We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canal front restaurant,overlooking the Rialto bridge.”
Review of Al Buso

Al Buso
Ranked #669 of 1,450 Restaurants in Venice
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Canal front restaurant,overlooking the Rialto bridge.”
Reviewed April 21, 2016

This is a fabulous family run restaurant,with great views of the Grand Canal and the Rialto bridge.I had some of the best seafood here (sea bass) that I have ever had in Venice.The very pleasant waiter produced a wonderful house wine and was attentive and helpful throughout the meal.The price was reasonable considering the wonderful canal side position.I could not fault the cooking or presentation of the main course or desert.

  • Visited April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    87
    77
    38
    75
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worst staff ever”
Reviewed April 16, 2016 via mobile

The staff and the manager are probably one of the worst I've ever seen. Totally rude and unkind. The thing that made me not eat anything was that the manager dropped a fork on the street and he put the dropped fork on the table again. Disgusting!

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
Thank Paolo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Surprised by the sea bass.”
Reviewed April 7, 2016 via mobile

First, I have not been impressed with the food in Venice so I had low expectations for this place. We stopped only because the view/location was great. Our waiters name was Elia and the service was top notch. I was not impressed with the menu but Elia recommended the Sea bass for two, it was a special. (But reading the other reviews, it appears to always be a special, Ha!) all in all it was a very good experience, the food was great, the service exceptional and the location would be hard to beat. A little cold. It was over priced- like everything in Venice. $80 for the entree, $17 for the capresee appitizer. Elia mentioned that this restaurant was one of only a hand fold in Venice owned by Venetians and run exclusively by Venetians. I would definitely recommend both this restaurant and the sea bass, can't speak to the rest of the menu.

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
Thank Jack N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Lunch!”
Reviewed April 4, 2016 via mobile

Very good food! Ordered the 1kg sea bass to share.... Cooked to perfection!

Great Location... But can be busy with foot traffic!

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
Thank Impy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice view, that's about it..”
Reviewed March 13, 2016 via mobile

Lovely place to sit and eat right on the canal, but we had dinner there and received poor service, and considering the prices were so expensive the quality of the food was very disappointing..not traditional Italian food at all. Also, absolutely no atmosphere outside - no music, no other customers, just very flat. I wouldn't recommend

Visited March 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank beckyg20163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Buso also viewed

City of Venice, Province of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Al Buso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing