We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Meal”

Osteria dei Pontefici
Reserve with
Osteria dei Pontefici is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,040 of 13,956 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This restaurant was suggested by our Airbnb host near the Vatican. We were a bit hesitant in the day with the plain exterior dominated by grey, graffiti covered shutters but by evening, it became an inviting refuge. We made online reservations thankfully because the restaurant became quite lively with both locals and visitors. We were served by an older waiter who could speak English. His slightly gruff manner made the experience fun. He made pointed suggestions that we all loved. The house red wine was a solid accompaniment. We started with bread and assorted antipasto which kept coming plate after plate. The four of us ordered stuffed pasta,spaghetti with meat sauce and a lamb dish. We all left feeling full and warmed by the experience.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank JoMoKe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (890)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 890 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2018 via mobile

The food was really bad, pizza horrible, all place wasn't that clean, and the waiter, old gentleman, wasn't polite. When we asked for a check, they give us hand writed "check" on a piece of paper, where we couldn't read what we are paying for. We asked for a regular check, and they give us again hand writed piece of paper, but this time paper was with their logo. I said that is not a check, and he didn't want to bring me.the real one. Terrible place, won't recommend to anyone, I'm reading other reviews, and I can't believe that someone actually liked it

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Nikica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

That's a fact. What more do you want in Rome ? The romans know, there were only a few tourists. The waiters are old men, some are friendly, some are grumpy.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Vos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 August 2018

The most delicious pasta - I think my favorite. Fun staff and wait staff. Our apartment host suggested it.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Glynis407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

We passed this one our first day and we made a huge mistake. We tried it for dinner the next day it was amazing best pasta in Rome. It was great value for money and the service was good too. We will definitely be back the next time we are in Rome.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank leanne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria dei Pontefici also viewed

 

Been to Osteria dei Pontefici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing