We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (961)
Filter reviews
961 results
Traveler rating
797
113
25
11
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
797
113
25
11
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river cigar room turn down service a river view room rooms are beautiful modern amenities star hotel memorable stay wonderful hotel junior suite up to date mini bar buffet breakfast old town upon check central location concierge
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 961 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2018

Stayed at Les Trois Rois for two nights prior to a Rhine river cruise. Everything stated here is correct: the hotel is a 5-star property, and the rooms, food, service and all amenities reflect that quality.
We have been fortunate enough to have traveled a fair amount, and also lucky to have been able to stop at some of the world's best hotels; I have to say that the Kings was among the top 5 in every category I can think of: from the welcome gift of a long-stemmed rose for myself and our 13-year old granddaughter; to the soft slippers and sumptuous bathrobes (which actually FIT all of us!); to the exquisite orchid plants on the table and desk; the plate of perfectly ripe fresh fruit replentished each morning; the free fully-stocked mini bar; the fresh water supplied twice a day.
On top of all that, the room was large enough to accommodate our king-size bed, a rollaway bed for the teenager, two upholstered chairs, a desk and a bureau - and there was still ample room to walk around. The marble bathrooms with heated floors and towel bars was just beautiful, as were the exceptionally large bottles of shampoo, conditioner and body lotion. The walk-in shower was the last word in modern convenience, but the piece de resistance were the TV sets: the bedroom one was a 60-inch plasma that actually swiveled around ON ITS OWN to follow your position in the room (Big Brother might be watching?), and the bathroom had a TV set in the wall at the foot of the tub! And the spectacular Rhine river view outside our window didn't hurt, either.
We also received gifts from the hotel upon checking out. Can we spell "s-p-o-i-l-e-d"?

Room Tip: Go for the river view rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Fussbudget07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesTroisRois, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Dear Guest

We are overwhelmed to read your gracious review regarding your stay with us at the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois prior to your River cruise.

Especially we would like to thank you for taking the time of reviewing your time with us. At the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, we continuously strive to meet guest’s needs and expectations; therefore, your feedback is very important for us and highly appreciated.

We truly feel honoured by your feedback and are proud to read that we were able to create some beautiful memories and lasting impressions to you from the welcome rose at check-in to our homemade jam at check-out. Rest assured that we pass on your motivational words to our team and look forward to making your next stay with us just as special.

We are looking forward to spoil you again very soon. In the meantime, we remain with kindest regards from the Rhine river and wish you the very best.

Yours sincerely

Tanja Wegmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

In every way the best place to stay. Very friendly staff there. Perfect services! I go there quite often since 1998 and never was let down. Fantastic smokers lounge and the bar is amazing, especially the afternoon tea! a must in Basle!

Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
Thank cmhorlacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesTroisRois, Manager at Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Dear guest

Your loyalty to the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois is highly appreciated and we sincerely value your gracious words regarding your recent visit.

Especially we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stays in asel and for taking the time of reviewing it. At the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, we continuously strive to meet guest’s needs and expectations; therefore, your feedback is very important for us and highly appreciated. Your recommendation is a highly valued accomplishment –thank you!

Rest assured that we pass on your motivational words to our team and look forward to making your next stays with us just as special.

We are looking forward to welcoming you many more times at the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois. In the meantime, we remain with kindest regards from the Rhine river and wish you the very best.

Yours sincerely

Tanja Wegmann
General Manager



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

A beautiful hotel (the only 5* in Basel) with an amazing location and formidable views. Overseeing the Rhine river and a stone throw for most of Basel’s old town attractions, the hotel is also host to a 3* Michelin restaurant, a brasserie, a beautiful outdoor terrasse and café, a well equipped gym, a cozy cigar lounge... Our room was comfortable and big, facing the river with a large balcony, and offering high-end equipments and amazing amenities (free open mini bar, B&O TV, separate WC, electric shades, high-end bathroom amenities, turndown service, etc.).
We booked a Week-End Des Rois stay which included a four courses dinner at the Brasserie and buffet breakfast. Service was extraordinary and food delicious.
Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank chayato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesTroisRois, Manager at Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for having chosen our historic hotel with a young heart for your stay in Basel and for your kind words reviewing it.

It is a great pleasure to read that you valued the central location as well as our restaurants at the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois. Your fine description of our rooms with overlooking the Rhine river is highly appreciated and we hope that those beautiful memories will last for some time.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back and to pamper you again for another Weekend des Rois. In the meantime we are sending you our best wishes.

Warm regards

Tanja Wegmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 June 2018

Beautiful hotel in ideal location, we had a room with balcony overlooking the river, perfect for relaxing and enjoying the view. The staff were friendly and helpful without being obsequious, which is often the case in this class of hotel. Expensive hotel but worth every Swiss franc. Will definitely return!

Room Tip: River side is best.
Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank John e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesTroisRois, Manager at Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Dear John

Thank you very much for having chosen the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois for your recent stay in Basel as well as for having taken your precious time to share your impressions with this wonderful review.

We are delighted that we were able to convince you in every aspect from arrival to departure, as we are striving to provide each single guest a truly remarkable experience during his visit.

It would be with great pleasure to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois and convince you again of our attentive as well as discreet service. In the meantime, we remain with kindest regards from the Rhine river and wish you the very best.

Yours sincerely

Tanja Wegmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Don’t expect big rooms or lots of service this is Swiss style. No one falling over you here and expensive for what you get but so is everything in Switzerland and Basel. Order room service breakfast. Nice restaurant and view of the Rhine. City rooms are noisy opt for Rhine rooms

Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesTroisRois, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear Steven

Thank you very much for having chosen our historic hotel with a young heart spirit for your stay in Basel as well as for your kind words reviewing your time with us.

It is a great pleasure to read that you valued the great location, our calm rooms overlooking the Rhine as well as our elegant ambiance and the attentive yet personal service at the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois. We highly appreciate your motivating words and compliments.

We sincerely hope your stay remains memorable for a long time and that we may welcome you back very soon in order to create some new ones. Until then we send you our best wishes.

Best regards,

Tanja Wegmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews