We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,430)
Filter reviews
1,430 results
Traveler rating
712
513
131
48
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
712
513
131
48
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews san stae grand canal breakfast room rialto bridge water taxi no lift landing stage third floor single room minute walk watching the boats balcony overlooking the canal lovely hotel small balcony top floor google maps train station
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
342 - 347 of 1,430 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Stayed here with my parents in March 2016 and booked through Gate1Travel Agency. It is a little further from the "center" of Venice, but very close to the Rialto Bridge and the fish market. It sits right on the Grand Canal so you have gorgeous views if you get a room facing out. Beware that the hotel does NOT have an elevator and the stairs can be a little steep. Clean, large rooms with a spacious bathroom, and old world feel.

Very close to the Vaporetto San Stae stop (which I recommend if you're taking the train or going to the airport) so much cheaper than a high speed boat. However, do navigate during the day if you're taking the Vaporetto because it is really easy to get lost at night and google maps is useless in Venice since the buildings block GPS signal.

Wake up early for breakfast and grab a table close to the front so you can enjoy the beautiful views! Staff is very friendly!

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

The location of the hotel is probably the strongest aspect of this hotel. It is a 5 min walk from the rialto bridge on the grand canal.
We stayed in room 220. It is on the 2nd floor. It's a nice room with traditional decor. There is no lift so be aware if you're not able to tackle stairs. The room is a double (but the bed typically has twin matresses pushed together... A pet hate of mine...)
The room is to the side of the hotel overlooking a narrow side canal. It is also next to where the breakfast is served so be aware of noise associated with that. It's not disco levels but can be persistent.
Speaking of breakfast... it's served from 730am to 10am... it's a reasonable selection and okay quality. The plain croissants ran out a few times so be prepared to get in quick if that's your breakfast pastry of choice. In addition... There are 2 balcony tables that overlook the grand canal. Obviously these are highly desirable so it's worth getting in quick.(watch out for the pigeons)
The staff were excellent whilst we were there and were both friendly and efficient.
Italyxp.com offered a reasonable shared water taxi option, direct to the door which was superb. Go to desk 71 in the arrivals hall which is directly left as you walk through the customs door.

Overall... A good base to explore Venice.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Phil_D_Matthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Recommended by friends and TripAdvisor. Yes, it may be interesting getting to this location however your 2 options on private water taxi (80 euro) or local water taxi (15 euro) and walking from nearby water stop are both fine. If you choose the water taxi, the hotel has placed signage in various laneways to guide you there.
The staff were friendly, knowledgeable and always prepared to talk. Impressed with breakfast, all fresh and although dining room not huge, we never had an issue.
Rooms were clean, bright and all amenities available. There are a large amount of restaurants nearby, be prepared to get lost a few times as you will find that quality eatery.
You will really love this location but remember, there is no lift so if you are a mobility issue, request a room on lower floors.

Room tip: No lift. Heard emergency boats every morning, consider view or sleep.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter17OZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 August 2016

We stayed at this hotel for two nights before our cruise and had a wonderful stay.

It was a quiet and peaceful location, despite being right on the Grand Canal. We arrived in style in a private water taxi with our friends, right to the door. We were instantly welcomed by the staff and checked in without any fuss.

Our rooms all overlooked the Grand Canal and were a good size. There was a fridge in the room stocked with mini bar items that were of a reasonable cost, but you also had space for your own drinks.

The bar area was small but perfectly adequate, and again drinks were not extortionately priced, which makes a refreshing change in hotels.

Would happily return here tomorrow.

Room tip: Grand canal view room was superb
Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank jocat94
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Loved the ambiance and character of this small boutique hotel. We (family with 2 teens) had a quad room which was quite big on the second floor with high ceilings but no view, which wasn't a big deal to us. One of the single beds was just a day bed so won't fit anyone say over 5ft 5 in. comfortably. Our check in experience was great, we were helped to our room first (two steep flights of stairs which were not an issue for us but may be for some) while the front desk staff process the check in paperwork with our passports so we didn't have to wait. One of the staff also gladly explained to us the history of the hotel, a former residence of an artist. The complimentary drinks (anything you want : )) on the deck was a really nice touch and much appreciated after a long day of travel. The little courtyard outside the front entrance was lovely as well to sit. The included breakfast was very good, served in a lovely little room on the second floor with view of the Grand Canal. Location was easy to find if you have google map and got off Line 1 ferry at San Stae, but trying to walk here from the train station can be confusing and I wouldn't attempt if you have a lot of luggage.

Date of stay: July 2016
1  Thank yr66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews