We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Priceline
Trip.com
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveler rating
299
8
1
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
299
8
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stayed longer we would have superb hotel former monastery breakfast service parking garage outdoor pool five star hotel the hotel offers narrow streets our honeymoon comfortable bed town walls breakfast was included gorgeous views wonderful place beautiful town steep hill
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 311 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2021

Wonderful hotel in Cortona, easy to walk around the town and explore the area. Raimondo was always accommodating and friendly as were the rest of the staff. We forgot that breakfast was included with the booking and were delightfully surprised at everything that was offered to us. The parking was a little tricky but the instructions provided by the hotel were very helpful in making sure we arrived to the destination. Thank you for a great stay!

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2021 via mobile

The Best !!! The most wonderful hotel in Cortona , beautifully renovated and maintained , wonderful view , amazing service. Located just a few hundred meters from the main square and all the best restaurants - cannot recommend this place enough - this was our second stay

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank JAMO1967ASKME
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2021

I've had the Monastero di Cortona hotel on my "hotel bucket list" for a few years now. We stayed for the first time in June 2021 and enjoyed it so much that we returned shortly thereafter for a longer stay in October 2021. This hotel is such a gem, and Cortona deserves (at least ) a few nights.

First and foremost, the staff is incredible. On both stays, we felt warmly welcomed and they were willing to help with any and everything, including how to navigate our (admittedly too big) car through the narrow streets and garage. (The directions they send in advance are much appreciated and very helpful!) The staff truly goes above and beyond to make you feel welcome, to help you get settled into Cortona, and to anticipate your every need. Carolina even scheduled a COVID test for us at the local pharmacy while we were out for the day... and followed up afterwards to make sure everything was fine!

Everything about this hotel exudes old world charm and luxury - from the reception room to the dining room to the guest rooms. The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed. The linens are so very soft and the mattress is downright luxurious. (Can I take the bed home?) Both of the rooms we stayed in had a view of the rooftops and countryside. It was mesmerizing at sunset. The bathroom has a large walk-in shower and wonderful spa amenities. They provide a luxuriously soft spa robe, as well as flip-flops and everything you need to go between your room and the spa/pool areas. Everything is beautifully branded and the different shades of white fit together to make the entire room feel peaceful and relaxing. The hotel offers turn down service in the evenings with a sweet treat. ( I LOVE the dark chocolate truffles, but make sure to try the white chocolate with mandarin - it's so incredible!) The rooms are very well designed with great attention to detail. You'll have everything you need for an absolutely perfect and romantic trip to Tuscany.

Currently, you have to make a reservation for the spa (and you'll want to do that!) in a two-hour block. You'll have access to the vitality pools and the sauna (at present). It is SO relaxing and the ambiance is magical. I've also booked the Mediterranean massage on both of our trips, and it's the perfect way to relax after a long day. The property also offers an outdoor plunge pool, which was refreshing in the summer, but we skipped in October. ;)

Our room rates included breakfast, but we didn't end up taking advantage of it because of long, leisurely, delicious dinners in the evening. I'm sure it's delicious though - the Monastero staff take so much care in everything they do.

You'll want to make reservations for the parking garage if you're driving. It's far easier to unload and reload in the garage than to take everything up the hill. (This was particularly true when we needed to figure out how to pack all the wine we bought to take home!)

Can't wait to be back!

Room tip: Book directly with the members club to receive additional perks and a possible room upgrade!
Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JourneyofDoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2021 via mobile

It was such a lovely week in Cortona at the Monastero di Cortona. The location, room and breakfast were fantastic. The staff was the best. Raimondo, Susanna and Carolina will take excellent care of you and do their best to make your stay in Cortona a memorable one.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank MarieC45
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2021

Our Suite was extraordinary...gorgeous bathroom, fabulous bedroom and very comfortable bed decor is meticulous. Beautiful outdoor terrace (Sadly the weather was too cold for us to enjoy it or the outdoor pool, but pretty to look at). Everything was top notch and the best part was the staff!!! Upon arrival we were stressed due to GPS not really giving great location and then had to drive on narrow streets to the hotel, but the staff kept their cool and made us feel comfortable immediately...Thank you all for a lovely stay! We can't wait to come back!!!

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TStanyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews