We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Tuna el-Gebel
from US$110.36
More Info
from US$130.00
More Info
from US$337.83
More Info
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveler rating
11
4
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
11
4
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high priest greek style wall paintings tomb mummy egypt ibis mix sand decoration baboons
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2019

Visited as part of a day tour from a Nile cruise. Quite a remarkable site with all its tombs. We definitely benefited from having a guide who was able to explain much of what we were seeing.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Wansbrough2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 April 2019 via mobile

Impressive small but very special temple, with the vivid pharaonic carvings and colors on the walls... proud of my great , rich in history home country , Egypt
I encourage everyone to come, bring their families , especially the young generation, to see our great ancestors, the Pharos, how they excelled in every way .

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Dina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 March 2018

Long trip in middle Egypt, but the painted scenes were well preserved. I believe most people would benefit having a knowledgeable guide. Scenes of the nobles and the local people. The surprise was the numerous animal catacombs next to the tombs with burials of birds and baboons. Modestly well lighted, safe with armed guards. We were the only foreigners that day. There were many animal mummy stone boxes and clay pots. One priest mummy is still buried in a large carves limestone tomb. On leaving, there is a really fantastic Stellae of Akhenaton, wife and two children.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank johnbarbaram2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 February 2018

Scenery with colorful painting on the facade of the temple and in the 2 internal rooms, scenery of the daily life of the deceased Chief Priest, a Scarabe to guard the tomb from eventual THieves, the Tree of Life, the removalof Internal organs the 12 daily hours represented by babouns/Monkeys and the 12 night hours represented by Cobras, many beautiful sceneries worth an hour visit.

Recommended on a Week day and away from school holidays as it is a local favorite attraction and gets overly crowded with visitors willing to enjoy the open space more than the historical sites.

A Must see though is the Boundary Stelae outside the site's boundaries, acessable through stairs (Not too many) but not visited by visitors, showing an exceptionally maintained wall with Akhenaton and his famous wife Nefertiti worshipping the Sun Aton. All other sculptures of Akhenaton were destroyed by the Luxor Chief priests of Amon to get their revenge from this King who neglected their God. Beautiful Mural.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank Ashraf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 March 2017

I came on a day of terrible sand storm, so could not see much of the surrounding area. However, I was totally struck by the beauty of the scenes and reliefs in the Tomb of Petosiris. The reliefs in the pronaos is a distinct mix if typical Egyptian scenes (e.g. wine making, agriculture, etc) scenes but in greek style (e.g. clothing of the persons depicted). Very interesting and absolutely beautiful!
The tomb of Isadora is quite bare but, her mummy still inside the tomb gives it a special atmosphere.
I was not well informed about the site prior to the visit, so the catacombs were really impressive. The tunnels are well lit and very interesting to explore. Tons of broken pottery is in side tunnels, which are closed or not even excavated. To sneak inside, it is advisable to bring a somewhat strong torch.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Biancasec
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews