We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee and breakfast/brunch ”

Federal Cafe Conde Barajas
Ranked #3,752 of 12,466 Restaurants in Madrid
Price range: US$11 - US$114
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Centro
Description: Coffe, european, american, international
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Relaxed atmosphere but very busy. It’s sometimes not the quickest because of that but wait is worth it. The coffee is well made and the food is light but tasty. It’s a good central location and a sunny spot.

Thank Fran_Alan_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FederalCafeMadr... f, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Federal Cafe Conde Barajas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

We are really happy to know about your experience with us. Make it happen again. See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018

I was there for breakfast and I opted for a french toast and a liquid cookie juice.
The french toast was delicious: with cream, cereals and red fruits' marmalade. The cookies drink wasn't so special as I thought, but quite good.
Their terrace is amazing: I totally reccomend it for a sunny day's brunch.
Prices are quite high but the quality is good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aurora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FederalCafeMadr... f, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Federal Cafe Conde Barajas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thanks for writing us. We hope to see you again with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Sent to the café with my daughter and wife for brunch - an amazing experience..... Will absolutely recommend the café. Nice menu card (also for teenagers...), well prepared food, very good coffee. A must-visit when visiting downtown Madrid.

Thank smjensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FederalCafeMadr... f, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Federal Cafe Conde Barajas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

We are really happy to know about your experience with us. Make it happen again. See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 February 2018

Sunday afternoon, we enjoyed a late lunch before having to head to the station. We knew the Federal Cafes in Barcelona and Girona already and we were not disappointed by the one in Madrid. Great location once again. Everyone was happy with their food.

Thank discoverbarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FederalCafeMadr... f, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Federal Cafe Conde Barajas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Thank you very much for writing us.
We hope to enjoy your company again. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 January 2018

If you like your coffee with milk - café con leche, cappuccino, crucially a flat white - you know it won't be any good before even tasting it because you'll here the screaming of the milk. I've just come back from six weeks in Europe, stalked by a cafe soundtrack of Ed Sheehan, and the sound of blistering milk. Not here. In Federal I had the best coffee of my journey, both in late November and the first few days of January. I walked from my hostel in the Malasaña neighbourhood to Federal, which is in the first plaza south of Mercado de San Miguel, Plaza Conde de Barajas. It is probably more Australian in style than Kiwi (which tends to be a 2 shot affair) and this is in concord with the conceptual founding of this place. The food is good, but in a desert of coffee, this is at least one oasis.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FederalCafeMadr... f, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Federal Cafe Conde Barajas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Thanks for telling us your story. We feel very happy to know about it.
We wish to have your visit for the third time.
See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Federal Cafe Conde Barajas also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Federal Cafe Conde Barajas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing