We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!”
Review of Dar Poeta

Dar Poeta
Ranked #1,047 of 13,550 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$18
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Trastevere
Reviewed 4 April 2018

great pizza, CRAZY after 7:30 pm, but if u get there before 7 pm no lines, good vibe, friendly service. its good pizza, not the best in Italy, not worth waiting inline for an hour though...

Thank Karina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marco r, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Dar Poeta, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Hi Karina,
we are pleased that our pizza has been to your liking ...
The fact that you do not find it the best in Italy and that it is not worth queuing up to eat us, it is your personal opinion that we respect willingly.
We are famous all over the world for our pizza, so ... For many customers it is worth doing a little bit of waiting to eat with us.
Thank you for your time.
Greetings.
Dar Poeta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 72 of 5,507 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018

We stopped at Dar Poeta for dinner on our first night in Rome. We had a short wait time because we went at about 3-4pm. We were wedged at a communal table that was very squishy - we were seated in the corner, then the table filled and we were literally trapped. A very nice French couple sat next to us, but it is still a bit awkward when you are bumping knees with each other the whole time. Pizza was good but the crust was not especially crispy (a personal preference). You have to be assertive to ask for things because the waitresses are super busy, but everyone was friendly.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bethanycozytea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marco r, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Dar Poeta, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Dear Customer,
thanks for reviewing us!
We are pleased that your experience has been appreciated by us.
The place is a bit small, like most of the local Trastevere, so the tables are close together.
We are glad you enjoyed it.
See you soon.

Dar Poeta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

We were recommended this restaurant by a friend from Rome. The restaurant was busy, we made a reservation with the waiter at the door by giving our name. We were told it was a forty minute wait.
We came back half an hour later and were told our name had been called and our name was off the list. The waiter was quite rude and abrupt. We didn't know we had to wait outside.

Just a word of warning - he expected us to wait outside for forty minutes in the rain for a table!

Thank AoifML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marco r, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Dar Poeta, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Dear Customer,
I'm sorry for the inconvenience of the waiting list.
The guys on the door are always kind, polite and available; however it may happen that by giving you a time, they may not always be accurate.
They calculate an orientation time and try to respect it, but always considering an adequate flexibility due to the dynamics of chance, which you will surely understand.
The important thing is that in a few minutes they made you sit down.
Greetings.

Dar Poeta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Found this little gem on a whim and decided to celebrate my birthday there. Plenty of choice, delicious food and lovely staff. My boyfriend wanted to surprise me but forgot the candles and even though they did not have any, our very kind waitress sang for me!
It was such a good experience. I'd highly recommend to ask for extras on your pizza (I asked for extra ruccola on my Funghi pizza +1 EUR) and try their Nutella and ricotta calzone (be aware even the small portion is huge).

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nanett K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marco r, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Dar Poeta, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Hi Nanette K,
thanks for the beautiful review you have released.
We are enormously happy to have helped make your birthday special!
Come back and see us soon!
A greeting.

Dar Poeta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

We went to Dar Poeta because various people recommended it to us. First up, you have to wait to be seated. There is always a line, but it goes really fast and it’s worth the wait. The prizes for drinks are very cheap for a restaurant, but be prepared that your water or coke comes in plastic bottles or cans. The pizza was fantastic. The Dar Poeta pizza was a recommendation from our waitress and a great choice. The restaurant has a local flair to it and is definitely worth a visit.

Thank Meistro007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marco r, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Dar Poeta, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Dear Customer,
we are pleased that you have been fully satisfied with your experience with us.
Thanks for the review released.
Greetings.

Dar Poeta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Poeta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing