We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$176
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/09/21
Hotels.com
US$167
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/09/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Destinia.com
US$116
View deal
Expedia.comUS$167
eDreamsUS$176
TravelocityUS$167
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (651)
Filter reviews
651 results
Traveler rating
375
182
60
20
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
375
182
60
20
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews opera house great location street noise places to visit within walking distance on foot the main street balcony luggage city sights trattoria euro palace
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 651 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2020

The staff at the reception were very uncooperative and antipathetic. They gave us rooms at the second floor that were dirty and very badly maintained. A bed was broken. The shower was broken in another room. The glass was broken in two rooms. some of the rooms were stinking and not clean, When we asked to change they lied and said the hotel was full and than we found out that all the sicth floor was empty. when we asked for more pillows they said they don't have more pillows and later we found out they have a lot, and so forth.

Date of stay: August 2019
3  Thank vardi2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimo Plaza Hotel Palermo, Direttore generale at Massimo Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2020
Google Translation

Si tratta di una frode. Di una recensione FALSA. La struttura di cui si parla non è il Massimo Plaza Hotel. Tutto dimostrabile dal fatto che niente di cio' descritto corrisponde alla realta' dei fatti. Speriamo che questa recensione venga rimossa direttamente da tripadvisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 January 2020

We were at the hotel from Dec. 22 to Jan. 1 and it was perfect! The room was comfortable, the breakfast was delicious.
We purposefully chose to stay in one place and get to know the city, so while we didn't see a lot of the landmarks, we got to see the day to day little things that make traveling less whirlwind but, IMHO more rewarding.

We watched the shopkeeper who cleaned the sidewalk in front of his shop with a bucket of water every morning -- the townspeople who walked their dogs every morning -- the men hollering at each other at the farmers market.

We did travel to see the Roman baths, because they were near a small town we visited (Pietraperzia) where my husband's grandfather was from. My husband traveled to the castle, but it was unusually cold and icy, and they closed due to the inclement weather.

Most days, we had breakfast, went for a walk, visited a farmers market or a church or a store, then had lunch. We napped every day, woke for a late dinner and gelato.

There were a lot of events in the plaza so there was some night noise, but nothing that kept us awake.

Staff was incredible (especially when dealing with the very large grumpy man I am married to who couldn't figure out the TV!)

A real gem!

Room tip: The rooms with balconies allow for some great people watching!
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MicheleB4515
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimoplaza, Receptionist C. at Massimo Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2020

Dear Guest,

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Massimo Plaza Hotel, and that you particularly liked your room, our breakfast service and our staff.
We are even more excited about what you have noticed and appreciated about our beautiful city, thank you very much!

We hope to welcome you back to Palermo soon, it will be a real pleasure for all of us!

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 January 2020

We stayed 3 nights at Massimo Plaza, and this was our second visit to Palermo. The location of this hotel can't be beaten, its terrific, right in the centre of everything. We took the bus from the airport and walked 10mins to the hotel, its well signed and easy to find, just opposite the theatre. It is up stairs, but the wonderful staff will help with your bags, although there may be issues if you have mobility issues. The staff are terrific here, helpful, generous and quick to respond. The breakfast (we opted to have it in our room) was right on time, fresh, warm and delicious. There is some street noise( we asked for a room at the front with a balcony) but this stops around 10pm and I must say the talent of the bands playing was really good, we enjoyed listening to them.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimoplaza, Receptionist C. at Massimo Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Massimo Plaza Hotel and for taking the time for this kind review.
It is a real pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel: this is our mission!

We really look forward to welcoming you again and as soon as possible.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 November 2019 via mobile

Located directly across the street from the lovely opera house, this hotel could not be better situated to see the sights of Palermo on foot. Christian could not have been more helpful at check-in, providing excellent advice on nearby restaurants and also general advice on sights in Palermo as well as other locations in Sicily. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Date of stay: November 2019
3  Thank gracecpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimoplaza, Receptionist C. at Massimo Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel and for taking the time for this kind review.
It is a real pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel, this is our mission and, for this reason, we work every day with passion, commitment and professionalism to let our guests have a memorable stay.

We really look forward to welcoming you again and as soon as possible!

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 November 2019 via mobile

Great location!!! Stayed only one night. At first I was going to give this hotel 5 stars ( which I don’t hand out often) but I decided on 4 . The location for the price point can not be beat!! The room was very clean! The balcony was awesome. The Ac worked well as I still did need to turn it on for a bit. It was super clean too!!
Some of the staff seemed pretentious but most were great. It is too bad I could not check in early when I arrived as I had informed them of my arrival. Some stairs to bring luggage up at entrance but they offered help which was great.
The only reason I took a star off is the bed was very hard with that one sheet. Unfortunately, this is like most properties in Italy but sometimes I get lucky and fine a good bed
The noise on a Saturday night is very loud ( bands play on square till midnight) but no fault of the hotel. That is what u get when u choose such a great location.
They arrange a taxi to airport for 40 euro ( 30 min ride) which was great. And also a wake up call I I had to put ear plugs in with the noise. I actually would of loved sitting on my balcony enjoying the music but I had early flight.
It is a very nice hotel for solo travellers with a safe feeling.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
2  Thank BBcanada123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimoplaza, Receptionist C. at Massimo Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2019

Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to Palermo.
We are happy that you enjoyed our hotel, above for its location, cleanliness and the balcony overlooking the first Theater of Italy.
We are equally sorry for the "pretentious" addressed to some members of our staff, even if you had warned us of your early check in we had not guaranteed you the possibility of being able to have the room immediately upon your arrival as the check-out is until twelve o'clock.Therefore they only informed you about it.
We also thank you for the criticism of the hard bed, really we had never been told, we are carrying out the necessary checks.Although it does not appear to us as they are equipped with new-generation matarassi.


Thank you again for sharing your opinion about your experience here, we always treasure this.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews