We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly owner warms your heart with cool gelato”

Gelateria Pasticceria peter pan
Ranked #4 of 55 Coffee & Tea in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Castello
Description: Gelateria, Pasticceria, Biscotteria Tipica Italiana, Produciamo Tutti I Nostri Prodotti Artigianalmente Direttamente Nel Nostro Negozio.
Reviewed 10 August 2018

The Gelato shop is a bit off of the beaten path near Castello, but is worth going if you are in the area. The gelato is very good- not the best you'll ever try in Italy and others might have more choice of flavors, but it is real gelato at very reasonable prices.

The real reason this place is special is the owner. When he sees you the first time, his big smile and friendly greeting warms your heart. He'll let you try (even insist) as many of his gelatos as you'd like before choosing and seems to get as much enjoyment out of every single customer who tries his gelato. We went back the next day and he jumped up like he was greeting a long lost friend. He was behind the counter so couldn't actually hug us, but it FELT like we were being hugged. He's a special guy. BTW- he doesn't seem to speak a word of English and was streaming Italian (which we unfortunately understand very little) the entire time we were with him, but it didn't seem to bother either of us. We made it a point to go nearly every day when we were there.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MarcC720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

There was absolutely nothing wrong with this little gelateria but I simply don’t understand how anyone can rave about it. I took the outstanding reviews to heart and insisted my family follow me through the little streets on a sweltering hot afternoon to find it and, honestly, I’ve had better gelato in England. I wouldn’t say don’t go but don’t expect anything out of the ordinary.

1  Thank Twinklyjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

Hands down best gelato shop in Venice. Not only is the gelato great, but the owner is so sweet and enthusiastic, he made us feel so welcomed. I tried to tip him for the great service but he wouldn’t let me! Go today! And get the pistachio, it’s amazing!

Thank AlisonS2937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manola_dolo, Proprietario at Gelateria Pasticceria peter pan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018
Google Translation

Grazie mille della sua recensione, siamo molto felici siate rimasti soddisfatti dei nostri prodotti... vi aspettiamo di nuovo alla vostra prossima visita a Venezia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

Flavors are out of this world! Strawberry and melon were my favorite! 10 minutes walk from st mark park

Thank Jorge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manola_dolo, Proprietario at Gelateria Pasticceria peter pan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018
Google Translation

Grazie mille della sua recensione, siamo molto felici siate rimasti soddisfatti dei nostri prodotti... vi aspettiamo di nuovo alla vostra prossima visita a Venezia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

If you are looking for some fabulous cookies, this is the place to go. The owners are so nice and friendly. The chocolate and lemon cookies are incredible. Just a short walk from St. Mark’s Square, you should stop here for a great little snack!

Thank asvitale7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manola_dolo, Proprietario at Gelateria Pasticceria peter pan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018
Google Translation

Grazie mille della sua recensione, siamo molto felici siate rimasti soddisfatti dei nostri prodotti... vi aspettiamo di nuovo alla vostra prossima visita a Venezia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelateria Pasticceria peter pan also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Gelateria Pasticceria peter pan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing