We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Nearby Hotels
US$196
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hesperia Madrid(Madrid)
US$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$126
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$203
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$60
US$49
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$73/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$152
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$131
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$168
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
VP EL Madrono(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$87
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (668)
Filter reviews
668 results
Traveler rating
570
65
20
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
570
65
20
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred levelbeautiful hotelroyal palaceclarins toiletriesclassic roomruinart champagnethai roomthai spanewly renovated hotelopera houseold palacerelaxing stayrooftop poolconcierge staffsmall poolstar hoteljunior suite
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 668 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Downtown Madrid one of the few freshly renovated 5 stars hotel with a very professional and polite stuff. Spacious rooms in a modern outfit and very nice breakfast buffet and even a swimming pool which is rare in Madrid. Clos to the opera and Gran Via and within walking distances from many important sites like Prado etc

Stayed: May 2018, traveled on business
Thank Hofstaetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHColoma, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Hofstaetter,

Greetings from Gran Meliá Palacio de los Duques!

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel during your stay in Madrid and for sharing your lovely comment with us and with other travelers on TripAdvisor.

Apart from our perfect location, luxury hotel and beautiful rooms, we are proud of our attentive and friendly personnel. Our goal is to anticipate your desires and make them true, pay attention to every detail and achieve your complete satisfaction. Our clients are special and important for us and we want them to feel pampered.

I feel very grateful to hear that you have made the most of your stay thanks to all the mentioned above…

We look forward to welcoming you back to our "little palace" on your next visit to Madrid. For the entire team will be a great pleasure to host you again amongst us.

Kind Regards,

Sandra Hernández
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location with impeccable service. Morning buffet was extensive with many Madrid favourites. The roof top terrace had a spectacular view and pool. The rooms are very modern with a cool shower/tub design. We had a 4th floor room with a dormer which unfortunately made the room very small with low ceilings and a tiny window that let in little natural light. Room attendant did not replace coffee and then it took 30 minutes to have some pods brought up. Would recommend but be careful with room selection.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Icedaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHColoma, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Icedaddy,

Greetings from Gran Meliá Palacio de los Duques!

Thank you greatly for your recommendation about our Hotel shared with us and other travelers on TripAdvisor.

Be assured that we will take good note of your comments as we learn from every situation. We appreciate every suggestion left by our

guests as they make us stronger and lead us while introducing improvements where necessary.

In your next visit, contact us so we can make sure we allocate the appropriate room according to your preferences.

We do appreciate your nice comments about the rooftop and breakfast food selection.

My team and I wish to have another opportunity to welcome you back in Madrid and turn your future stay into the most memorable

one.

Regards,

Sandra Hernández
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

Recently stayed at this hotel and it is probably the friendliest hotel we’ve ever stayed at. The staff couldn’t do enough to make our stay an enjoyable one.

We opted for the Red Level accommodation which is in effect like other chains Club Access arrangements. A dedicated lounge with a lovely terrace, part of a larger outdoor area which is a real treat in a capital city like Madrid. Free drinks and snacks together with dedicated members of staff with whom you check in and out, but are there to assist in any way that they can. In my case printing off documents and “FedExing” them to the UK.

Our room was a little quirky in terms of its layout, but large, beautiful and extremely well equipped, beautiful bathroom, separate walk in wardrobe and very comfortable bed.

The hotel is located very close to the Royal Palace which makes it a great base for sightseeing. It isn’t however close to some of the best restaurants and designer shops, which are closer to the Retiro Park on the other side of the Puerto del Sol which sits in the centre of the city. Don’t let this out you off, this area is only a 10 minute cab ride away.

One of the best features of this hotel is the rooftop terrace with small pool and hot tub. A fantastic place to relax after a days sightseeing with amazing views over the roof tops of Madrid.

If you do visit, look out for Oscar the Manager, Veronica and Miguel in the Red Level, Beatriz the Concierge and Blessie who is the most wonderfully uplifting person you’ll ever meet in a hotel.

As you can probably tell we loved this hotel - will be back!

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Jeremy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHColoma, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Jeremy G,

Greetings from Gran Melia Palacio de los Duques!

First of all, I would like to thank you for such a wonderful comment about your stay with us, and for sharing it through TripAdvisor as it make us really happy to hear that you loved every minute you spent in our “little palace”.

Our staff is dedicated to provide you an incomparable level of personalized service designed for our guests and I am delighted we over reached your expectations. The employ a lot of effort taking care of every little thing for you to feel special and have a perfect and memorable stay. I would like to specially thank you for the mention to some of our staff members such as Verónica, Miguel and Blessie in Red Level and our General Manager, Oscar Regueiro. We are all at your entire disposal for anything you may need during your stay with us.

I am so proud you have experience and enjoyed the Red Level which is the most exclusive area in the Hotel, where we deliver the most refined, personalized and private service.

Thank you also for your comments about the location of the Hotel, which as you mentioned, is just a privilege.

Our doors remain open for your next stay.I hope you consider our Palacio, your new home in Madrid!

Regards,

Sandra Hernández
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

After a long renovation, the former Palace was transformed into one of the best places to stay in Madrid.

Attention to details, great service even in difficult moments (for example one morning when the breakfast was overcrowded) and everything tastefully done.

Definitely recommend.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Adinel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHColoma, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Adinel T,

Greetings from Gran Meliá Palacio de los Duques!

We would like to thank you for spending your time giving us your lovely feedback through Tripadvisor and sharing your opinion with

other travelers.

Thank you for your wonderful comment regarding our service and décor. Our staff is dedicated to provide all our guests an

incomparable level of personalized service. I am delighted we met your expectations.

All of our team is looking forward to welcome you back again in your next visit to Madrid, to create for you another unforgettable

experience.

Best Regards,

Sandra Hernández
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 May 2018

I cannot understand some of the reviews for this wonderful Hotel .In fact from some of the reviewers you wonder if they were staying at the same place. This is a Hotel where all the staff we came across were helpful & friendly. I think sometimes that if you give as a customer, you get back. The room we had was magnificent in this beautifully period old palace. everything that you could want was there. 6ft plus bed, so comfortable, a selection of pillows. coffee machine. plenty of good wardrobe space. beautifully decorated room. Bathroom with full size bath & separate rain shower,masses of towels very good lighting, always important & often ignored. I noticed also that the cleaning of the rooms were always checked later by a supervisor. First class. fresh flowers changed often. The hotel itself is full of Antique furniture alongside very modern & it all works very well. As its been said in some of the other reviews that the position is marvellous, great for shops, theatre, restaurants, the palace & opera house.one of the reasons we chose it. On the rooftop there is a swimming pool + Jacuzzi fabulous sun beds & towels, cold water all provided, there is also a drinks service. & it looks as though in the season the bar is open. BUT.... The red level is the best I have encountered in any of the Melia Hotels it is outstanding & certainly worth upgrading to. It is open every day until 11.00 pm serving tapas, snacks. cakes, etc. plus a full bar including champagne. all in a wonderful setting of the garden room or a very comfortable bar area. All included in the price of the room. This same room doubles up for the people that have chosen the red level to take breakfast. We have always said that you first impression is the reception, Miguel Arias checked us in with a great welcome & the lovely Lucia was just as helpful at other times.
I really cannot fault this Hotel & the way it is run.. Just perfect. I will return soon I hope.

Stayed: May 2018
1  Thank arundelmews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHColoma, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Arundelmews,

Greetings from Gran Meliá Palacio de los Duques!

Thank you for taking the time sharing these wonderfull words with us and with our TripAdvisor readers in such a detailed review.

We feel thrilled because of such amazing comments regarding our staff, with special mentions to Lucía and Miguel, because all of

them work daily in order to make your stay unique.

Our greatest reward is a content guest with the desire to come back.

We do also appreciate your feedback about the hotel facilities and the Red Level area in particular. It is our most luxury spot where to

enjoy the finest service in the most exclusive and private way. We are glad this made you stay a comfortable one reaching your

expectations.

Our doors remain open for your next visit and we really look forward to welcome you back and make another unforgettable

experience for you!

Warmest regards,

Sandra Hernández
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews