We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun night with interesting people, a great tour guide and yummy food!”
Review of Spain Food Sherpas

Spain Food Sherpas
Ranked #1 of 139 Tours in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Spain Food Sherpas is a local and dynamic enterprise which works very hard to show you the best of our Malaga. We think food is best enjoyed when you put into the context of your local surrounding. Our tours and cooking classes are not standardized, but a real reflection of the delicacies every season has to offer and the creativity of our chefs. Our fingers are always on the pulse of the ever changing tapas and food scene in Malaga. It really is a privilege to be friends with some of the best chefs and culinary associations. Let us show you this absolutely amazing world!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 4 April 2018

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spainfoodsherpas, Gerente at Spain Food Sherpas, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (549)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"cooking class"
in 33 reviews
"paella"
in 23 reviews
"tapas tour"
in 32 reviews
"market tour"
in 12 reviews
"cooking school"
in 11 reviews
"food market"
in 16 reviews
"malaga tapas"
in 12 reviews
"spanish food"
in 13 reviews
"almond sauce"
in 5 reviews
"tapas evening"
in 5 reviews
"tapas class"
in 3 reviews
"highly recommend this class"
in 3 reviews
"food and wine"
in 13 reviews
"an excellent guide"
in 7 reviews
"spanish culture"
in 6 reviews
"wonderful wine"
in 3 reviews
"local wine"
in 6 reviews
Filter

136 - 140 of 549 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spainfoodsherpas, Gerente at Spain Food Sherpas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spainfoodsherpas, Gerente at Spain Food Sherpas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

My wife and I took this class in January. We first met Simone and proceeded to the Malaga Market (amazing place) and picked up some food for the course. We then arrived at the school and met the most lovely and talented Chef Empara (I hope I have that spelling correct). She spoke only Spanish so SImone was our translator. It was wonderful Empara spoke directly to us as we did to her and the result was a fabulous cooking lesson. On top of that we were the only 2 clients that particular day so we basically had a personal cooking lesson. If we could have we would have taken Empara back to Canada with us she is just wonderful. Combined with Simone's knowledge and passion for food made for an incredible time. Just this past Friday night we made our own paella from Empara's recipe and it was delicious. We can't recommend this class highly enough. Enjoy!

Thank boco99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spainfoodsherpas, Gerente at Spain Food Sherpas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Dear boco99,

thank you very much for this wonderful review! We are so happy to read you enjoyed the experience and that you prepared your very own Paella afterwards! Amparo is indeed lovely and an amazing chef, so we are very lucky to work together with her :)

All the best to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We came to Málaga for three months to use as our base to get to know Andalucía beyond the standard few days or hours of the standard tourist stop. You can't know a culture without knowing its food. Spending four hours with Simone taught us more about Malgueñan life than days on the internet.
It is clear that English is not Simone's first language, perhaps not her second, but she is fluent by any standard, beyond what you get with most local guides. I have much more difficulty understanding people in the UK (or parts of the US.) An important part of her role was translating for the Castellan-speaking Chef, which she performed effortlessly. (Spanish is also not her first language.) Listening to fluent, non-native speakers in either language often gives interesting insights into both languages.
This is not a tour of Málaga; it is a stroll down Calle Martínez from Calle Larios to the Mercado Central de Atarazana with a local friend. We looked in windows, poked our noses into the small family-run shops that offered the best ham, cheese, bread, and salted cod (?), according to our friend, and learned a little history of the area. (Calle Martínez used to be the waterfront; have a glass of wine at Antigua Casa de Guardia, circa 1840.)
This was a tour of the Mercado Central and well worth doing, even if you don't have time or interest for the cooking class. We learned the history and layout, inspected the offerings, met some sellers, and picked up things for our tapas.
The class was a very hands-on demonstration for five people with a very knowledgeable and charming Chef. We made, and then ate four tapas, with ingredients from the Mercado. The small group made it possible to involve everyone regardless of the level of experience in a kitchen.
I am not a chef but I am confident that I will be able to make the tapas on my own, with links to the recipes Simone provided. The Spain Food Sherpa website has much useful information beyond food. A day well spent and we wish we had found them sooner in our stay.

Thank tandemonia2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spainfoodsherpas, Gerente at Spain Food Sherpas, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Dear tandemonia2017,

First of all, thank you so very much for this wonderful review and that you took so much time and effort into writing it! For us it's a pleasure to read you had a good time!

It's true that your guide this day, Simone, really speaks well English and Spanish (and German, since it's her mother-tongue). So we are very happy to have her in our team.
And since you wrote in your text something with a question mark, here the answer: yes, it was indeed salted cod :)

We would also recommend to do the tour in the beginning of your stay, since you get to know more of our city and receive other useful tips.

Hopefully we can welcome you again to Malaga one day!
Until then, all the best!

Muchas gracias y saludos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spain Food Sherpas also viewed

Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Spain Food Sherpas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing