We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Pinacoteca Ambrosiana
from US$19.09
More Info
from US$16.20
More Info
from US$79.84
More Info
Reviews (1,197)
Filter reviews
1,197 results
Traveler rating
736
333
81
29
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
736
333
81
29
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews codex atlanticus basket of fruit da vinci on display beautiful library audio guide original drawings art gallery fantastic museum last supper great paintings impressive collection under restoration patron saint art lovers italian art worth seeing
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 1,197 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2018

There is a lot to see in Pinacoteca Ambrosiana. I recommend to visit with audioguide (there is English and Italian audio version with text displayed, costs 3€), which gives you some interesting insights about each room and many artworks.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank BlueKardelenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

The floor plan at first was a bit confusing but once we overcame that, the museum was quite enjoyable. One thing that I have to question is the total prohibition of photography. I certainly get any venue prohibiting flash photography for a multitude of reasons but NO photography seems somewhat draconian

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank M3142BArichardm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 February 2018

A good collection of art works. Unusually for an Italian museum it has art from Northern Europe specifically Brueghel. It has a large amount of works to see but the building/buildings are somewhat rambling. You at times need to push through doors or go up stairs to see if it is part of the tour or not.

The main items to see are Carravaggio's still life, Leonardo's drawings and Raphael's drawing for the School of Athens (assuming it is out of restoration).

The museum is closed on Mondays. Cameras are not allowed.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Gerard_S77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 February 2018

A very interesting museum in a beautiful building. When we were there it wasn't crowded, which made it very relaxing to look round. As well as a beautiful collection of art, there are items like Napoleon's gloves and a lock of Lucrezia Borgia's hair, which I found fascinating. The Rafael cartoon of the School of Athens is being restored at the moment, so can't be seen, but there is a very interesting film about the restoration, and you can see into the room where the work is going on. Pages from the Leonardo codex are well displayed in a lovely library and you can really study them closely. In the same room is Caravaggio's Basket of Fruit which is stunning. The museum is rather on the pricey side, at 15 euros each but as it is basically an art collection (with some unique items) housed in a stately home, it's worth at least one visit. For refreshment, the Spadari Cafe serves lovely food in elegant surroundings.

Date of experience: February 2018
2  Thank Metella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 February 2018

I gave a 4* just because I'd give a 5* to the unmissable world museums, e.g. the Galleria degli Uffizi in Florence or the British Museum in London: this Pinacoteca Ambrosiana is surely not comparable.
However, it comes with an impressive collection of paintings. Previous reviews mentioned several Italian masters, which surely are worth the visit by themselves, but I very much appreciated the charming Flemish paintings as well. There are also a few interesting statues, but indeed the big highlights of this museum are
- the Codex Atlanticus and a remarkable portrait of a musician, by Da Vinci;
- the historic library
- the fruit basket by Caravaggio.
The structure of the museum is indeed a sort of maze. There is no clear path to follow, which means that while visiting I was constantly worried of missing out some interesting room. Eventually the visit leads to an exit at the opposite side of the block, which is a bit disconcerting, especially for those who have dropped some item at the cloakroom at the entrance.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank nicolamanini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews