We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$149
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$126/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 07/28
Book now, pay at stay
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/29
Book now, pay at stay
US$160
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$133
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$100
US$97
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agli Archi(Matera)
Free cancellation until 08/03
US$85
US$77
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$85
US$83
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 08/02
Book now, pay at stay
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$179
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (496)
Filter reviews
496 results
Traveler rating
386
90
12
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
386
90
12
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiazza duomoroof terracespecific directionspedestrian areaon footold townfabulous viewsbreakfast roomfabulous hotelsmall courtyardfirst floorprivate parkingcomfortable hotelwonderful staycentral locationhuge bathroomstayed here for two nights
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 496 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

A really nice hotel, decent value in my opinion. Staff were very helpful and friendly, assisted with great places to eat and a tour of the sassi with a reputable company. The view from my room was spectacular, room size was good for Europe and the room was clean and housekeeping services did an excellent job each day. I would recommend a stay at this hotel, I liked it and Matera is beyond words - visit and see

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 October 2017

There is a lot to like about the Palazzo Viceconte. It is in an elegant and charmingly re-modelled Palazzo. The public areas are just charming. The rooms comfortable, if a little austere (decor wise).

The hotel is well located for walking around Matera. However, if you are arriving by car, it can be a real challenge as they are digging up the streets leading to the hotel, thus closing off the access route suggested by the hotel.

The staff were friendly and very professional. They shared a number of touring ideas which we appreciated.

The breakfast room was large and open. The breakfast was adequate, not all items were as fresh as they could be. Items that were available one morning were absent the next.

The hotel is worthy of at least 4 and a half stars, it was the breakfast and the room which lost it the half star.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Geddes_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 October 2017

The hotel is an old palazzo that has been tastefully converted into a very elegant hotel. The central location makes it a perfect place to explore the sassi and old town of Matera.Rooms are well proportioned and afford views over the old town. The roof top bar is not to be missed.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 September 2017

We stayed here for two nights during our 2week tour of southern Italy. What a gem. We didn't have a reservation and were delighted to be able to get a suite at the weekend.

This hotel has stunning views over the sassi and is a minutes walk from the Duomo. Reception staff were delightful.

It is hard to access without prior knowledge, but we parked and walked there first. The hotel manager then gave us detailed driving instructions.

Room Tip: You might be lucky to get an upgrade to a suite of rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bronagh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

The hote located only 2 min walk from the Duomo
, Matera. They have really fabulous view, spaecial courtesy staff and breakfast is astonishingly delicious!
You should go there with your girlfriend, sweatheart. :)
I believe what you should pay attention to go to this hotel is the location. They are next to the Duomo, Matera. But the traffic is really mad, thus you should ask a local taxi to go there.
I went to the hotel from Alberobello by taxi, Alberobello's taxi driver could not find the way to go to this hotel. So I have to walk around last 10 min to reach there. :(

Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
Thank ichiro_jun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews