We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$120
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/11/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$119
View deal
Trip.com
US$104
View deal
Hotels.comUS$119
travelup.comUS$214
eDreamsUS$120
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (915)
Filter reviews
915 results
Traveler rating
415
364
97
28
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
415
364
97
28
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel breakfast buffet old city hotel restaurant rooms are large via roma yogurt atrium convent sites alley grandeur palace
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 915 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2019

The first thing that we noticed was its position in the Old Town of Palermo located as it was between the Royal Palace and the harbour. As we were on a tour of historical and archaeological sites it was perfectly located. It seems from diagrams upstairs in the hotel that it had once been a Palace and/or a convent, or both. Consequently it was large with rooms around the large courtyard which could be closed to exclude the elements.

Initially, we found the breakfast buffet to be large but to be quite basic for a hotel of its apparent class: fruit juice drink,not fruit juice and limited hot items, until we found that we could get freshly squeezed Orange juice and individually cooked items, which made a great difference.

Fortunatel for us, sufficient numbers of the staff spoke English, as our Italian was awful.

Room tip: Our room faced a small street which was always quiet; I suspect all others are similar
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rex06
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piazzaborsa, Direttore at Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2020

Dear Guest,
thank you for writing your opinion about our hotel. We are really happy that you appreciated our location, in the heart of the city and above all the charm and the history of the Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa.
Thank' s also for appreciating our rich breakfast, with the great offer of food and drinks.
Looking forward to seeing you again, we send you our best regards.
Giovanni Pizzo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 October 2019

This hotel is in a converted bank which includes a grand lobby/open atrium. The location is fantastic. It is a 3 minute walk to Piazza di Marina, 6 minutes to Quattro Canto. You can walk throughout the old city from the hotel. Our room (339) had a lovely balcony. Breakfast is good and the staff is very attentive. Roberta and Leonardo at the front desk we’re unbelievable - gracious and helpful. They recommended two nearby restaurants including Quid. They also arranged a car to get to the airport which was very reasonable. This is the place to stay.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank C1719TXscottt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni Pizzo, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2020

Dear Guest,
we are very happy to know that your stay was enjoyable.
Thank' s for remembering the story of the Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa, located in the heart of Palermo, is a unique building composed of three adjoining structures: The Cassa Di Risparmio of 1900, a convent and church of Padri Mercedari Scalzi of 1500 and Palazzo Briuccia- cattolica of 1600, the union of three great epochs.
Thank' s also to write about the availability of our staff, usually kind and professional.
Sure to see you again, best regards.
Giovanni Pizzo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 October 2019 via mobile

We stayed here as it was the starting point for our Sicily tour. The hotel is in a great location and has a lovely courtyard area for relaxing in. Breakfast was included and there was a great range of food.
Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank Jlegg25
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 October 2019 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights part of the Targa Florio trip. Staff were courteous and polite . Was also my birthday and they upgraded me to the junior suite which I would recommend staying in. Beautiful room with private terrace with stunning views.
Lady at the reception who sent documents for me was very polite and professional and made the experience complete!
Would def stay here again with my family!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank Amarwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 October 2019

Beautiful hotel and well placed for a walk around Palermo, within walking distance of the train station and the Main Street. Efficiently run hotel - when we arrived they'd allocated us two ladies a double bed despite our original request for twin beds but soon changed our room. Could have been tricky as the new room was split level within lighting over the steps up to the bathroom, or handrail, but we were very aware of the dangers. Piano entertainment in the evening in the atrium was more for the player than the audience - not everyone likes random jazz - and we could hear from our bedroom. One criticism would be the restaurant - food ok, but ambience non-existent, with overhead lighting in a huge room more akin to a canteen. We ate out after the first night.

Room tip: Avoid atrium-facing room unless you like piano music at night, and avoid 3rd floor if you have mobility issues.
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Lavande658
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews