We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great job and value for money”
Review of Cafe Luso

Cafe Luso
Ranked #480 of 2,046 Restaurants in Dusseldorf
Restaurant details
Reviewed 20 March 2018

I am from Barcelona, Spain, and It s my first time to get a true Portuguese restaurant outside Portugal. Fernando , the owner, is a kind person and his food is true. Caldo verde well saisoned and Bacallao with vegetables excelente. Good wines and music. Bravo!!

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank santivin0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2018

When visiting Dusseldorf we wanted to eat Portuguese food. We called a few restaurants but most were full but luckily this place had room for 8 people. It's about a ten minutes walk from the city center. The menu was written on the wall, there were a lot of traditional Portuguese meals available. I picked bitoque which is steak with fries, salad, rice and an egg. It tasted alright but the plate was considerably smaller than it would be in Portugal. The carne alentejana that some had was made with veal instead of porc which you would normally never have in Portugal. The creme brulee as dessert was okay. The personnel was friendly, the owner is Portuguese and married with a German lady. Altogether it was alright but there are better options to eat Portuguese in Dusseldorf.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ronaldo070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 April 2017

A nice n cosy family run restaurant with lots of atmosphere. The food is excellent and made to order and you can taste the freshness. Even with a limited menu, you don't feel stuck or feel a lack of choices. If you are a fish lover then you will be in heaven. I've tried their fish and the chicken.
Its in a quiet residential area and reservations are strongly suggested.
The only thing even better than the food is the staff!! :-)
The lady host/waitress is amazing as she chats, understands your requirements and is friendly to make your feel very comfortable.
If you like Portuguese food then here is the real deal. I have to say that you don't feel ripped as the prices are very reasonable and the portions

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roopks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 November 2016

This restaurant is lovely. It is small and cozy, which adds a romantic feel to the place. The food is delicious- the seafood is seasoned but not overly so, with lots of lemon and fresh herbs. The wine is also very good and everything comes at a good price. The staff is incredibly nice, this is one of our special gems in Dus!

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank meganm0rris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 October 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Luso also viewed

Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Neuss, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Cafe Luso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing