We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Gelato”
Review of Gelateria il Doge

Gelateria il Doge
Ranked #11 of 85 Dessert in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Dorsoduro / Accademia
Description: In the eastern corner of the Campo Santa Margherita square, it is run by two cousinswho make their own seasonal gelatos and ices, and it has to be one of the the very best gelaterias in Venice! Read your forum for more on this one.
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Gelato”
Reviewed May 23, 2016 via mobile

Ok, so my kids and I have been eating gelato a couple times a day. I didn't think I would be writing a review on gelato, but this place happens to have the best gelato in Venice. What made it the best? The flavors were more intense than everywhere else. Nice job il Doge!!

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
Thank kent d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    88
    31
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and delicious gelato!”
Reviewed May 20, 2016

Creamy, flavoursome and fresh gelato - what else can one ask for? My friend and I tried a few of the flavours - I would recommend pistachio and the orange/chocolate ones. We visited both il Doge gelaterie in Venice and the staff were very friendly and helped to choose the best flavours. A good quality treat!

  • Visited May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rūta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Best Gelato in Venice”
Reviewed May 19, 2016

Lots to choose, and so delicious. definitely the best in Venice. Found it by accident, and wish we had not spent so long looking for another Gelateria which was rubbish.

  • Visited May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed May 18, 2016

Great selection! Wonderful ice cream. Went there too often. They have some seasonal selections that are really great!

Visited July 2015
Helpful?
Thank Georgiana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meppershall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Best ice cream in the world - probably! ”
Reviewed May 16, 2016 via mobile

We read the trip advisor reviews after stumbling across this Gelateria. One of the two owners was serving and I went with the house special. It was fantastic, although incredibly calorific!
Find this place and enjoy.

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
Thank shilstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelateria il Doge also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Gelateria il Doge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing