We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$232
View deal
Expedia.com
US$232
US$209
View deal
Hotels.com
US$232
US$209
View deal
eDreamsUS$232
CheapTicketsUS$209
TravelocityUS$209
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveler rating
129
17
1
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
129
17
1
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel terrace overlooking the square unique art breakfast was delicious fish market street centre bellini etna
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2019 via mobile

Hotel is lovely and certainly different. Rooms spacious and interesting! Staff very helpful and friendly and breakfast was delicious. Centrally placed and a market is on the doorstep. Would love to go back.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank carols33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsmundoDiGisira, Responsabile reception at Asmundo di Gisira, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2019

Dear Carol,
What a great pleasure for us to read your comment about your stay, we really appreciate the feedback of our guests because thanks to all the advices we can improve all the services to make the holiday as more relaxing possible .
We would like to let know to all the people, how beautiful is our land not only with our histories and legends especially connected with our art rooms but even with tasting all our products served during our breakfast coming from everywhere from Sicily .
Our position is very good and central, perfect if you want to reach most part of main monuments and other places not far from us, just few meters walking distances, good to discover the historical city centre.
All the Staff of Asmundo Di Gisira hope to welcome you again here for your next holiday in Catania.
Best Regards from all our part.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 October 2019

It's difficult to come up with the superlatives to describe this hotel - but I'll try! Wonderful design with various different styles of room - all look fab. The look and feel of the hotel is just brilliant. Ours had the biggest chandelier I've ever seen, right over our bed! Great breakfast, freshly made coffee and highly attentive staff. Hotel is in a fantastic location for exploring this beautiful and atmospheric city on foot, so much to see. Highly recommend taking an Etna trip, the Sicily invasion museum is worth checking out and Siracusa/Ortigia is an easy and interesting train ride away. Great local bar 50m away called "BarnOut" - visit for the decor alone!
All-in-all, we could not have had a better break......... the title of the review sums it up!

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlosF102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsmundoDiGisira, Responsabile reception at Asmundo di Gisira, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2019

Dear Carlos,
thanks a lot to share your opinion about us, we really appreciate it .
Each Art room tells a particular story and when you sleep inside it , you can feel the sensation like to be part of the story because everything you see here at Asmundo Di Gisira is perfectly studied in each detail and especially if we talk about our rooms, they remind all the legends and our Sicilian history .
The palace is located just on the heart of the historical city centre, so you can see and enjoy what the city offers without problems just leaving the car and going only by walking.
We hope to see you again soon for your next journey in Catania.
Regards from all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 October 2019

Wow what a amazing place this is! When opening the huge front door you are entering into a former palazzo with great art everywhere in and - even outside - the building. The staff is excellent, fast, efficient and very kind. We were staying in the junior suite on the upper floor. The room is big but a part of it has a very low ceiling which you can hardly use, although it looks fabulous. The breakfast was outstanding! The location could not be better, right next to the famous fish market. I would absolutely recommend this boutique hotel.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AdrianaRM53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsmundoDiGisira, Responsabile reception at Asmundo di Gisira, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2019

Dear Adriana,
We thank you so much for the words of appreciation you reserved to Asmundo Di Gisira, and we are glad that our mission hit you! In point of fact, we always try to mix and balance the historical tradition of the area we are located into and the art design of the modern times giving, at the same time, the most unique, enjoyable and comfortable experience possible to our guest. We hope, so, to have you again as our guest, letting you profit to new and art exposure and our assistance.
Warm Regards
All the Staff of Asmundo Di Gisira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 October 2019

This hotel is absolutely outstanding! One of the best places we've stayed in Sicily by far.

Situated right in the heart of Catania, this hotel is the perfect combination of an immaculately refurbed 18th century building and curated modern art.

What we particularly love is the story each room is telling through its decoration. We were in the elephant room, symbol of the city. The wall was made with ceramics from Caltagirone and imitating the skin of the elephant. Our bathroom had 25 mirrors to represent the mage enchantments, where truth and lies chase and hide from each other to finally find serenity in the escape, as the legend tells... an absolutely amazing experience.

And finally I have to mention the art! Art is literally everywhere in this hotel and you can by any piece you like! All arts have been sourced by the owner and is made by the locals - the best way to discover in one single location the best local artist and jewels!

The service was top notch, the two ladies we interacted with at reception were super helpful and gave us great advice on things to do and see, local restaurants to go to and even private beaches.

Breakfast in the morning was great; a lot of choice, great coffee and a lovely terrace overlooking a plaza.

And I almost forgot this hotel has a great rooftop terrace with sun beds and amazing views on the city roofs!

Dont think twice, go go go to this hotel! We will definitively go back!

Room tip: Try to get a room on the second floor as you will have less noise from the street!
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexandraB1156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsmundoDiGisira, Responsabile reception at Asmundo di Gisira, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2019

Dear Alexandra thanks you for leaving here some such a nice words connected to your stay at Asmundo Di Gisira! We are happy that you found everything perfect. Most part of the things inside here are created and born, as yourself said, from the main and original idea of the owner with his personal touch and choices from the small object to the big piece of art in collaboration with architects and artists to have an incredible final result that all can see not only inside the art rooms where most part of our guests sleep but even into our common areas starting from the reception to the roof top terrace.
It was pleasure for us to have you as our guests and thanks a lot from all our staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 September 2019

Great location in the heart of Catania. Very interesting decor with lots of artwork. Large bedroom with very comfy bed. Large shower in a well designed bathroom with quality toiletries. Lovely outside space, delicious breakfast and Marsala wine and nibbles for a nightcap.The lift is a real bonus as there were 80 stairs up to my room which wouldn’t have been fun with my suitcase! The staff were all lovely and very helpful.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsmundoDiGisira, Responsabile reception at Asmundo di Gisira, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2019

Dear Margaret, we thank you so much for your warm comments! It helps us in mixing the history and tradition of Catania with the design and the art you can find in our structure, trying to balance them and make our guests living a wonderful and unrepeatable experience between the most original and genuine history of the city and the innovation of Asmundo Di Gisira.
Waiting for having you again as our guests, we send
Kind Regards

Asmundo Di Gisira Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews