We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and great service”
Review of VII Coorte

VII Coorte
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
VII Coorte is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #163 of 13,752 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$59
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Trastevere
Description: Fish Restaurant. Dishes from Roman cuisine revisited with typical Sicilian products. Dishes from Roman cuisine tradition.
Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

We had an enjoyable family meal. The food was very good and service attentive. My husband particularly enjoyed the grilled octopus. We made our reservation via TripAdvisor about ten minutes before we arrived and it worked really well - a high chair was even in place for our infant daughter. Nice atmosphere too.

1  Thank Bec A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VII C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at VII Coorte, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Dear Bec,
many thanks for your review.
We are happy you enjoyed our restaurant under all points of view: location, cuisine and service.
We hope in the future we will have the opportunity to host you again.
See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,658)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 36 of 1,658 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

The food was perfectly prepared and service was attentive. We ordered the shrimp toast (forgot the name in Italian), seafood pasta and mixed grilled fish. They were all very delicious and even better than what we had in Naples. We also took the waiter’s recommendation for a Sicilian white wine which paired well with all the dishes. We wrapped up our dinner with cannelloni and pistachio layered cake, still good but a bit too sweet to my taste. If there is only one thing that I want to criticise, is that I am not so sure about the attitude of the owner, who was pretty friendly to all other guests (greet them when people arrived and shake hands when they left) but he tended to ignore us the whole evening, even he was not busy at all. Probably he was not happy that I had booked a table several hours before and got a discount via The Fork? Or he didn’t like our Asian faces? He was not impolite. We just felt being ignored. But the service of other waiters were excellent. And I enjoyed the food a lot. All in all, I still recommend this place!

1  Thank channatnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VII C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at VII Coorte, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear guest,
we are really happy that you enjoyed our food and the service as well.
The Italian name of the prawn toast you ordered is "Crostino with scampi and lardo di colonnata".
We are really sorry that you felt "ignored" by the owner. Unfortunately the ownership's partner who was at the restaurant was the only one who does not speak english and he was just embarassed and worried to say something wrong. This is the only reason because not him, but the rest of the staff, was taking care of you and, as you reported, they did a great job.
Please do not feel offended for this, it was just a misunderstanding.
No matter if you booked via TheFork getting a discount and if you are from somewhere else in the world, you are a customer.
Our job is to offer our best (in terms of food and service) to our customers, most of whom are tourists.
You are a guest and you have to receive our best service. This is our policy.
We hope to have the opportunity to host you again!
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Not sure about the owner sitting in the restaurant with a laptop next to the customers.
All the waiters were excellent. Food was really good. Some of the dishes are frozen but it says on the menu. You get 5 bruschettas but 3 of them were tasteless. Other than that spot on.

Thank Andrius B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VII C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at VII Coorte, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Andrius,
we are happy that you enjoyed our restaurant.
We hope that you will visit us again, to have the opportunity to serve you the other dishes of our menu, having the opportunity to reach your maximum satisfaction.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

Absolutely brilliant! We went there after reading the reviews and looking forward to some quality Italian food (and it's definitely what we got). The atmosphere was amazing, good music, good lighting, modern and white decoration throughout. The waiter was polite and gave us an excellent wine recommendation. The food was perfectly cooked and extremely tasty. We had one of the chef's special starters and one from the menu, both superb (seefood), followed by the seabass and the chicken, both delicious. Also the bread was better than in other places we had tried. Everything was brought on time, the waiter always paying attention for filling up our wine glasses. The dessert menu is incredible, we has the pannacotta and the cannoli, I would love to have more space to repeat or try them all. We received a discount in the bill. Overall 10/10

1  Thank Vanessa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VII C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at VII Coorte, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Vanessa,
many thanks for your fantastic review.
We are more than happy you enjoyed our restaurant from every point of view.
We hope we will have the opportunity to host you again, in order to serve you the new dishes our Chef is working on...
See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

My friend and I came because of the great reviews and left wishing we could give a 6-Star review, ourselves. Our server and the hostess played a Michael Jackson tune for us (by request) while we ate. I jokingly asked... and they played it! So it was like a DJ/server kind of thing that blew my mind. Oh, and the food was fresh and superb. I had the Mista salad and the catch of the day, swordfish. The death by chocolate dessert did not break my heart.

1  Thank EvaWClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VII C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at VII Coorte, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear Eva,
thank you so much for your wonderful review.
We are glad you enjoyed our food and service.
Our goal is to make the customer happy from all points of view, therefore we did not do anythingh special in playing the song you requested us; nevertheless we are really happy you appreciated it.
We hope to see you again in the future.
See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to VII Coorte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing