We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ice cream in the world - probably! ”
Review of Gelateria il Doge

Gelateria il Doge
Ranked #11 of 85 Dessert in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Dorsoduro / Accademia
Description: In the eastern corner of the Campo Santa Margherita square, it is run by two cousinswho make their own seasonal gelatos and ices, and it has to be one of the the very best gelaterias in Venice! Read your forum for more on this one.
Meppershall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Best ice cream in the world - probably! ”
Reviewed May 16, 2016 via mobile

We read the trip advisor reviews after stumbling across this Gelateria. One of the two owners was serving and I went with the house special. It was fantastic, although incredibly calorific!
Find this place and enjoy.

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
Thank shilstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    88
    31
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
TN
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic Array of Creamy Flavors”
Reviewed May 11, 2016

There are a lot of gelaterias throughout Venice; most seem to be chains and akin to maybe going to Pizza Hut when you really want Chicago style pizza. Il Doge looked and tasted like an honest to goodness gelato shop that makes gelato fresh daily, and in flavors that aren't the same pistachio, chocolate, lemon or tiramisu that everyone else serves. We were staying at an apartment nearby and we had gelato here a few times, and had flavors like licorice, dark chocolate chili, orange chocolate, and frutta di bosca - all amazing!

This was a great find "close to home" and I would highly recommend bypassing all those chains in favor of Il Doge!

  • Visited April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mombogogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level 6 Contributor
403 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Super gelato”
Reviewed May 5, 2016 via mobile

Stumbled across this place and were really delighted with our encounter. Great choice of flavours, rich and creamy gelato.
So good we went back again the next day so I could try the gianduitto which is their Baci with whipped cream and chic sauce.
Nice setting by the canal in a little square where you can watch the gondolas go past. What's not to love?

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
Thank BerkshireWomble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Outstanding ice cream!”
Reviewed May 1, 2016 via mobile

I can't explain how delicious these ice creams were! My family of four all had two scoops each and we loved them - really good quality, creamy ice cream with a large variety of flavours. A lovely destination as well, we sat outside on a bench in the square. Can't recommend it enough!! Definitely worth the visit.

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
Thank Emiky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Better than most”
Reviewed April 3, 2016 via mobile

Slightly off the beaten track but this icecream shop is worth seeking out, very fresh flavours and generous scoops.

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
Thank k.j.e.b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelateria il Doge also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Gelateria il Doge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing