We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$217
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/12/21
Priceline
US$217
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/12/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$170
View deal
Expedia.comUS$218
Hotels.comUS$218
Destinia.comUS$244
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (795)
Filter reviews
795 results
Traveler rating
462
225
56
30
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
462
225
56
30
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews saracen tower amalfi coast former convent steeped in history charming hotel beautiful view peppe sea town terrace olsen monastery atrani hill ferry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 795 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2021

I booked this hotel for 2 nights because of the good reviews but got very disappointed. Maybe this place is special for non European tourists who love the idea of spending a night in an old building which used to be a monastery but if you happen to be a European tourist do not go there. This place lives on its history but nothing else. It has not been renovated in decades!! The rooms are of a basic standard of a youth hostel, with a tiny bathroom with old tiles and dirt in the tile grout. Hot water didn't work in the first night.
The dining area and bar are dusty with tired furnitures you don't want to sit in. It's so bad that even my children didn't want to sit down. The much photographed courtyard is lovely but that's it. The antique tower on the other side of the street has been abandoned, the pool and access to the seaside are dirty and simply abandoned. The price (300 euros for one night) is outrageous and insulting. I do not understand how they can keep their 4 stars - this is definitely not a 4 or even 3 star hotel. A real shame. Do not go. This place urgently needs an investor who can undertake much needed renovations and return it to its old glory.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hopf007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 August 2021

While I hate to let the "cat out of the bag", it is only fair to the hotel that I tell the truth in this review. Hands down, this is one of the best places to stay on the Amalfi Coast.

To start...you are halfway between Amalfi and Atrani...close enough to walk to visit Amalfi town and make any ferry or bus connections you may need, but away from the bustle. If you walk down the hill in the opposite direction of Amalfi (or use the shortcut path behind the hotel) you will find yourself in the much less-touristy Atrani. Here, you can enjoy as much or as little privacy as you choose!

The hotel is an ancient convent built into the hillside with a lovely cloister at the center and an air of gentility and calmness. Lovely cocktails are prepared and served in the cloister each evening by a charming bartender. An excellent breakfast is served in the dining room each morning and there is a beautiful view from every table on the terrace.

BUT...the most breathtaking feature is the private seafront sundeck and swimming area with a saltwater pool set into the rocks below the hotel's ancient Saracen tower. We were visiting in August and saw the outrageously packed beaches in both Amalfi and Atrani, yet we felt privileged and secluded in our private little spot on the sea below the hotel. The man who has overseen the pool area for years (Peppe) is a bit of a character but lovable all the same and he can arrange a boat rental for you that will be brought right to the hotel pool area.

Note you must cross the street (Amalfi Drive) to get from the hotel to the sea and pool. It may seem a little intimidating at first, but it's really no problem. The hotel valet is often there at the busiest times to assist, if needed. This is ever so slight an inconvenience compared to the hassle of having to board a shuttle bus, drive & park or hike the hillside to get to a packed beach club.

As a side note...at times we found ourselves thinking...maybe a few changes here and there would make this hotel a little more trendy or chic, but after considering it for a while, we decided we loved the understated elegance and nothing should change! We love it just as it is!

Room tip: Anything sea view.
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank dghgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 August 2021

Hotel Luna Convento is very charming hotel with significant history. Perfect location, nice swimming pool and friendly staff. View from the breakfast terrace - breathtaking. Will come back when in Amalfi.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LatviaSigne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 August 2020

I spent few days in Hotel Luna Convento, being so lucky to have the same suite where Ibsen composed his masterpiece. Amazing view from the windows, elegance, silence, smell of sea. What else? In the hotel you can find 2 marvellous restaurants ocean view, serving top class food, and especially fish of the gulf.
For your relax you can have a drink in the central cloister belonging to the original convent inside which the hotel was built.
During the day you can go down to the sea, around the comfortable swimming pool created among the rocks and fed with salt water, at the foot of an ancient Saracen tower.
It is difficult to imagine anything better in the splendid setting of the Amalfi coast.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paolo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 August 2020 via mobile

After a week’s walking in the Dolomites, a brief stop over in Venice and 3 day in Sorrento, we afforded ourselves some luxury at Luna Convento.
The hotel (former convent) is steeped in history with any impressive guests visiting over the years.
The Torre opposite (another restaurant, private hotel swimming pool & sea access) compliment the fine hotel (with bar, cloisters and panoramic restaurant).
We were well looked after and enjoyed excellent food in both restaurants and a delightful breakfast each day over looking Amalfi & the sea.
Wonderful.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews