We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,857)
Filter reviews
1,857 results
Traveler rating
1,308
458
63
14
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,308
458
63
14
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station room overlooking the piazza beautiful hotel beautiful piazza rooftop terrace arriving by train breakfast room junior suite beautiful room within walking distance perfect location short walk old world favorite hotel sitting room breakfast staff major attractions
Filter
Updating list...
370 - 375 of 1,857 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2015 via mobile

We loved this place for the most part. A good location in a nice old building. The public areas were very nice. Beautiful large room with a gorgeous bathroom. The service was great and the breakfast was really good. But the wifi was awful and why can't they manage to have an iron and ironing board available? Instead they wanted 25 euros to touch up a suit jacket.

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 810patrickg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMNovella, The Management at Santa Maria Novella Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2015

Dear Sir,
we thank you for taking time to report your experience at the Hotel Santa Maria Novella , and we are glad to know that your enjoyed your stay. We inform you that for fire prevention law is forbidden to hire in the room. We are sorry to know that you had some problem with the internet access and we apologize for that , normally there is a good signal . We thank you for leaving your comments that are very welcome in order to improve our level of service.
Best Regards
Manuela Bianchi – Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 September 2015 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised by our spacious room, king bed, and amazing shower in our bath. Delicious full breakfast served in the breakfast room---but get there early, as it can be crowded. Other than breakfast, no restaurant. However, the hotel is right on the Piazza Santa Maria Novella. We were able to easily walk the whole exquisite city.

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank susan4mat1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMNovella, The Management at Santa Maria Novella Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2015

Dear Madame,
first of all let us thank you for your comment. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation as well as our breakfast. We are just sorry to hear that sometimes during your stay you find the breakfast room crowded. Looking forward to welcoming you back we wish you a wonderful Winter.
Thank you and best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 September 2015

This hotel is very central and makes getting around so easy. We walked the entire time.

We had a beautiful room overlooking the Santa Maria Novella church and square.

The rooftop patio has an excellent view of the city. It made an excellent place to chat at the end of the day and watch the sun set over a bottle of Prosecco.

At times there were singers in the square which provided a beautiful musical backdrop.

Lovely place to stay.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 September 2015 via mobile

Beautiful former palace in lovely Santa Maria Novella square. Super close to the train station, very friendly and helpful staff. A rooftop terrace lovely for an evening glass of wine. Fantastic breakfast. Rooms very comfortable and nicely air conditioned. Centrally located, walking distance to everything. Lots of great restaurants right in Santa Maria Novella square.

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 September 2015

If there were more than 5 stars I would give more. The location was perfect for strolling through Florence to all the sights. My large room overlooked the square where there were concerts of 2 of the evenings. The staff were so friendly and professional; room was clean, bright, tea and coffee, bathroom robes; it was wonderful. Thank you all.

Room tip: Higher floor overlooking the Santa Maria Basilica
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CMMUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews