We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (373)
Filter reviews
373 results
Traveler rating
120
186
52
12
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
186
52
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cable car lovely hotel minute walk roof terrace town centre lake maggiore good size real credit to the hotel close to the train station nice large room room was spotless fresh fruit lovely dining room hotel is ideally located beautiful promenade course evening meal takes about minutes
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 373 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

Lovely friendly welcoming staff who were always helpful and provide excellent customer service throughout our stay. Wonderful view of the lake and easy walking distance to the town. Plenty of choice for buffet style breakfast. Asked for a lakeview room which was provided but disappointed with very small room no sun on the balcony needs updating and decorating. Heard next room using the toilet due to the odd shaped room.Comfortable beds. Does mention no coffee facilities but a kettle would have helped. The terrace on the top floor was lovely to sit and relax and admire the views but do need umbrellas. There is road noise from busy main road.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 September 2018

We have just returned from our fourth visit to the Royal Hotel, Stresa, and as in previous visits we cannot say enough about the helpfulness & friendliness of all the staff. The management, receptionists, dining room staff, bar staff and housekeepers, were all so helpful and polite and would do all they could to make our stay so enjoyable. When we arrived we felt completely at home.
The selection at breakfast was enhanced by the addition of hot plates, which rarely ran out, or if they did, they were immediately refilled. The dinners were up to or even better than in previous years, with a varied choice. At times we ordered half portions as we found they were sufficient. The wine list was set out in different production areas, so there were no problems if you wished a local wine. It was great to sit in the comfy chairs in the lounge area, having an after dinner coffee or a liqueur, not in modern chairs which are so un-comfy for the older generation. It was so nice to see the 3 generations of the owners' family dining at the same time as their guests. What is good enough for them is certainly good enough for us!!!
We were lucky enough to have one of the bedrooms with the updated en-suites, and must say the finish is to a very high standard, due possibly to employing top class tradesmen. A better quality than one gets in a 5* in the U.K.
We used the roof terrace several times, in the morning before the heat got up, or in the early evening. It gives superb views over the lake and up to the Alps. There were no problems checking out and settling the bar bill which was immediately to hand.
A great thanks to all who made our holiday so enjoyable.
This may only be a 3* hotel, but the service is second to none.. We now look forward to 2019's visit!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 September 2018

A lovely charming hotel in a good location. Friendly helpful courteous staff, Michaela and Johanna never a frown on their faces and always willing to help. Food very good, wonderful views from the terraces. Rooms comfortable, beware firm mattresses and pillows!!! Note there is no tea/coffee making facilities in rooms :( All in all a great 5 day stay

Date of stay: September 2018
1  Thank ironlady59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 September 2018

This hotel is a friendly family run hotel a little over 15 minute walk from town & a short walk to the cable car & Carciano so is ideal. Our room was spacious & clean with views over the lake & pool area from the balcony. All of the staff were very helpful & cheerful especially the receptionist on our arrival. Breakfast was buffet style & it was good to be able to sit on the terrace to enjoy it.

Room tip: Ask for a lake view room
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank dotp67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed for three nights on the at the Hotel Royal. We had a lovely room on the 4th floor with a large balcony and side-ish view of the lake. We were very happy with the room and the very large bathroom. The roof terrace is lovely, but agree with another review, that they need umbrellas on the terrace. Strong afternoon sun makes it very warm, as was our balcony. Night time viewing from the roof terrace was lovely, and rarely used. Our breakfast was lovely in the garden as were cocktails on the small terrace. The lady working the bar was a joy! Sat by the pool twice in the afternoon and was bit by many mosquitoes, should have used repellant. It is a lovely walk into Stresa, but I think its more like 20-25 minutes. We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Royal, but it seems the hotel is a little “tired” in the main rooms, especially lobby area.

Date of stay: September 2018
1  Thank Sun4Me1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews