tub, so your towels get wet if it rains (or snows). Could do with some internal hangers. There are no steps up to the tubs, so take care. The tub was crammed into a tight space, so it was a struggle to move its cover, yet there was a lovely big private space elsewhere.
We stayed over Easter break it is such a relaxing stay in beautiful surroundings. Its quite a walk to the small village of Longnor and to be honest not a lot there to keep you occupied for any length of time. You need a car to get out and about really its not safe in winter to walk on the roads they are very dark and cars go far too fast around them to walk safely.
The lodge we stayed in was Beech and it had a washing machine and tumble dryer which was great for getting the towels and costumes dry for the next dip in the hot tub.
Tea and coffee is in the lodges with a small jug of milk on arrival which was a nice touch. The lodges text me on the day of arrival to advise the lodge would be ready at 1430 instead of the normal 16:00 which was lovely.
Staff are really nice we didn't have cause to speak to them other to check in and out we had no problems there were a couple of power cuts while we were there but it soon came back on.
The bed was incredibly comfy and the lodge itself was lovely and clean lovely fluffy towels too.
You can really get away from it all here - no signal for my mobile network.
All in all a lovely getaway from it all.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Helen and David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in Jasmine Lodge, from March 19th to 23rd. It`s large Chalet style Lodge with two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a washing machine, drier and dishwasher. Also a hot tub Jacuzzi, probably the highlight. We took our dog, staying for 4 nights.

The Lodge was fully equipped, warm and yet cozy. All cooking utensils were provided, including a fridge and freezer. It is certainly of a very high standard.

While isolated, which we felt perfect, and the views from the hill are staggering, the amenities are good. Wi - Fi is fine for browsing, the lodge had a good quality TV and DVD, with plenty of movies to borrow.

It`s a bit of driving to get around, but remember we arrived during the "beast from the east", and the roads were treacherous but I`m sure this was the exception to the rule. I noticed the road to Longnor Wood had a snowplough clearing it. Nearby attractions all within 30 mins drive are Buxton, Bakewell, Chatsworth House all worth a day each.

For practicalities, stock up, there is a good ASDA supermarket in Leek, which we used. Fundamentals are available on site, but I recommend you do a good supermarket shop - after all there is plenty of space in the kitchen.

Walking from the Lodge is fine - there are some good circular walks - breathtaking views, but again do as we did, take the car a few miles and take in the local sights.

Overall I will give Longnor Wood a very good rating, the staff are very helpful and friendly. It is very quiet, tranquil, secluded and luxurious.

Room Tip: We stayed in Jasmine, but all of the lodges I saw around the site had good locations.
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank markandtracey2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2018

Excellent place to relax and let the world pass by .great surroundings .It is family owed very heilpful and pleasant always there to help you. Lots of places to visit ,then back to your lodge to relax in the hot tub.Good pubs and resturants in the area .Going back in the Summer our 3rd visit

Stayed: October 2017
Thank lynnmoore7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2018 via mobile

Went for the new year, enjoyed our stay, the lodge has everything you need,tv freeview and DVD player plus all the normal you would expect, and a washer and dryer which is good for the towels etc after the hot tub, which is a very good hot tub it is under a wooden canopy and has a wooden fence around it, only 1 bad point about the lodge, the bed was very uncomfortable with dips and lumps in the mattress
Also note that no matter which WiFi phone signal you use there is no way of streaming or downloading only text msg and if your lucky a phone signal.
There are a couple pubs in longnor but it’s about 1.5 miles to walk, not bad on a nice day
Wildlife is good if you like that sort of thing, we a couple squirrels for company plus the birds

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2017

We looked for a fairly local venue for a cabin with a hot tub deal not too far from Sheffield and found this little gem. We needed a getaway venue for the void between Christmas and New Year so opted for Longnor Wood and we weren't disappointed.
On our arrival we were shown to our cabin by a member of staff and shown all the details we needed in relation to the cabin and the hot tub controls.
By the reception at the park there is an information cabin that contains leaflets and details of local attractions, books to borrow to read and board games and DVDs to watch.
In the cabin there were a number of board games for us to use and an information pack of the local area.
Longnor village is a short drive back down the hill and if the weather is fine then for the walkers amongst you it is a nice steady walk.
As we were staying during the xmas period then the lit and decorated tree in the cabin was a very nice touch and reminded us what time of year it was.
The hot tub was well used and the nice touch about the hot tub is that as far as I could tell on a walk round the park, all the hot tubs have a wooden roof structure over them and quite a bit of screening to try and keep them private.
One of the things we got that wasn't on the booking form was the weather, snow to quite a depth on the Thursday night which made the hot tub experience the next day a little different.
Our local neighbours in the shape of grey squirrels and red breasted robins made it even nicer with the squirrels quite tame and keen to eat peanuts that we put out but do be careful as they would probably come into the cabin with no fear of the occupants inside.
The staff are very friendly and will assist with any issues or problems as we found with the speed and efficiency a problem with our shower was sorted.
The cabin was nice and warm and the central heating is fixed and comes on frequently during the day and also comes on during the night to take the edge of any cooler temperatures.
The staff try and assist with making the roads around the park accessible when the snow comes with a little factor with snow plough and some salt coverage.
The park is advertised as an adults only park and the only thing we found strange having stayed in similar venues before as the fact that visitors have to check in at reception, leave their vehicles in the car park and are only allowed to visit between 9.30am and 4.30pm and then have to leave.
This is attributed to the fire regulations by the park so can see some of the reasoning in it.
All in all a very nice location, quiet and relaxing and well worth a stay.
Many thanks to all the staff and we will probably make another visit perhaps in warmer months.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews