We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day exploring Lucca on bikes”

Tuscany Ride a Bike
Book In Advance
More Info
US$69.27*
and up
Lucca - Pisa biking in the nature
Ranked #4 of 25 Outdoor Activities in Lucca
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The experience accumulated over ten years of activity allowsus to offer models suited to every need: from a simple ride in a historical town center closed to traffic to the challenging excursion on the road or off-road. We can also offer many services like: luggage handling, transfers, home delivery, guide and mechanical assistance. And more
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

If you’re visiting Lucca for the day, Tuscany Ride a Bike is conveniently located near a castle wall entry (put Via Elisa into your sat nav) with plenty of reasonably priced parking. It’s then a 5-minute walk to the bike hire.

Tuscany Ride a Bike had a few kids pedal bike options and helmets for our 4yo, which is very hard to find with bike rentals.

We were fitted for bikes, showed our ID (just a copy taken) and could pay on return instead of estimating how long we thought we’d rent the bikes for. This was great service - we ended up spending three hours on the bike.

The castle wall path is great for adults and children alike, and with so many playgrounds and cafes near the wall, it’s a day well spent in Lucca. We also explored within the city walls and it was very bike friendly.

A fantastic and very reasonably priced way to spend a day exploring Lucca.

Date of experience: June 2018
4  Thank ladyl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"beautiful countryside"
in 5 reviews
"hill climbs"
in 2 reviews
"shorter route"
in 2 reviews
"self guided tour"
in 2 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 4 reviews
"visiting lucca"
in 4 reviews
"hire"
in 14 reviews
"andrea"
in 14 reviews
"winery"
in 10 reviews
"helmets"
in 7 reviews
"garmin"
in 3 reviews
"hybrid"
in 3 reviews
"gravel"
in 4 reviews
"cycling"
in 9 reviews
"company"
in 8 reviews
"tuscany"
in 12 reviews
"newbies"
in 2 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2017

A fun way to see the countryside of Lucca (Colline Lucchesi wine region) with a roughly 15 mile total bike ride labeled the 'Easy' bike/wine tour. My husband and I both bike at home regularly, but we found this tour to provide us more than enough of a challenge, particularly since this was our first time biking in Italy. The first portion of the trip is getting out of Lucca, so you have to navigate the city streets - all very doable, but can be an adjustment when you are used to biking in U.S. roads. Our guide Marco was very friendly and stayed with us throughout the ride. We really liked the route he took us providing us a longer path to the winery with most of the hill climbs on the way there, and a shorter route on the way back. This was particularly nice after sampling so many wines. The wines themselves were fantastic! We would suggest carrying a small backpack to carry a bottle home, though Marco offered to carry a bottle for us too. Overall, a delightful way to spend the day. The bikes are good quality, helmets were provided (though only tourists seem to wear helmets in Italy) and water bottles as a gift. One friendly note we would have, is to not try to catch the 2pm train leaving - we made it, but just barely. The bike trip will take you from 9:30am to just after 2pm, so plan accordingly. And why rush, stay in Lucca and shop after!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank hawaii_chic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 October 2017

We organized a large cycling group (17 people) at a lovely villa near Lucca. This was to be a self guided tour with routes out and back from the villa. We were able to procure a number of hybrid, road and e-bikes from Tuscany Ride a Bike as well as the services of a support vehicle in case we had problems. Generally the bikes were good. We had the inevitable problems with a few but they were dealt with quickly. Our support person, Johnny, was fabulous and was able to rescue a few of us who were defeated by the hills as well as carry our various wine purchases back to the villa. I think the main issue was the lack of routes that we might follow. Despite numerous asks about the availability of routes in the region, none were forthcoming. This was somewhat surprising from a company that makes its living from renting bikes in the area. We had some idea of routes from previous research with Google Maps but inevitably we were on busy roads at certain points or did not take the more scenic option. A list of routes with descriptions and maps would have enhanced the experience immeasurably. So, if you know where you are going, do give them a try. If you are completely new to the area, perhaps check some other suppliers who might be able to provide a some good scenic routes in the area.

There is a route we found called the Bio Giro that goes throughout the area. It is signed but not very well. Ideally it would be nice to have a description of this route with maps as it seems to hit many of the nicer towns and uses quieter roads. Also, for newbies, be aware there are some serious hills in the area! Very scenic to be sure.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Keithster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 September 2017

The area deserves better than just trips by car!

Together with friend we therefore rented trekking bikes for a week to discover Lucca and the area.

These 27-speed bikes were excellent and enabled us to make bike trips to discover the area, e.g. to Pisa and some trips with pretty steep (anyhow for us) and longer climbs and descents. The bikes did not prove any problem.

The staff was very nice and helpful.

When returning to Lucca, we will certainly return to Tuscany Ride a Bike for our bike rental.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Grovertje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

I rent a race bike for my son, who happens to be a competitive cyclist. It was delivered in the hotel and picked up again. Good qualitity Willier bike, with tyre replacement kit and two new drinking bottles. Payment via Paypal. Very efficient!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Kurt_188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuscany Ride a Bike also viewed

 
Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Tuscany Ride a Bike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing