We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back”
Review of Hotel Colombina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Colombina
Ranked #53 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2017

Staff is very helpful, the location is great. I was taking my mother on a trip of a lifetime and this hotel played a part in making it just that! Our room was charming and we were not in main hotel. We thought it was perfect and cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cynthia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,899)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 42 of 1,900 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2017

My wife and I fell in love with this Hotel, it was our first time in Venice and it won't be the last. What can I say about the staff they are so friendly and accommodating. I recommend this Hotel to anyone who wants to stay in a beautiful and charming place a few minutes away from Piazza San Marco.

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank Bruno V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017

We traveled to Italy June 21st-30th. We spent 1 night in Venice as we arrived at 930am via plane and took the water taxi to the Hotel which sits on the canal with the Bridge of Sigh!!!! Best hotel, service, quality, venetian charm. Also the hotel had a landing/sitting area outside its door so that you could sit and watch all the gondoliers go by. Its what Venice should be. It was amazing. They all speak English so no language barrier at all. We had 2 rooms as we traveled with our grown kids, 22 and 18yrs old. Their rooms had twins and my husband and I a King. It had all the amenities a room should:
Flat screen tv, toiletries but no conditioner, shampoo yes, slippers with Hotel Colombina on them, refrigerator, turn down service etc.
The concierge made a dinner reservation for us but we never used it, we ended up eating at Dal Moro, believe it or not its a 3 minute walk around the corner from the hotel over another bridge walkway, cash or credit card, its all homemade pasta from scratch and its in a box to go. We got our pasta $6 Euros a box with whatever toppings and grabbed a beer and wine and brought it back to the hotel, sat outside ate and watched the gondola's go by, so great.They took cash and credit. There is a line well worth it.

Across the bridge from our hotel, is another hotel on the left, courtyard and bar, we sat out there for drinks and snacks and took pictures with our hotel in the background as its the only way to get a clear shot of it if not from the bridge. Great service there, just a beautiful little terraced garden with tables chairs etc.

FYI when in Italy, all the hotels have key cards, not only do they open the door, they put the electricity on in your room, so you put the key in the door, then put the key card into the wall slot leave it in) that lights up the room, don't pull out the card and leave with someone left behind, as all the lights will shut off and leave you in the dark. AC worked fantastic, we had it cranked as it was low 90's. Beautiful lobby, greeted by the bellman off the water taxi who took our bags, they do have an elevator and stairs, we were on the 2nd floor. Our room had wood beams and was up a small staircase on the 2nd floor, but the room was big, shower had a rain shower head and a handheld one as well. All Italian hotels have bidets and towels that look like dishtowels that aren't as absorbent but used those as my hair towel and the regular towels were big white and fluffy!

Had a sitting area opposite the check in, small quaint and then through a small hall a lounge/bar and beyond that room was the dining room for breakfast etc. Our breakfast was included in the cost, excellent, had everything you needed, fresh fruit, meats cheeses, eggs, pastries, coffee and juice. Drink the oj there in Italy, its so good.

When you order a drink at the bar take it to the lounge and they bring you a tray of nuts/chips etc, rather nice, all the hotels in Italy give your free apps/snacks with your drinks.

We sat outside on the bench and had a drink and watched the gondola's go by and can see the bridge of sigh pretty cool, its the best location. Walking distance to all the piazza's and other little alley ways to get you to San Marco, literally a 2 min walk. We walked to the Rialto Bridge, don't ask me how but we got there.

FYI by 3pm most restaurants close an re open at 7pm. So if you are hungry there are plenty of cafe's but they reheat the food, the gelato on the Plaza in San Marco was just ok, tourtist trap, google best gelato and the gelato should NOT be MOUNDED high, lower quality, flat bins are better quality.

Also don't eat somewhere where it says con gelato (frozen, made that mistake in Sorrento), go where the food on the menu is all fresh!

When we arrived at the hotel the person checking us in asked us if we wanted to do a private boat ride from the hotel at 530 or 9pm, we chose 530pm, as we were jet lagged. It was $140 Euro's for the 4 of us, so $35 each and then we tipped him, its unguided ride just the 4 of us,he didn't speak English, just takes you down canals and parts that the gondola's don't go, so well worth it, glad we did it.

Also that is Cash Only, no credit cards. The Gondolas are one flat rate for 30 mins, $80 Euro or $70 can't remember then we tipped him on top of that. Its for your whole party, so if you have 1 person or 6 its the same flat rate, well worth it, again CASH! I went through $300 Euro's in one day in Venice between the gondola $90 and the boat ride $140, plus we walked up the bell tower in San Marco Square, $8 Euro's each, that was $32 total, that was an elevator to the top, so worth the views!!!!

Advice about $$$ Go to a BANK ATM not a regular ATM, work with your bank at home, ours waived the fee 3% conversion rate, so long as we went to a bank that had an ATM, have the bank at home up your withdrawal, for 10 days $1000 Euro's was all we needed, ( by mistake i took out $300 not realizing how much cash i needed in venice, so next time take out $1000 and that should hold you the whole week or longer) spent the most Euro's in Venice and in Sorrento, the rest of the time we could use credit cards, but some of best restaurants too Cash only. We tipped the housekeeping staff in Eruos. USD 1.00 Euro 1.11 so very close.

Venice is amazing and we'd been 30 yrs ago and so much has changed, cleaner, nicer, saw a ton in the 12 hours we were there before taking a water taxi to get to the train station to head to Florence. Buy things there that are from there. We blew off the Murano Glass company, I had bought glass 30 yrs ago for $40 then worth over$100 now and so over manufactured its everywhere. We didn't waste time going but if you've never been, then go.

Hotel Colombina, excellent service, food, quality hospitality I'd go again to the same place and highly recommend it to all my friends. They get tourism!!!

Beds were clean and comfortable but being up for 40 hours i'd have fallen asleep anywhere!

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 46oceangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017

My mother and I stayed here back in May and had a great experience. The location was perfect for those who want to be near the prime tourist attractions like St. Marks Square and Doge's Palace, although the crowds can be a bit much. The rooms were a decent size and we never heard a sound from outside the doors or windows. The free breakfast was good enough and the staff were super helpful with answering questions and special requests. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nuttybunny3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017

We stayed in the Hotel Colombina in July 2017. Though Venice was very crowded, this hotel, just a 5+ minute walk from St. Mark's Sq. and on the same canal as the Bridge of Sighs was quiet, and lovely. We were traveling with another couple, and it was extremely convenient to walk out of the airport customs area and rent a private water taxi directly to the hotel jetty saving us dragging our bags through the crowds and heat over the numerous canal bridges! It was the way to go, well worth the cost and easily arranged on the spot.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank 876edythew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#35 of 385 in Venice
2,442 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#121 of 385 in Venice
2,205 reviews
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#81 of 385 in Venice
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#79 of 385 in Venice
1,035 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#89 of 385 in Venice
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colombina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colombina

Address: Calle del Remedio - Castello 4416, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#50 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#59 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: ₱5,241 - ₱19,185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Colombina 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colombina is centrally located in the heart of Venice, just a few steps from St. Mark’s Square. The noble Venetian palace which accommodates the hotel faces one of the world’s most famous gondola serenades canal and boasts a breath-taking view on the Bridge of Sighs and the spires of San Marco Basilica. Guests can feel the elegant Venetian atmosphere, surrounded by the quietness of the city, rocked by the serenades of the gondoliers and by all the comforts of a modern hotel situated in one of, if not the most, romantic cities in the world....Locanda Remedio is the dependance of the Colombina, it is rated 3 stars and is located in an annex building just behind the Colombina Palazzo and connected via a private Venetian courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Colombina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colombina Hotel Locanda Remedio
Colombina Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing