We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”

El Barril de las Letras
Reserve with
El Barril de las Letras is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #707 of 12,348 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Huertas
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Delicious food - my boyfriend had fillet steak, I had lamb cutlets. As dessert a sorbet/champagne shake. We had a beautiful evening - great service!

Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grupo-oter, Propietario at El Barril de las Letras, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you very much for your visit and your positive comment about it Jane T. We like to read that your experience was as good and that both the quality and the service were to your liking. We hope you can visit us again soon. Best regards and thank you for trusting Grupo Oter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (849)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 849 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2018

Food and hospitaly are good. We suggest this restaurant for the atmosphere, good selection of wine and special fish dishes.

Thank veronamarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grupo-oter, Propietario at El Barril de las Letras, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Thank you very much for your visit and your comment about it veronamarco. We are happy to read that both the atmosphere and the treatment and our dishes, highlighting the fish were of your liking. We hope you can visit us again soon. A warm greeting from Grupo Oter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 March 2018

Nice atmosphere with a bar part and a restuarant part. Efficient service, good food and a good selection of wines.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jonas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grupo-oter, Propietario at El Barril de las Letras, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thank you very much for your visit and your positive comment Jonas P. We are happy to read that everything was up to the task and enjoyed a very positive experience. We hope you can visit us again soon. Best regards and thank you for trusting Grupo Oter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

The food was excellent, and our mussels done perfectly. We added a delicious salad and grilled sea bass, also well prepared.

El Barril is more expensive than the average but if you can splurge on one splendid meal in Madrid, this would be the place to try. We didn’t make a reservation so sat in stools near the bar. The head waiter was a bit stiff, even gruff, but as soon as our waiter appeared the service (and his English) was impeccable.

It was an evening to be remembered.

Thank Chuck K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grupo-oter, Propietario at El Barril de las Letras, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Thank you very much for your visit and your positive comment about it Chuck K. We are immensely pleased that both the quality and the service were to your liking and we regret the slightly rigid tone of the manager, which we will take into account. We hope that this pleasant experience will be repeated again soon. a warm greeting and thanks for trusting Grupo Oter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 February 2018

We stopped for a late lunch in early January after a lot of walking. The menu had many interesting choices highlighting Spanish cuisine. We started with the Pan artesano (Bread), which came with some olives and peppers in olive oil which was savory balancing well the bread. We ordered two appetizers the home made creamy Croquettes and the Fried Padron peppers. The appetizers were excellent and a great combination. The two mains course were Runny Omelette with leeks and Cod and the Galacian style Hake both were very good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Don P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grupo-oter, Propietario at El Barril de las Letras, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Thank you very much for your visit and your very nice comment about it Don P. We are happy to read that the food was to your liking and that your experience, in general, was so pleasant. We hope you can visit us again soon and give them such good experiences. Best regards and thank you for trusting Grupo Oter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Barril de las Letras also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to El Barril de las Letras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing