We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boasts it's the best and doesn't disappoint”
Review of Gelateria il Doge

Gelateria il Doge
Ranked #11 of 85 Dessert in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Dorsoduro / Accademia
Description: In the eastern corner of the Campo Santa Margherita square, it is run by two cousinswho make their own seasonal gelatos and ices, and it has to be one of the the very best gelaterias in Venice! Read your forum for more on this one.
Durban
Level 6 Contributor
448 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Boasts it's the best and doesn't disappoint”
Reviewed May 28, 2016 via mobile

It's tough to rate an ice cream but truly this Italian Gelateria is great. Tucked away in a corner while walking from Piazza Roma to San Marco Rialto it's easily found and since its roughly half way makes a good stop to enjoy a scoop or two. Cone or cup.

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
Thank NauticalVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    88
    31
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed May 28, 2016

We went to this gelateria after dining at an Osteria in Campo Santo Margherita. The ice creams are delicious, don't taste too 'eggy' - I'm not a fan of raw egg - and have lovely natural flavours. The staff are friendly too.

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
Thank Jessies_Grandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Ice cream”
Reviewed May 24, 2016 via mobile

We tried the Carmel, which was good but we heard the cherry is amazing!! Would like to go back and try new flavours. Easy to find and on a lovely square.

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
Thank LJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Gelato”
Reviewed May 23, 2016 via mobile

Ok, so my kids and I have been eating gelato a couple times a day. I didn't think I would be writing a review on gelato, but this place happens to have the best gelato in Venice. What made it the best? The flavors were more intense than everywhere else. Nice job il Doge!!

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
Thank kent d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and delicious gelato!”
Reviewed May 20, 2016

Creamy, flavoursome and fresh gelato - what else can one ask for? My friend and I tried a few of the flavours - I would recommend pistachio and the orange/chocolate ones. We visited both il Doge gelaterie in Venice and the staff were very friendly and helped to choose the best flavours. A good quality treat!

  • Visited May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rūta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelateria il Doge also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Gelateria il Doge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing