We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel albeit a little tired”
Review of Hotel Pausania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Pausania
Ranked #167 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed May 3, 2017

Hotel Pausania is a very good hotel, centrally located, with loads and loads of character. But, it is a little tired in places. I've just returned from a 3 night City Break in Venice, with my wife and 19 year old step-daughter. Consequently, it was a double room for me and my wife and a single room for the step daughter. Whilst all the room facilities were all there, they were somewhat lacking.

I know that every country has a different definition as to what constitutes a 3 star, 4 star, etc, and that everyone has a different personal perspective as to those standards. The Hotel Pausania is listed as a 3 star property. Personally, I think that might just a little generous. For instance, in our bathroom, there were a couple of shower fixtures that were broken, and looked liked they had been for sometime. There also appeared to be some sort of radio player built into a bedside cabinet. I don't think it was as old as the Hotel itself, but it did date back to a time long since gone. To compound the issue, it didn't work!

Please don't get me wrong, these are very minor issues, but we did feel that it detracted from what is obviously a fantastic example Venetian architecture.

But, by far, the best part about the Hotel Pausania were the staff. Pleasant, courteous and friendly. For instancee, we had an early appointment for a tour on the second morning of our stay in Venice. The start time meant that we would've missed out on breakfast at the hotel. I mentioned this at reception, and the staff agreed to put breakfast on for the 3 of us early, in order that we didn't miss out. The staff didn't have to do this for us, and I've stayed in plenty of hotels around the world where this would not have happened. But, the staff at Hotel Pausania went 'the extra mile' for us, and we'd like to say thank you so much for doing so.

Overall, the Hotel Pausania is centrally located and is a fantastic example of 'old' Venice. Central Venice is very definitely walkable from the hotel, and access to water buses is plentiful.

If sleeping in beds with sheets and blankets, surrounded by rustic charm doesn't bother you, then the Hotel Pausania may just serve your needs for a short stay in Venice.

Without a doubt though, the staff more than make up for any potential shortcomings that the hotel has!

Room Tip: If you have any issues climbing steep staircases mention this when you book this hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chris1932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpausania, Responsabile reception at Hotel Pausania, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2017

Dear Sirs
Thank you very much for your kind review and we are happy that your stay in our Hotel was pleasant
We hope to see you at the Pausania again
Best regards
Maria Grazia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Pausania
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 457 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2017

Extremely well located and charmingly situated next to the canal.Hotel is typical Venetian in architecture.The rooms are grand with beautiful high ceilings comfortable bed and very quiet. Bathroom was small but clean and manageable.Breakfast was continental buffet with the best cappuccino.The hotel staff were friendly and willing to help us at anytime.The hotel has real character and location for restaurants bars and everything you need and want visit so convenient.We would certainly go back to this hotel.Its a winner...

Room Tip: Ask for a large bathroom
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garybr0wn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpausania, Responsabile reception at Hotel Pausania, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2017

Dear Sirs
we really thank you so much for your review and we are happy to have had the possibility to make your stay in Venice pleasant and relaxing.
We hope to do our job always better and we wait for your next visit
Thank you again
Maria Grazia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2017 via mobile

We've just got back from a short break at this hotel. We are a family of 2 adults and 2 teenagers and all stayed in a family room, which had loads of space for the four of us. The room was clean and well equipped and our room had what seemed like a new bathroom. The Hotel itself is located canal side a short walk from St Marks square, but in a far less touristy area. It felt like staying in 'real Venice' and we were always glad to get back at the end of the day! There are plenty of nice restaurants both in the street parallel to the hotel and across the bridge in the little square. Breakfast was a good continental offering with everything you would expect, and staff on the desk were always helpful. We would definitely love to stay again!

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank TheWardfamily2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2017

This hotel has lots of character, but facilities need a bit of updating.

Continental breakfast is provided in the garden room which is light and airy.

Staff were also helpful.

Good location near to bars and restaurants and within 5 minute walking distance of a vaparetto stop.

Room Tip: Maybe not good for people who have difficulty with stairs, as most rooms are on 1st or 2nd floor via...
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Annette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2017

So, we booked this hotel ahead of better rated hotels based on the area and the amenities of Dosorduro. This worked. A great little location in which you can explore the attractions of this beautiful city. However, despite its cleanliness, great outdoor, wonky staircase and great location, this hotel is let down by the poor attitude of the staff on the reception and in the breakfast room. We felt that everything was too much trouble and found the man on duty on Saturday night (18th March), quite put out that we wanted a drink in the lounge that disturbed him watching the football in the same room! The breakfast was shockingly bad, but acceptable if you like powdered juice and little fresh fruit! Again, the boy on duty seemed very disinterested in creating a welcoming atmosphere. The owner of this hotel needs to question the professionalism of her staff to assure future bookings. A shame really as it really is a quaint little hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank f00die17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Tiziano
Hotel Tiziano
#72 of 385 in Venice
509 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Sole
Hotel Al Sole
#128 of 385 in Venice
908 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
San Sebastiano Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#125 of 385 in Venice
510 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#100 of 385 in Venice
487 reviews
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pausania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pausania

Address: 2824 Dorsoduro | Fondamenta Gerardini, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#97 Family Hotel in Venice
#131 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: ₱4,168 - ₱18,816 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pausania 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This palace was a rich and magnificent residence of an aristocratic Venetian family, now it is an elegant and refined 3 stars Hotel, completely restored. The Hotel enjoys of an interesting position, preferred by the intellectuals and artists, searching for quiet and inspiration. Inside the Hotel, at the entrance, there is a stoned staircase that goes from the lobby to the second floor, once called "piano nobile", where there are some rooms. The intelligent restoration has effected a correct and balanced compromise between aesthetical demands and the non-renounced functional requirements, essential an hotel that wants to keep step with the times. The rooms, in typical Venetian style,are furnished with elegance and good taste, with all comforts (private bathroom with bathtub, hairdryer, cable TV, direct dial telephone, mini-bar, air-conditioned, coffee and thea machine). Our clients can also enjoy of a lightly and roomy sitting-room on the second floor, a bar on the ground floor with a free internet point, and a nice and big veranda overlooking the garden, where the buffet breakfast is served in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Pausania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pausania Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing