We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip and delicious Calabrian food”
Review of Buff

Buff
Ranked #442 of 13,972 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$40
Neighborhood: Trastevere
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Trastevere
Reviewed 22 April 2018

For Italian terms this restaurant is very hip and vibrant. My friend was in awe with the meat and said it was an absolute 10. As a pescatarian I had a fair share of choices and went for the octopus burger that was also really good and had very fresh and tasty ingredients. The service was no bs, fast, and nice.
We will be back!

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kay765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (689)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 689 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2018

Delicious food and great service in a fun ambiance. Vegetarian selections available for people like myself who choose not to eat buffalo (or any mea).

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank chritopheranne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 April 2018

All the food here is sourced from Calabria, an area south of Rome. Specializes in buffalo mozzarella and buffalo meat. We had a pasta with mozzarella and a plate fo braised buffalo meat. We also had a tomato salad with Tropea (a town in Calabria) onions , capers and olives. Tomatoes did not have a lot of flavor, but everything else was very good. Yummy!
Mostly Italians eating here when we arrived for dinner which was a good sign. Pleasant and knowledgeable waitstaff.
Highly recommend this place! In a quiet part of Trasteverve.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank travel5612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

We visited Buff for lunch because the impression was good from the outside. A bit much hipster with the Goji stuff, but that’s not unusual for a place like this. We ordered a pasta and a burger and were offered a small appetizer which we also took. Some buffalo mozzarella....

The appetizer was served together with some bread. It was mostly deep fried courgette and mushroom and two pieces of chewy mozzarella. Not so nice and really greasy.
The pasta (gnocchi)was pretty plain and a bit boring. No dressings or anything. It lacked richness or depth in taste.
The burger was okay.

The bill was a bit of a surprise. The appetizer was as expensive as the other dishes and the bread, which we didn’t order, was charged per person. I didn’t even eat a piece of it. A small (0,3 liter) beer will set you back by another 6 euros. 50 euros for such a simple lunch just isn’t worth it.

We finished our lunch leaving behind a nearly full breadbasket, half of the appetizer, the gnocchi and a nearly finished burger and they didn’t even ask if it was OK or why so much was left. Not interested at all, only in selling more.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Bastiaan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 April 2018

Great story of farm-to-table organic production. I loved the selection of wild greens and delectable cheeses and other artisan delicacies. All obviously created with love and respect for heritage and nature.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing